Interview : “The Prodigy” Paul Malen

Image

Paul Malen has been a professional wrestler since September 2005. He has wrestled in Germany and many times in the UK, for over 40 different wrestling companies.

Some of the companies he has worked for include: Allstar Wrestling, LDN Wrestling, FWA, Catch Wrestling North (Germany), IPW:UK, XWCA, NGW, EAW and many more.

1. For those who don’t know who you are, How would you describe yourself?

How would I best describe myself? Personally I can be a little shy, quiet and reserved. But deep down im quite loud and over the top. So when I step into the ring, thats me fully amplified and turned up to 10. Malen is crazy, loves to fight and will do anything to win. Punch, kick, bite, scratch and claw.. maybe even rip off a few body limbs!

2. What did you think of the match against the Revolution which you were in at the One Night Stand with Sabu?

Hmmmm.. The Revolution. Well, im not happy with the way it ended. But me and Conners did have the odd’s stacked against us with there being five members of thier group. Even though we lost this is just the start for ”The Predators” hunt to take the EAW Tag Team title’s from them. The Revolution better not forget about us. Because we certainly havent forgotten about them.

3. How is it working with Ben at Southside??

I love working for Southside Wrestling. Ben and Sarah have been really great to me and have given me some great oppurtunities.

4. When did you think i want to be a wrestler

I first saw wrestling when I was around 5 years old. From then it became my life, when the other kids I knew hobbie’s would change mine stayed the same. I was in awe of it! I guess I always knew I wanted to be a wrestler. On my last day of school when I was 17, one of my old friends had cut out a clip from a powerslam wrestling magazine and slipped it into my hand. I opened it up and it was an advertisement for the NWA-UK Hammerlock wrestling school. Thats when I knew I had to be involved.

5. What is your favourite promotion to work for?

I dont really have a favourite promotion. I love being a part of every promotion im with and I feel I make a unique contribution to each one.

6. Who has been your favourite person to work with in your career?

Without a doubt, my favourite person to work with has definately been my current tag team partner ”Special Edition” Joseph Conners. We both started out at pretty much the same time and before we became a team we were actually great opponents! I guess thats why we work so well together as a tag team. Its not very often you find someone with the same mind set, where you can pretty much communicate in the ring without even talking. But I get that with Joe.

7. How are you feeling about the Joe.E Legend match?

Joe E Legend is someone I have a lot of respect for. He is very well travelled and every time I have met him he has always been a class act. I look forward to stepping into the ring with him to defend my Megaslam Championship. It is going to be a challenge which I hope I can learn a lot from.

8. Do you have any career goals you still want to achieve?

I have career goals, like everybody does. I think its important to always set yourself targets to reach. I would love for The Predators to break out into Europe, Japan and even TNA. I think theres a gap in tag team wrestling that we can fill for sure!

9. Which company would you love to work for in the future?

A few promotions that spring to mind are PCW, 4FW and Rev Pro.

10. Which title has been your favourite to win?

The Southside tag team titles and the LDN Capital Wrestling championship. Both because of the hard work that went into getting them.

11. Who is the best wrestler you have seen in the UK?

I think theres always a lot of different oppinions on who is the best wrestler in the UK. Depending on which style of wrestling the fans actually like. To me it goes on being versatile, being able to adapt to any crowd and any style. In my oppinion I think Martin Kirby is in line for that name. Ive seen his work develop over years and year by year he evolves into a better wrestler.

12. Who is the best young wrestler you have seen in the UK?

The best young wrestler? haha theres so many under 20’s wrestlers now its hard to choose! But Robbie X is up there, also The Dunne Bro’s (Pete and Damian) Even though Damian is over 20

13. My blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, What do you think of the current state of British Wrestling?

British wrestling has its good points, its bad points and its unforgivable monstrousities! But im sure its like that all over the globe. Sometimes I feel the bad points are focused on more than the good. Even I am guilty of thinking like that! Its a shame that the bad leaves a crap stigma attached to the wrestling business. BUT the good is helping rise the standard and reputation of british pro wrestling.

14. Is there anybody in the locker rooms you have been in over the last few years who could make it big in for example WWE?

To be honest I never really think of that.. I think its a shame things didnt work out for ”Rampage Brown” because he has all of the tools!

15. Any funny road stories?

Too many to mention! When I first started travelling, me and a couple of other guys used to stop at a services. Buy lots of eggs, baked beans etc and we used to drive by attack drunks with the food. One time we got the wrong guy.. he started sprinting after the car like the Terminator and I had to stop for a red light! we only just made it away before the guy got to us. After that it escalated into taking a paintball gun.. ill stop right there.

16. Have you got a best match In your career?

I have a few matchs that are my best, im fond of them for different reasons. Two come to mind, the first being against the guy that trained me ”Stixx” this was around 08 for the now defunct SLAM in Northampton. It was my first main event and I was very nervous. We ended up having a slobber knocker and funny enough its where I picked up my first injury as well! The match got a great reaction from the crowd and a good story was told. The second is against my tag partner Joseph Conners for Megaslam Wrestling from last year in Stockport. We had never done a match when the both of us were fan favourites. We had a great ”wrestling” match with a fast pace which was different to anything we had done before. I was very happy with that one.

17. Have you got a worst match? If so with who and why was it bad?

I try to forget about the bad matchs to be honest haha. I had some bad matchs in my first few years. But none are that awful to mention…. I think!

18. Who were your heroes growing up watching Wrestling?

My heroes growing up were Hulk Hogan, Bret Hart and Chris Benoit.

19. How did it feel to win the Southside Tag Team Championship?

Winning the Southside Tag Team Championship with Joe has definately been one of my favourite accomplishments so far. I feel we both work really hard where ever we go and often get over looked, under utilised and under appreciated. But everyone seems to notice us for our work now and being a dedicated TAG TEAM. Its often that the only thing that makes two guys a team is some flashy matching gear. But with The Predators its everything. We really have dedicated ourselves to the art of tag team wrestling and I feel with every match we are perfecting our craft and gaining more respect. You will find a lot will agree and maybe a few will disagree. Like I said earlier, there is a gap in the market for tag teams and I feel the two of us really can fill that void! Getting those tag titles were kind of being handed a medal for hard work. It lit a spark in the two of us and I know it drives us both to be better. We are the XWCA tag team champions, the LCW tag team champions too and im pretty sure we have a lot more gold coming our way. But dont let that take away the fact that we are two competant singles wrestlers too because we can hang with the best of them. I think the sky is the limit for the two of us and theres a lot of great oppurtunities coming our way.

20. Who is the best promoter who you have worked for?

The best promoter is probably Brian Dixon. Because hes been running Allstar Promotions for years now. More than likely a millionaire by now and still doing it for the love of the business.

Paul doesnt have twitter but shares a twitter with tag partner Joseph Conners @ThePredatorsUK but you can like him on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Prodigy-Paul-Malen/192712080761487 and you can book him by emailing paulbrand925@msn.com

Of course you can follow me on Twitter @samgthe1st and you can like the page on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/TheBritishWrestlingRevival

Leave a Reply

