Interview : Jürgen Heimlich

jurgen

Jurgen Heimlich is a German born British based Professional Wrestler who Since debuting in July 2011, Heimlich has appeared for many promotions in the UK, Japan & Thailand, including; All Star, New Generation Wrestling (NGW), Dramatic Dream Team (DDT) (Japan), House of Pain: Evolution,Gatoh Move (Thailand), Gatoh Move (Japan), Southside Wrestling (SWE) and House of Pain (HOP).

He trained at the well respected HOP Academy under the guidance of “The Heavyweight House of Pain” Stixx and moved to Thailand this year to be trained by Legendary Female Wrestler Emi Sakura

1. For those who dont know you, how would you describe yourself?

I am Jurgen Heimlich. hailing from Dusseldorf, Germany. Lived in the UK since I was about 7 years old. I went to my first wrestling show in at the age of 9 (Summerslam ’92 at Wembley). Sat up in the cheap seats, but was hooked by that atmosphere ever since.

As for myself as a wrestler, I’d say I’m quite agile, I can fly around but I choose not to. My true passion is in actual ‘wrestling’. I like to wrestle. Something I think a lot of guys on the current scene neglect too often.

2. How was it growing up in Germany?

To be honest I don’t remember a great deal about it as we moved here when I was still young. Having been back home a fair few times over the years, Germany is a great place. I love Dusseldorf, and also Berlin. I’d highly recommend a visit!

3. When did you first think I want to be a wrestler?

I used to play around when younger during the initial early ’90’s wrestling boom, but then I kinda drifted off of wrestling, and got into soccer as you do at school. After school, I got into skateboarding. I loved the agility, skill and patience required to perfect the tricks. I still enjoy watching skating, but I don’t do it anymore. It hurts much more than wrestling!

I got back into wrestling around ’96 when WCW started being shown on TNT. With that I started watching WWF and a little ECW, but I wasn’t so much into ECW. As the attitude era kicked in, I was again hooked. After the whole invasion angle I stuck around for a while but then I kind of stopped watching.

Fast forward to I think 2007/2008 and TNA was being shown on Bravo, I recognised Kurt Angle and Stin, so I watched that, and from there I started watching WWE and some Japanese stuff. As far as getting into wrestling is concerned, my friend told me about the House of Pain school, or SLAM as it was known at that time. We sent an email but never got a reply. This was just as it was changing into HOP. A few months later I bumped into Stixx in Nottingham city centre as he was out postering, and I asked him about the school. I turned up a couple of weeks later and he’s been unable to get rid of me since. I only really wanted to see what it was like. I never had any career aspirations when I started out, so everything up until my first match was just a nice bonus. Since then I kind of set myself small, but achievable goals as I went along.

4. What it is like being part of the HOPE promotion?

So far, its hard to give much of an answer. I only had a small part in the first show, and I missed the second due to wrestling abroad. Evolution 3 will be my ‘official’ debut, but I’m really looking forward to showing what I can do. Things I’ve noticed at that first show is that it looks promising. It was nice being told exactly what was happening throughout the show, where I needed to be etc. Showed that there was some thought behind what everyone was doing, which is something that a fair few promoters tend to miss out at times.

5. Who has been your favourite promotion to work for?

Hard to say really. Each promotion I worked for has been a learning experience either positive or otherwise. UK wise, I really liked NGW, and All-Star. Anyone who doesn’t want to work for either of those 2 is in the wrong game. NGW for its professionalism and organisation, as with HOP:E, Rich at NGW explain everything, and where it was all leading. I like things like that. I’d like to work for them again in the future.

All-Star is great, for the people they have on the shows, and the size of the crowds etc. Its an enjoyable show to be a part of.

Of course I also have to say House of Pain is really good in terms of an academy show, and I’d suggest both the quality of the set up, and the wrestling would even rival some ‘pro’ shows. The setup is impressive, got to give credit to Matt and Tony Hall for their work on that.

