Interview – Joe Vega

joevega

Photo credit : Tony Knox

1.  First of all, please describe yourself to the readers??

Jeez, I don’t even know the answer to that myself! I’m a guy with passion, a stupid amount of energy and stubbornness to do what I need to do to be happy and feel fulfilled. Pretty dead set on what I want to do, have my own way of thinking (can be a bit philosophical and out there) but I’m a down to earth guy. I’ve not got my head in the clouds or think I’m something I’m not, I’m realistic and have my head on my shoulders, as my mother would say.

2. How did you get involved in Wrestling??

Well I enjoyed watching Wrestling, regardless of what High School friends said, parents, my brothers or anyone else said about Wrestling, I still loved watching it. At the age of 16 years old I was at Preston College I was in first year doing a Music course, end of the year my tutor said, ‘What do you want to do when you finish this course?’, I said without hesitation, ‘Think I’m going to become a personally wrestler’ and went with that ever since.

3. Following on from this, could you please describe your training experience and would you do anything different if you went back in time??

Well following on, I worked a year and a half In a scrap yard to save up to the age of 18 to train with Lance Storm in his Academy at Calgary, Alberta. Canada. Spending 3 months training from one of the best trainers looking back was a good decision. If I could go back, I would of tried to look for training schools in England, I was oblivious to the UK scene because I was naive to think there was anything but what I saw on TV, I wasn’t the smartest teenage admittedly but happy I got my fundamentals from such a credited trainer as Lance.

4. Many people may have seen you from British Bootcamp 2 at the weekend in which you didn’t get through, are you proud to have been in the auditions and get yourself out to a wider audience and were you disappointed that you didn’t get through while you were there??

It was a nerve racking experience but I went in confident knowing I wasn’t a 100% but if I could get in the eye of TNA for 2/3 minutes then I was happy. I’m glad I did it and got myself exposure so early on in my wrestling endeavour. My performance wasn’t to the standard I could do or I will do in the future but nerves got the better of me I don’t mind admitting that, weird for me to get nervous because I normally don’t get that nervous but I went for it and I think I did okay (apart from the knee popping out and everything haha)

5. I heard you got injured at Bootcamp, could you maybe tell the readers the full extent of the injury and when you will be back in the ring??

Well about 8 months ago I partially torn my ACL ligament in my left knee, only a minor tear so I carried on Wrestling through it. 2/3 more times it went out on me and it became such an intense tear that I’ve had to get reconstructive surgery before I complete tear it. That’s why when I did that flip (which wasn’t the smartest move) and you saw the result. Surgery is on the 2nd of December so May/June. Depends how rehab goes.

6. In your short career what would you say had been your favorite moment and match and why??

Favorite moment. I’d have to say my favourite moment is getting to work with Tyson T Bone, a big name on the UK Scene and big vicious guy with a wealth of experience and knows what he’s doing. I felt like him beating the crap out of me and me coming back for more really made people see I wasn’t another guy, that I was here to fight and push myself to achieve something.

7. You work predominately up North apart from once wrestling for PW4U, with Bootcamp do you think you will be working down South in the future??

Any opportunity to work down south I would be a great opportunity. Anywhere I can work and gain experience to get better each match then send me where ever.

8. What are your thoughts on the current state of British Wrestling??

I think British Wrestling is doing fantastic. So much talent, so many promotions to work for and the passion is there. Not really my place to say how it could get better or what direction British Wrestling should go in because I’ve only been in it for a year but I’m enjoying it.

9. Where can the readers find you on Social Media and where can promoters book you??

Ah twitter is the place to be I’d say, @TheJoeVega and when I’m back if anyone is interested in booking me just email me at: joe-whittaker1@hotmail.co.uk

10.  Any dates or anything else you wish to plug??

No dates or anything. I would like to plug Futureshock Wrestling which is a promotion based in Manchester. I trained with them 1/2 years after I went to Canada and the wrestlers there are some of the best I’ve ever seen. A promotion consider my base and have helped my career. The next year coming they’re adding triple the amount of shows they’re running now, It was running 1 show a month, Now I think it’s something like 2/3 a month, so big times for them. Check them out: www.futureshockwrestling.co.uk.

Please if you could go and support Joe on the Social Media link above!

As always go and follow BWR –
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog
And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!!
Leave a Reply

