Interview – Lewis Girvan

 

lewisgirvan

girvan2

 

girvan3

bpsiwt

1. First of all, please describe yourself to the readers?

I like to think of myself as a student of the game. Simply, I love wrestling, doing it and watching it, and have done since I was 13. If I would describe myself as anything it would be as the most avid wrestler out there.

2. Did you watch wrestling growing up, who were your heroes and how did they influence your wrestling style?

I didn’t get into wrestling until I was about 12 but as soon as I saw it I was hooked, it took over my entire life. To the this day it’s easily the biggest part of my life. My heroes at first were the Undertaker and Rey Mysterio, back then I thought they could do no wrong. Sadly I’m not as big as the Undertaker or as athletic as Mysterious so neither man really influenced my style. As I got older and began to appreciate wrestling more as a sport than a form of entertainment that’s when I found my true inspirations for my style and how I carry myself in the ring, guys like CM Punk, Chris Jericho, Raven, Bryan Danielson and later on there was men such as Prince Devitt, Zack Sabre Jr and Kenta.

3. How did you then get involved in Wrestling and how was your experience training?

My start came when I saw an advertisement in a local paper for a show near my home, before then it had never dawned on me that there might be wrestling in Scotland. A quick Google search later and I had found the SWA area 52 training centre which would later become the Source Wrestling School. My experience was interesting to say the least, I came in during a transitional period in the school, a lot of the older guys were leaving and the younger guys, such as Damian O’Connor, were taking over. So I was very lucky to see how things were but also see how they changed. I began training just as Damo became a trainer so I was his first trainee really which made the experience great, in an odd way we were both learning really.

4.A promotion you have worked for since the start of your Wrestling career has been Scottish Wrestling Alliance, what is it like to wrestle for SWA and who would you say has been your toughest test in SWA so far?

It’s a privilege to work for the SWA, to me it’s the best pure wrestling company in Scotland, possibly even the UK. In the SWA it’s your wrestling ability that counts, not how you look, not how you talk, not your gimmick or your character. First and foremost, your wrestling matters. My toughest test this far has been trying to prove myself to everyone, many of whom tried to write me off because of my age or my size. It’s been a constant struggle that, to a thankfully lesser degree, I still deal with today.

5. In 2013 you made your debut in ICW making 3 appearances, what is the atmosphere like in the ICW locker room and do you think you will be returning soon?

The atmosphere in the ICW locker room is unlike any other, everyone there knows they’re part of something special and that comes through in the enthusiasm the entire crew brings to every show. I know that I’ll definitely be returning in September for their next show at the Garage in Glasgow but I also hope to be a part of the month long run in Edinburgh in August.

6. At the start of this year you made your debut for IPW:UK which was also your debut in England, how did it feel to branch out from Scotland, would you like to come to England more often in 2014 and who would you like to face if you did come back down?

It felt fantastic, I loved the opportunity to travel and wrestle for such a great company. I’m very thankful for the chance they gave me and hope to be back as soon as possible. I’d love to wrestle in England as often as I could really, especially for promotions such as Progress or PCW both of which I’m a big fan of. Given the chance I’d like to wrestle guys like Pete Dunne, Dave Mastiff, Martin Kirby, El Ligero or Joey Hayes amongst many others.

7. What is your overall opinion on the current state of Scottish wrestling?

I think the current scene is fantastic, it’s well earned its reputation as one of, if not the, hottest wrestling scene in Europe.

8. What would you say are your overall ambitions for the rest of 2014 and where do you see yourself in 12 months time?

For the rest of 2014, I hope to branch out into England more, become a more regular fixture in ICW, reclaim the Pride N7 title and finally get the Junior title in SWA. In 12 months time I’d like to see myself traveling more, wrestling for a wider variety of promotions and learning from a more varied pool of wrestling peers.

9. Where can the readers find Lewis Girvan and where can promoters book yourself?

Readers can like the Lewis Girvan page I have on Facebook or they can follow me on Twitter @LewisCEGirvan. Promoters can contact me through the page or via email LewisGirvanProWrestler@outlook.com.

10. Have you got any dates, promotions or other projects you wish to plug?

September 20th I shall be wrestling for Pride Wrestling and then ICW the next day. I will also be making my debut for Discovery Wrestling in October on their inaugural show, something I’d encourage readers to follow very closely. Otherwise, I’d ask your readers to support any and all the British wrestling they can, it’s a very special time to be a part of British wrestling, everything seems to be on the upswing. Let’s keep that momentum going, let’s make this a thriving scene on par with anywhere else in the world.

Please go and support Lewis by going to his social media links above!

Go and support BWR by going to our Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival and our twitter @BritWresRevival!

Finally as always go and support our ever growing list of affiliates who make most things happen on BWR such as DVD reviews and publicity! Use the dropdown on the side to view them!

 

Leave a Reply

