Interview : LJ Heron

ImageImage

LJ Heron is a British professional wrestler who is one of the best in the UK currently, LJ was trained by Stixx who is one of the best in Europe and since being trained by Stixx. LJ has never looked back wrestling for every single major promotion in The Midlands and is one of the success stories of the House of Pain Training Academy. LJ still wrestles on all House of Pain trainee shows and still gives back to the school who made him the wrestler he is today! He wrestles for companies such as Leicester Championship Wrestling and is a mainstay in their ever growing roster!

1. For those who don’t know you, how would you describe yourself?

I’m LJ Heron. Two-time former champion of House Of Pain and a HOP Rumble winner. I’m also a winner of an LCW Rumble and, in my opinion, after this coming Saturday, I’m soon to be a two-time champion of Leicester Championship Wrestling. I’ve got a hard-hitting Heatseeker Spear that has won me many matches across promotions up and down the country. I’m never one to back down from any challenge, whatever the odds and I like to think I’m one of the most durable wrestlers you’ll ever come across. I can take a beating but I’ll always fire back – harder, better, faster or stronger.

2. When did you first think I want to be a wrestler?

Being a wrestler never really entered my mind, apart from when I was a kid and pretending a bum bag was the WWF Intercontinental Championship. Getting into wrestling is all down to an old school friend of mine, who wrestled under the name Marc Mignot. Everytime we bumped into each other, he’d always try and get me to train at, what is now, the House Of Pain. He asked me about it again, after I spoke to him after a show in 2007 and I thought “what the hell. I’ll give it a try”. I walked through the doors of the, then, NBW School and started my training under Stixx and never looked back since.

3. Any tips for any up and coming wrestlers?

There are so many things you can tell people just getting in to wrestling. Put the hard work into your wrestling, in and out of the ring. Work harder than the next guy. The moment you start resting on your laurels, that next guy (friend or foe) is moving ahead of you. Be prepared to never stop learning – every match, watched or wrestled, will teach you something, no matter how good or bad it is.

4. Are you looking forward to the worlds 1st 2 championship ladder matches at the same time?

Yeah, I am, for a number of reasons. Like you said, it’s being billed a “world’s first”, which is something pretty big to me, to be a part of something like that. I, also, get an opportunity to get the LCW Heavyweight Championship back from Stixx. Lastly, I hope to be a part of a spectacle that the LCW faithful will never forget. Win or lose, it’s gonnna be pretty awesome to watch. Ask me how it feels after the show on Saturday night and I might give you a different answer. Ha ha.

5. Do you have any words for Stixx ahead of this?

To anyone who doesn’t know how I lost the LCW Championship to Stixx, I went to hit the Spear on Stixx but failed to see him holding the LCW Championship belt and I ran headfirst into it, knocking myself clean out.

Now, I’m not gonna cry and moan about the way I lost the LCW Championship. It’s happened and there’s no getting around it but, what Christmas Chaos has provided me with, is a great opportunity for me to regain it. This unique, first of it’s type, match takes out the element of Stixx’s running buddies. The Predators won’t be backing him up – they’re gonna be to concerned with stopping The Hunter Brothers from regaining the Tag Team Championships and, with all the hazards involved in the match, I don’t think Harvey Dale is will want him or his tassled shirts to get involved. So, it’s going to boil down to me and Stixx. Now, we’ve exchanged wins before at LCW and this is, without a doubt to biggest match with the most on the line – with the LCW Championship hanging from the ceiling and having to climb a ladder to get it. For me, the reward in this match far outweigh the enormous risks. Holding the LCW Championship meant a lot to me and I’m willing to put it all on the line to get back.

Stixx, as great as you are, are you wiling to make that same physical sacrifice as me to get yourself up that ladder to retrieve and retain that championship or are again looking for the shortcut to glory? I don’t know. What I do know is that, when it’s all done this Saturday, my body may be beaten, it may be broken but it will be a body that has left every single ounce of effort and energy in that ring and I will have climbed that ladder, rung by rung, to become a two-time LCW Heavyweight Champion.

6. You have wrestled for House of Pain for a little while now, do you enjoy this promotion and what makes you keep coming back?

House Of Pain is “home” to me, as far as wrestling goes. I’ve been there for over 6 years and during that time I’ve faced some of the best up-and-coming, underrated and established wrestlers in the country, a lot of whom I can class as friends away from the ring. I’ve had some of my favourite matches I’ve ever had there and met, and become friends with, some of the best people.

7. What promotion would you love to work for next in the UK?

To be honest, I’m the sort of guy who’ll wrestle anywhere, if a ring is set up, but there are so many promotions that I’d like to work for. You read about good things that are happening at the likes of PCW, up in Preston, and IPW & Rev Pro, down south. I’ve appeared on NGW Proving Ground in the past (they have a great set of guys up in Hull) and would love a crack on their main show. I’ve had a few appearance on Southside and would relish a return there. Same with Futureshock too. I’d also like the opportunity to go north of the border to somewhere like PBW in Scotland too.

