Interview : Dan Darkstar (King Darkstar)

darkstar     darkstar2

Dan Darkstar is a British professional wrestler who made his wrestling debut in November 2008, He has wrestled for  ACW TWA EAW TAW in his time and won ACW Tag Champion, (w/ Matt Midas (x1)) EAW Heavyweight Champion (x2) , TAW Heavyweight Champion (x1) ,EAW Tag Team Champion (x2), (w/ Jet Valentine (x1) + w/ Andy Reign (x1)) and is part of the heel group The Revolution (w/ Andy Reign, Kyle Masters, Chris Tyler and Eric Phillips) as well as winning many awards including being the current King Of TAW, He has also won EAW’s Money In The Bank and Rumble in Rushden as well. He is the man we welcome for the interview today!

1. For those who don’t know who you are, how would you describe yourself?

I am an individual who is often accused of being angry, paranoid & stubborn. I prefer to think of myself as passionate, intelligent and non-compliant. Since the very offset, I have been fighting to eliminate these so called heroes that have been pandering to sycophantic fans and are being worshipped like false idols.

2. What did you think of the match against the Predators at the One Night Stand with Sabu?

It’s always great to step in the ring with a top team like The Predators. They are two pros who are very well established here in the UK and are a team that I had always hoped to face at some point down the line. Many of the EAW fans sold us short and thought that we would not be able to defeat them, but, at the end of the day, The Revolution are a strong faction and we always find a way to get the job done.

3. How is it working with Nick and the team at EAW?

It’s been great working with Nick and the whole team at EAW. Nick has built EAW up from nothing to the product you see today. He has put a lot of time and money getting an impressive entrance, lights & pyrotechnics which really helps give the EAW fans the full experience. He also has a crew of hard working, great people in various roles behind the scenes as well. Certainly can’t grumble.

4. How and why did you join the Revolution?

Dan Darkstar is all about the Revolution. When I was offered a chance to join the ranks, I jumped at it. As a group, the goals of the Revolution are pretty similar to mine. They strive to put an end to people who hide behind masks and face paint and bring respect back to the EAW title picture. They are all about big statements and main event matches, which is where I should be. Together we are strong and won’t be walked on or pushed about by the ‘powers that be’ within the company. Besides, me and Mister Monster have our own issues that stem back to him putting an end to both my previous title runs so I’ve owed him one, so to speak.

5. What is your favourite promotion to work for?

I have no favourite promotion to work for. The opportunity to work with different wrestlers and to entertain crowds up and down the country is the main reason why I work as many shows as I do.

6. Who has been your favourite person to work with in your career?

If we are talking teaming with, I have been fortunate enough to team up with some great wrestlers over the last couple of years but really enjoyed teaming with the ‘Pretty Boy’ Bradley Ford as part of ‘The Fabulous Two’ (back when we saw eye to eye) and teaming with Jet Valentine as part of ‘The Perfect 10’. That being said, it’s great to be working with ‘The Dragon’ Kyle Masters, Eric Phillips, Andy Reign & Chris Tyler as part of the Revolution. If we are talking about my favourite opponent to work against, then once again it’s hard to pick. It was great to get to wrestle against Doug Williams a couple of years ago as he is somebody I have always had a lot of respect for. I have also enjoyed my recent matches with the insane Mad Man Manson. Although I think some of my best matches have probably came out of my feuds with Mister Monster.

7. How is it to work for TAW?

TAW was the promotion where I first learnt to wrestle and the company that got my wrestling career started. I have always enjoyed working and training with them and had some great feuds and good times being involved with them. Of course, it does not hurt that I am also the Reigning King there and being a King has it’s advantages too.

8. Do you have any career goals you still want to achieve?

I still have lots of goals I want to achieve. There are many wrestlers here on the UK scene that I am yet to work with, but would like to at some point down the line.

9. Which company would you love to work for in the future?

There are so many great promotions up and down the country these days to choose from and there seems to be new ones popping up all the time. At the moment outside of the world of wrestling, I still work a full-time 45+ hour week and, with current commitments, my free time is a little tight but who knows what the future will bring?

10. Which wrestler is your inspiration?

Over the years there have been so many great wrestlers to draw inspiration from and it would take me far too long to list them all now. I got most of my inspiration from watching the wrestlers and over the top characters from WWE/WWF programming from the late 80s through into the 90s.

