Interview : Kyle O’Reilly

Image

Kyle O’Reilly is a Canadian professional wrestler who competes for several independent wrestling promotions including PWG and Extreme Canadian Championship Wrestling and O’Reilly signed a contract with Ring of Honor in 2010! O’Reilly has won PWG’s BOLA in 2013 and is the current ROH tag team champion in his 2nd reign with Bobby Fish in a team also known as reDragon! O’Reilly was trained by Davey Richards and Tony Kozina and is one of the top talents in the world today and at the age of 26 he could be in WWE or TNA within a few years! I am lucky to have him for an interview today and i hope you enjoy reading it!

1. For those who don’t know you, how would you describe yourself?

I would describe myself as a regular, hardworking and motivated guy who happens to wrestle professionally.

2. When did you first think I want to be a wrestler?

I knew I wanted to be a wrestler for as long as I can remember. I can’t think of a specific moment but I remember practicing the sharpshooter on a pair of jeans so maybe I’ll say at that moment.

3. How is it to work in Ring of Honor Wrestling?

Ring of Honor is home to some of the best wrestling talent in the world today so I feel very fortunate to be able to share a locker room with those guys. We are constantly motivating, supporting and pushing each other to the best of our abilities and I’m super fortunate to call the company home.

4. How did it feel to win the ROH Tag Team Championships for the second time?

It was a huge honour and accomplishment. Having the confidence from the office, the fans and the locker room to carry those titles alongside my partner Bobby Fish is a dream come true. Hopefully we will continue our run of success and continue to challenge ourselves.

5. How did it feel to win PWG BOLA 2013 against some of the best talent in the world?

Winning BOLA was a huge achievement in my career. It was one of the toughest weekends for me physically in my career as well. Just a wicked locker room full of so many great wrestlers all trying to steal the show and it makes for an amazing atmosphere. I reflect very fondly of working for PWG and that weekend as a whole will hold a special place in my heart forever.

6. Who is the hardest opponent you have had to face in your career?

It’s hard to narrow down a “hardest opponent” but I will say that I’ve had some of my favorite matches with Eddie Edwards. He is a tremendous wrestler.

7. Would you ever consider coming over to the UK to perform?

Yes, I love wrestling in the UK. I’ve been previously twice already and simply cannot wait to make my return. Hopefully sooner than later!

8. What was your first experience of wrestling and who were your heroes growing up?

My first live wrestling experience was my Dad taking me to go see “WWF:Rock Bottom’98”. It was a religious experience for me and I’ve been bound and determined to continue my pursuit of being a wrestler since. My heroes included Bret Hart, Steve Austin, Shawn Michaels, The Undertaker and Dynamite kid. Honestly the list could go on forever.

9. What words would you give to somebody training to be a wrestler currently?

To be determined no matter what the adversity. To make sacrifices and to find comfort in the uncomfortable. Also, get used to driving many hours.

10. How was it to be trained by Davey Richards and Tony Kozina?

I was already a trained pro-wrestler before meeting and moving in with Davey and Tony, but the knowledge I’ve gained from them has been invaluable. They have both helped me a great deal in my career and I’m indebted to them for that. Two of my best friends.

11. Any funny road stories?

Tony and I get a kick of changing signs around at gas stations in the wee hours of the morning on the road. It makes us laugh a lot and kind of wakes us up. “We fart propane” was a personal favorite.

12. What do you think of the current state of Pro Wrestling?

I think pro-wrestling is as good as it always has been. It has and will forever be changing and evolving but that forces guys to think outside the box and reassess themselves and their characters.

13. Have you ever had any contact from any of the big companies (WWE, TNA)?

No. well, not yet anyway.

14. How does it feel to see such wrestlers as Sami Zayn get their break?

It’s so great and refreshing to see a guy like Sami Zayn getting his much deserved shot. He’s an incredible talent and I feel very fortunate to have been able to share a ring with him during his run on the independents.

15. When did you first start teaming with Bobby Fish (a man who I will be interviewing)?

Bobby and I first started tagging in November of 2012. We both instantly clicked and gelled together as a tag team. I’m so glad that we’re a team as well, he has really helped me come out of my shell in a sense. I am more confident in the character and promo aspect of wrestling now and I am truly loving what we are doing together as reDRagon. Bobby is such a great wrestler and just an all around great dude.

16. Who came up with the idea of teaming you two together because you were originally teaming with Adam Cole?

Adam Cole and I hadn’t been tagging together for quite some time before Bobby and I got together. It was a decision from the ROH office to pair us up and we were instantly all for it. Super stoked on how well it’s worked out for us.

17. Do you still have any career goals you want to achieve?

Yeah, goals are always changing and I’m always setting my sights on different personal goals both in and away from wrestling. What they are specifically right now, I am not sure, I just hope to continue to be healthy and be able to have good matches with good opponents.

18. Who is the best worker you have seen currently?

I will say the best all around worker right now is Adam Cole.

19. Who has been your favourite wrestler to wrestle?

Like I said earlier I love wrestling Eddie Edwards. Also, Michael Elgin and Davey Richards. It’s hard to decide, I love everybody!

20. Any future dates you want to plug to the fans?

This weekend in Charlotte, NC for a triple shot at PWX. The following weekend I will be in Chicago for AAW, Pittsburgh for ROH and Toronto for Smash. and then PWG and Quintessential pro in LA. Thanks!

Thanks to Kyle for agreeing to do the interview if you could follow him at the links below that would be great!

Follow Kyle on Twitter :

@ROHOreilly

Go and view Kyle’s blog : http://kfabe.wordpress.com/

Follow me on Twitter : @samgthe1st and @BritWresRevival
Like the blog on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

As usual please follow my affiliates using the dropdown list! Some great shows coming out of them over the next few months!

More interviews will be out soon as well as a show preview of a show i will be attending in March as well as some more DVD reviews!

 

One thought on “Interview : Kyle O’Reilly

Leave a Reply

