Interview : Stealth

Image

Stealth is a masked professional wrestler from England, He made his debut in 2002 and has never looked back with his Speedy-Tech style he brings something new to the table which most wrestlers do not have. He has wrestled for Extreme American Wrestling since its infancy as East Anglia Wrestling and has held all the championships that you can win there. He also ended the career of “A Star” Andy Poole a match which i saw live and was amazed by. He has wrestled for these promotions in his time : Brigzy’s Championship Wrestling(BCW), British Hybrid Wrestling(BHW), East Anglia Wrestling/Extreme American Wrestling(EAW), HCW-UK, Jack Taylor, House of Pain Wrestling(HOP), Norton British Wrestling(NBW), Power Trip Wrestling(PTW), Real Deal Wrestling(RDW), Rebel Pro Wrestling(RPW), Ulitmate Wrestling League(UWL) and he is the man we welcome for an interview today!

1. For those who don’t know who you are, How would you describe yourself?

I’m kind of an unknown. Although I wear a mask, I do not hide behind it. The mask is an outworking of who I am. I have a sense of mystery, and am not easy to read. Although I have had success in tag team wrestling, I prefer singles competition. I would describe my style of wrestling as a mix of speedy and technical.

2. How did it feel to take ‘A-Star’ Andy Poole’s career away from him?

The match with ‘A-Star’ Andy Poole was actually just for his place on the EAW (Extreme American Wrestling) roster, and not his career. It was him who issued the challenge and wanted to raise the stakes of the match. They say pride comes before a fall, and Andy met his. We’ve had a mixed past over the years and I was satisfied to serve Andy with his last match in EAW. There are plenty of other promotions in the UK, so for him it won’t be over. Going forward, I’m sure our paths will cross again.

3. How is it working with Nick and the team at EAW?

I have been with EAW since the beginning. In fact, I was their opening match in 2004. Looking how far we’ve come over the years, I am happy with the product we produce. As said by others, hard work goes into the shows we run. Nick has taken EAW and has pushed things forward to grow and reach new areas in the UK, selling out venues, and bringing in both national and international talent.

4. When did you start wearing a mask?

I have been wearing a mask ever since I started wrestling.

5. What is your favourite promotion to work for?

I have been part of EAW since the beginning and continue to work there regularly, so EAW would have to be it.

6. Who has been your favourite person to work with in your career?

Hard to put it down to one person. So on principle, someone who can who can challenge and bring the best out of me.

7. How was it growing up for you?

No comment.

8. Do you have any career goals you still want to achieve?

Growing my reputation and working for more promotions.

9. Which company would you love to work for in the future?

In the UK: Southside Wrestling, Progress Wrestling, House of Pain/Evolution (HOP/E),

10. When did you think i want to be a wrestler?

It was a natural progression from my interest in watching it on TV, all I needed next was to find a place to train. I was in my early-to-mid teens when I began to train.

11. Who is the best wrestler you have seen in the UK?

I’ve seen great talent within the UK, and there are names which are often repeated. I have not seen enough material to comment on who I think is the best.

12. Who is the best young wrestler you have seen in the UK?

Similar to the previous question, I have not seen enough to say a person.

13. My blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, What do you think of the current state of British Wrestling?

I think that there is a lot of talent and a lot of promotions around the country. That’s healthy as it bring opportunity and variety. However, I don’t think there’s one ‘place to be’, we don’t have that one big promotion to aim for where everyone is trying to get to and is recognised internationally as the top spot.

14. Is there anybody in the locker rooms you have been in over the last few years who could make it big in for example WWE? I’ve been backstage at some Frontier Wrestling Alliance (FWA) shows a few years ago, where their top talent was being scouted by WWE. Some are even their now in their developmental system. Doug Williams was also there during his UK tour, before going back to TNA. I’ve trained with Stixx, who has been scouted by WWE a number of times.

15. Any funny road stories? Nothing particular comes to mind.

16. Have you got a best match In your career?

I’ve not had that one stand out match yet, but I have had a number of great matches.

17. Have you got a worst match? If so with who and why was it bad?

I’ve had matches cut short before, due to injury. One was an important match that unfortunately wasn’t represented how it should have been.

18. Who were your heroes growing up watching Wrestling?

Didn’t have any heroes, it wasn’t a particular star that got me into wrestling. It was everything about it that got my attention. There were people who stood out to me more than others, but I wouldn’t describe them as heroes.

19. Who from the EAW roster would you love to face next?

Stixx.

20. Who is the best promoter who you have worked for?

EAW’s Nick Ashberry.

You can follow Stealth on Twitter : https://twitter.com/Stealthuk_

Like him on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/stealthuk

Go and visit his website as well : http://www.stealth-uk.com/

Follow me on Twitter as well : https://twitter.com/samgthe1st

I would of course love to thank Stealth for the opportunity of conducting this interview so please go and support this man!

Next posts : Live Wrestling in Bedford Review, Lion Kid in DG:UK DVD Review and Interview with Dave Mastiff

Leave a Reply