8. According to your Facebook you have wrestled for about 12 promotions, Which one has been your favourite?

It’s definitely more than 12, I can tell you that.

You know, asking that is like asking which parent you love the most. It’s a question that can’t be answered really. I like all the promotions that I work for, for different reasons. Maybe it’s the familiarity of the audience, the group of guys you’re working with or the atmosphere (both in front of and behind the curtain). No two promotions are the same.

9. You were trained by ‘The Heavyweight House of Pain’ Stixx, how was your experience?

Being trained by Stixx has to be one of the best experiences of my life. Through him and training at the House Of Pain, I’ve got to live out the far-fetched dream of a twelve year old boy, who was hooked on wrestling from the first time he watched that tape his mum got from her work friend. I’ve been up and down the country for the sake of wrestling and met some of the best people, made some of the best friends and had (and still having) a whole lot of fun doing it. Without him, me coming as far as I have may never have happened and I am grateful for that.

10. Best wrestler you have seen in the UK?

In the past six years, I’ve had the fortune to watch, team with and wrestle some of the absolute best wrestlers in this country and learn something from every single one. Guys like Mark Haskins, Martin Kirby, Stixx, James Mason, El Ligero, CJ Banks, Kid Fite, Robbie X, The Predators – Joseph Conners & Paul Malen. I could go on and on and on. I could never pick a single one.

11. Best young wrestler currently in the UK?

I’m probably a little bit biased but there are some wrestlers at the House Of Pain that could fit that bill. Battle Squad: Awesome – Danny Chase & Dave Andrews are a very underuntilised and exciting tag team with a fun and dynamic style. Jurgen Heimlich, although there are a few queries about him actually being young, ha ha. Truthfully though, he is very underrated and is building up quite the reputation with his training in the Far East. The House Of Pain Full Throttle champion, Zak Northern, is on quite a roll at the moment too and will surely be one to watch and catch some eyes with his background in martial arts and acrobatics.

12. Heroes growing up in Wrestling

I was a huge Bret Hart fan growing up. When I first got into wrestling, the lads at school (who didn’t take the mickey out of wrestling) would pass around tapes to watch. I used to like watch Bret Hart, who was a tag wrestler at the time, wrestle as a singles competitor. His matches with the likes of Ted DiBiase or Dynamite Kid were always highlights for me. I wasn’t allowed to watch Summerslam 91 at my friend’s house as I was wrestling on my back garden earlier in the day (which was a no-no. Don’t try this at home, kids!). I was gutted not to have watched it first-hand when my friend’s broke then news that The Hitman had beat Mr Perfect for the Intercontinental Title. I was also disappointed when my parents didn’t let go to Wembley Stadium to watch Summerslam 92 as well. Watching Hart vs Bulldog would have been amazing for me.

13. What do you think of the current state of British Wrestling?

British wrestling is very, very healthy at the moment. Sure, there are promotions out there that “let the side down” but the majority of promotions out there are holding up their end of the bargain very well. Lots of promotions have their mission statements and their styles and formats that they like to portray and they are unerringly sticking to them, producing great shows consistently. If you’re willing to travel up and down the UK, you can go to at least one high quality wrestling show every weekend.

14. What is your stance on imports coming over to the UK?

I am all for having imports coming to the UK. The right import (or imports) on a poster has the potential to put bums on seats and put eyes on UK wrestling and hopefully those same people will see the hard work from domestic talent and will want to come back or seek out more. The potential danger, however, is that with oversaturation of imports comes sacrificing of opportunities for domestic talent, who may well be just as good. It can also fall foul to the law of diminishing returns – more imports don’t always mean more people will attend. I guess it’s about finding the right balance. That’s why I’m not a promoter! Ha Ha.

15. Would you ever work for a big company in America?

Of course I’d love to. Anywhere in the world, in fact. But, being an realist, at my age, the opportunities to do things like that are going to be very rare. Never say never though.

16. Would you ever work in Scotland?

Again, yeah, I would love to. Along with the aforementioned PBW, the scene up in Scotland is thriving, like the rest of the British scene. So, if the opportunity to make the long trip nort of the border ever came along, better believe I’m gonna take it.

17. Best Promoter you have worked for?

All the promoters that I work for are all equally as good as each other and I can’t possibly choose between them, so they’re all the best to me *wink*

You can still buy yourself tickets to that world first including LJ : http://www.lcwrestling.co.uk/ where you can buy tickets for the show and also DVD’s!
Follow LJ on Twitter : https://twitter.com/LJHeronHBFS

Like him on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/LJ-Heron/106384109395302?fref=ts

Follow me on Twitter : @samgthe1st

Visit all of my affiliates by using the dropdown menu as well!

I will have my 3rd interview in 3 days with Sam Bailey up tomorrow! Remember to check my twitter for the link for that!

Leave a Reply