11. Who is the best wrestler you have seen in the UK?

The UK is great for wrestling talent and has a wide range of very different styles to pick from. What makes a good big guy wrestler is not the same as what makes a good lightweight high flyer. You have guys out there who technically are very good but don’t always connect with their audience. Some of these guys are fantastic wrestlers, but because they are looking for other ways to get over with the fans, they take big risks and shorten their overall career. You also have guys that don’t really do anything too fancy, they do enough to get the job done but have a way to connect and entertain the fans that some of the more technical guys don’t. It all depends on what you are looking for in your greatest wrestler I guess.

12. Who is the best young wrestler you have seen in the UK?

Very hard to answer, as there are so many great young wrestlers to choose from. I would struggle to pick one out as being the very best as I’ve not seen enough of them to make that judgement. However, one of the great things about being part of the Revolution is having a chance to work with both Eric Phillips and Chris Tyler. Both these guys are young and very talented. Every time I watch these guys in action they get better and better. I expect big things from those two in the future.

13. My blog is called The British Wrestling Revival, what do you think of the current state of British Wrestling?

I think British wrestling is doing very well at the moment. I think the UK is teaming with great upcoming talent and great promotions stretching right across the country. I think that due to the amount of wrestling promotions that are out there, it is pushing promoters to pull out all the stops to make their shows stand out above the others. The competition between promotions is great if you are a wrestling fan and has led to some spectacular cards over the past few years. I look forward to seeing where it’s all going.

14. Is there anybody in the locker rooms you have been in over the last few years who could make it big in for example WWE? Yes. I have seen many wrestlers in the locker room over the last few years I could see doing well in a company like WWE or TNA. There are many I think have potential to go all the way, but, to list a few, I think someone like heavyweight house of pain Stixx would be an easy fit in my opinion. I also think that Marc Massa is somebody who has a great future ahead of him as well. I’ve known Marc for many years now and have thought from very early on that he will be someone to watch out for. Also EAW recently had both The Alpha Female and Portugals Perfect Athlete Shanna on the roster this past summer and I think both ladies would be right at home wrestling as either WWE Divas or TNA Knockouts. To be honest though, there are many people I have seen in the locker room over the past few years that have potential to make it big if they really want it bad enough.

15. Any funny road stories?

Yeah, I’ve got a few, but I won’t name and shame anybody, maybe good blackmailing material later!

16. Have you got a best match In your career?

I have had many highlights over the last few years. I enjoyed my respective cage matches in both TAW & EAW against Samson, ‘Pretty Boy’ Brad Ford & Mister Monster that I had last year. Also when I captured the EAW heavyweight title, for the first time, against Mister Monster in a fans ‘bring their own weapons match’. That match was my first time that I had held a singles title and I had friends and family in attendance to witness it. That was a good night.

17. Have you got a worst match? If so with who and why was it bad?

There are matches that I have been very happy with and some where I have not been. The reasons for being happy or unhappy can vary a lot. Sure there are some people I find easier to work with than others, but when this happens I try to just use it as learning curve and take something away from it anyway.

18. Who were your heroes growing up watching Wrestling?

I first got into wrestling as a kid watching WWF before they dropped the F. I used to watch the likes of Hulk Hogan, Rowdy Roddy Piper, Jake the Snake Roberts, Undertaker and so many other great wrestlers of that era, but my favourite was the Ultimate Warrior. It was watching the Ultimate Warrior that made me as a kid want to be a wrestler.

19. How did it feel to win the EAW Tag Team Championship for the second time?

Great. It was mine and Andy Reigns first outing as new members of the Revolution and what better statement was there to make than to finally prise the EAW tag team championships away from the grips of the seemingly unstoppable team of Marc Massa & The Alpha Female.

20. Who is the best promoter who you have worked for?

Ha. I plead the fifth on that one.

I would like to thank Dan as this was my 25th post and i’m looking forward to more interviews and posts in the future

I have also reached 1,000 views on my blog now so i would love to thank everybody who has viewed and shared my blog over the past 2 months of its life and i’m looking forward to another 1,000

Follow Dan on Twitter : https://twitter.com/DanDarkstar_UK

Like Dan on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-Darkstar-King-Darkstar/182274888493171?fref=ts

Follow me on Twitter : https://twitter.com/samgthe1st

Go and see Dan live at TAW : https://www.facebook.com/events/164011780466692/ (Details on there) and EAW : https://www.facebook.com/events/569991196382961/?ref=5

Go and buy my merch : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

 

 

Leave a Reply