6. Who has been your favourite guy to wrestle?

In terms of people I enjoy wrestling 2 immediately spring to mind. UK wise, Joseph Conners. An absoloute joy to work. I wrestled Joe last year and he gave me a massive boost in confidence when I needed it most. His feed back, and little things I learned from him in ring, have been really valuable.

Outside of the UK, I’ve loved wrestling Masa Takanashi of DDT. Wrestled him about 4/5 times now and he’s helped me to be more creative with my freestyle wrestling, his character work is great, his fire and intensity are tremendous. I wish more people could see him work, a great talent, and a good beer drinker.

7. What are your Career Goals?

I’ve never really set myself any goals until fairly recently. Japan was one, it seemed unreachable at times, but now I’ve done it, all I want to do is come back! Career goal wise, I’d like to return and wrestle for DDT, and a Korakuen Hall show would top it off nicely.

8. When did you first get the call about Japan?

I’ve known about it for most of the year. I went to Thailand in January to train with Emi Sakura (famous Japanese female wrestler), and that opened up some doors for me.

9. How is it working in Japan?

Japan is another world, both in wrestling and lifestyle wise. In the UK, wrestling, to most is a hobby. In Japan, its a career. You train 5/6 days a week, intensely. Conditioning, weights, wrestling you name it, its all covered. Theres a wrestling show on almost everyday, and they all draw well.

10. What promotion would you love to work for in the future? As mentioned above, DDT in Japan. UK wise, I’d like another go at Southside. I did a ‘squash’ for them a few months into my wrestling career,but I’d like the opportunity to show them what I can do nowadays. Would also like to show NGW what I’m about again.

11. Who is the best wrestler you have seen on the road?

There’s a good bunch of guys out and about. I feel Alex Gracie is someone who’s going to be a big deal in the coming years. He just ‘gets it’. He’s done a lot in his young career.

12. Any funny road stories? Ahh far too many. My favourite involves ‘Diamond’ Dave Andrews needing a toilet stop on a nice spring day on the way to Skegness…

13. Who is the best young wrestler you have seen?

Theres a young lad at HOP called Matt Hopkins. He’s only about 13/14 (I think). He’s a promising prospect, certainly one to watch in the next few years. He only debuted a couple of months ago, so still very new.

14. Who were your heroes growing up?

Growing up I always loved Randy Savage, Bret Hart and Davey Boy Smith.

15. Who do you think would fit the mould of WWE, TNA etc.

You can’t look further than someone like El Ligero. The guy is so consistant. I also think that The Predators (Joseph Conners & Paul Malen) would fit well in TNA’s tag division. I like their old school mentality a lot.

16. How do you feel about working with one of the top guys in the UK at the moment Ryan Smile?

I know that he hasn’t seen a great deal of me. This works in my favour I think. I’m looking to make an example of him, come September 8th…

17. How was it to get trained by Stixx?

I love Stixx. He’s a great mentor, and he’s kept me on track. Can’t put him over enough. If you want to learn to wrestle, you’d be pushed to find many better than him. The fact that we have people travel from all over the country to train under him, speaks volumes I feel.

18. Did you learn alot from training with Emi Sakura and Gatoh Move this year?

Absoloutely. Sakura-san, like most Japanese trainers has an eye for detail. As well as the wrestling side, I learnt a lot about conditioning my body for wrestling from her. Let’s be honest. If you train under someone like her and don’t learn anything, perhaps wrestling isn’t for you.

19. Who has been your favourite promoter to work for?

A couple, but I don’t really want to name names.

20. Any dates you want to plug?

Obviously September 8th, House of Pain: Evolution at the Britannia Hotel, Nottingham. Where you lucky people can see me, The German Sensation, The World Warrior, take on…. Ryan Smile..

Further to that, the week before, House of Pain academy show, September 1st at Arnold Working Mens Club, Arnold, Nottingham.

You can like Jurgen on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/JurgenHeimlich/ and follow him on Twitter : @JurgenHeimlich and you can visit his website jurgenheimlich.tk

You can of course follow me on Twitter : @samgthe1st and like me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/TheBritishWrestlingRevival

One thought on “Interview : Jürgen Heimlich

Leave a Reply

