Interview – Lord Jonathan Windsor

windsor2

windsor

1. First of all, please describe yourself to the readers??

I am the National Treasure Jonathan Windsor, descended from royalty, and here to take my rightful place at the top of wrestling.

2. How did you first get involved in Wrestling and what is your opinion on your overall training experience??

I watched wrestling a lot when I was younger, particularly whilst I was living abroad. I stopped watching for a while but came back to it as an adult. I knew it was something that I wasn’t going to be content just watching, so I began training. I was very fortunate to be able to train with the people that I did, I went to several different places and always sought out the best training I could. Everyone that I trained with helped me a lot, and it was a very positive experience.

3. You have wrestled for PROGRESS Wrestling on numerous occasions wrestling on their ENDVR shows, what is your opinion on wrestling probably the future of British Wrestling and do you think this year will be the year that you will make the step up to the main Progress roster??

I’ve already been on the ‘main’ Progress roster, wrestling in the Natural Progression tournament, where I faced Wild Boar, and then Mark Andrews. In truth, the ENDVR shows contain plenty of top-level talent, and most of the competitors I have faced have since debuted for the ‘main’ shows, so I’m not too concerned with the distinction. With that said, I’m always looking to make an impact at all levels, so we’ll see. As for facing the future of British Wrestling, it’s an excellent way to test yourself and make sure you’re evolving as a competitor – as I said the talent around at the moment is exceptional, but I’m a long way from contributing everything I have to wrestling, so I believe I still have a role to play in shaping the future of British Wrestling.

4. IPW:UK is a promotion you have wrestled for 4 years now, including having matches against Uhaa Nation and Ultimo Dragon, what was your opinion on the Ultimo Dragon match and did he have any feedback for you after the match??

It was a hard fought match, and Ultimo Dragon and the Bhangra Knights were always going to be a tough team. Ultimo Dragon is an incredible wrestler with a wealth of experience, you’ll always take something away from coming up against someone like that, but the same can be said for the Bhangra Knights. RJ and Darrell are one of the best teams in the country, and I’ve clashed with Darrell on a number of occasions in singles contests. As an aside I place the fault for the defeat solely at the feet of my partners, the Lavelle Brothers.

5. At FSW Fight Night you wrestled Jimmy Starr and Lance Lawrence, what were your thoughts on the match??

I think that I delivered what I promised before the match. Jimmy Starr and Lance Lawrence got what they deserved. I’ve faced both Jimmy and Lance before and I knew what I was getting myself in for, but they were never going to be a match for the cunning and ability of myself and Sid Scala. When things get as heated as they did between our two teams, you have to be willing to do whatever it takes to win, and we were.

6. Speaking of FSW they are a promotion you have wrestled for a while now for is your next step a title shot considering you wrestled Jimmy Starr last night and what has been your favorite moment so far as part of the roster??

I won the number-one contendership rumble at Swaffham so yes, a title-shot will be taking place on 25th October at Lynnsport in Kings Lynn– and I can assure you I will be defeating Jimmy Starr to earn my first ever Championship. Hiring Sid Scala was a shrewd move, as the partnership thus far has been very fruitful. He is a very savvy wrestler, and in-ring is vicious and calculating, which is precisely what you need to be if you want to be an associate of mine, and a success in the wrestling world.

7. What are your thoughts on the current state of the British scene??

Both the present and the future are looking very positive, there are a number of companies with distinct offerings that are doing very well, increasing international exposure for British wrestlers and a good base of talent. The mix of experience and new faces is perfect, and there are great opportunities to seek out more experienced competitors, which will help ensure everything continues to grow. The one thing I’d like to see more of however, is people making the most of the knowledge of those who defined the British style. There are still a number of people from the ‘World of Sport’ days who are around, we need to ensure their knowledge of this style is passed on and kept alive, as it’s our national wrestling heritage, and something that should be remembered.

8. What does the future hold for ‘Earl’ Jonathan Windsor??

A Falling Starr Wrestling championship, which will be the first of many. In addition to this, I’ll continue forging my way to the top in all of the promotions I’ll work within.

9. Where can the readers find ‘Earl’ Jonathan Windsor??

https://twitter.com/TheRoyalWindsor

10.Any dates you wish to plug??

The next shows I have coming up are for IPW in Tonbridge on 3 August, Falling Starr on 10 August in Heacham and Lucha Britannia on 15 August in Bethnal Green, London. So come and see them!

Please go and follow Jonathan at the Twitter link above and if your in the area of any of his shows go and see them including Falling Starr Wrestling who I would like to thank for providing me with the chance to conduct this interview and a few others in a series of interviews in association with them!

Falling Starr Wrestling on Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/FallingStarrWrestling

Falling Starr Wrestling on Twitter : @FStarrWrestling

Of course follow us on Facebook and Twitter : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival and @BritWresRevival
Finally BWR is officially 1 years old, I want to thank anybody over the past year who has viewed the blog or even the Facebook or Twitter, I really appreciate it and I want to thank anybody who has been interviewed and given up their time to conduct an interview with me and finally my affiliates who without them the blog would probably not be open as they provide me with interviews like the one above and also DVD’s to review! I cannot wait for Year 2 to provide you with more content like this as the #BWR revolution rolls on…

Leave a Reply

