Interview – Nixon Newell

 nixonnixonnewell                                                                          

nixon2 nixon3 

Photo Credit : Lloyd Rees Ellis Photography

1. First of all, please give the readers a description of yourself??

I think of myself as a very determined, hard working, polite person who can have a bit of a kick. I was once described as a jack Russell (apparently not because I look like a dog) but the fact that I will take on anything no matter how big it may be.

2. How did you get involved in Wrestling and how was your training experience overall??

I used to watch it all the time with my grandfather but when he passed my love for it continued to grow. When I was 16 I trained with Welsh Wrestling in Port Talbot but now I try and train in as many places as possible like Dragon Pro, Pro EVW, BWP etc. The schools are all so different and unique so I’m constantly learning new things which is awesome. I recently completed a week long training camp with WAW which so amazing, I learned so much from it and met some amazing people! I’m a big fan of the knight family but getting to train with Saraya was incredible, I learned so much from her and the rest of the family during the camp which I plan to use a lot so keep an eye out for some new moves…or even a new Nixon

3. Have you got any tips for any up and coming female wrestlers??

It’s totally cliche yet so true but Never give up! You’ll get some obstacles over your career but just use them to enhance your skills and learn from everything.

4. Last year you won a competition in conjunction with TNA and Challenge TV to go to Slammiversary, was it surreal to be part of TNA’s biggest yearly PPV and what would you say was your favorite moment while you were out there at Slammiversary??

Meeting the wrestlers definitely. They were so helpful and gave me some great advice which I still follow to this day. The fact I got to hang out with them throughout the trip was insane, I had breakfast with them, went backstage and they all treated me so nicely. The trip was definitely surreal…It’s hard to explain how great it was.

5. What is your opinion on the current Women’s wrestling scene and in particular the British Women’s Wrestling scene??

The scene at the moment is amazing. There are some ridiculously talented women out there who are constantly knocking the ball out of the park with their matches. Seeing how much its grown over the past year is incredible so I’m excited to see what it’s like in 5 years time.

6. You have wrestled the likes of Lana Austin, Nikki Storm and Violet Vendetta over the past year, what did you gain from wrestling each of these women in the ring and did they have any praise to give you after each of your matches??

I gained a lot of knowledge in regards to skill types. I learned how to create a good match structure and character work just from wrestling them. I’ve been lucky enough to work with just some of the best in britain and hopefully I’ll get to work with a lot more of the ladies out there. I’m always excited to work with a new person because I know I’ll learn something new but it’s great working with people I’ve worked like take Violet for example, we’ve worked each other a few times and know what each other is capable of which I think helps us pull off decent matches and it helps that we get on really well so the in ring chemistry is great. Working Nikki was a big deal for me because she’s such a big name and so talented. I really enjoyed working with her because she made me bring my A game and gave me advice which I really appreciate…Hopefully I’ll get to work with her again one day. I’ll hope that I’m able to work a lot of new people over the next few years because the women out there now are ridiculously talented

7. You are part of the intergender tag team The Vulture Squad with former BWR interviewee Chris Brookes how did the team form and what can the readers expect if they are going to an event and they have never seen you and Chris live before??

The vulture squad was supposed to be a one time thing for Kamikaze Pro in birmigham but Chris and I clicked really well both inside and out the ring which obviously showed because we’ve got a lot of bookings together as The Vulture Squad. I do enjoy working with chris because he’s a fantastic wrestler and he’s one hell of a character. If you haven’t seen us live you’re in for a treat because we do things that you may not see elsewhere and the matches are always fun.

8. What does the future hold for Nixon Newell??

Hopefully I’ll get to travel the world doing what I love. I’m surprised to see my name out there as much as it is if I’m honest because I don’t rate myself on the same level as some of the women out there now but I’m proud of what I’ve achieved. I just hope it keeps on rising and I’ll keep improving my knowledge of the business and moves so I can go further in the business.

9. Where can the fans find you??

You can follow me on twitter @NixonNewell or you can like my facebook page where I post all upcoming matches, results, photos, videos, merchandise etc.

10. Have you got any dates or other projects you wish to plug??

I’ve got a few dates coming up that I’m excited for like I make my Fierce Females debut against Sammii Jayne on August 31st in Glasgow, I make my Southside Debut on September 19th and I fly out to Germany on the 20th September for a few days to work with WXW. There’s a ton of other dates also which will all be announced in time on both facebook and twitter.

Please go and follow Nixon either on Twitter or by liking her page on Facebook!

As always please go and like BWR on Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival and Follow BWR on Twitter : @BritWresRevival!

And finally please go and have a look at the ever growing and newly updated list of affiliates by using the dropdown menu under Our Affiliates!

Leave a Reply

