Interview – Dylan Drake

IMG_2508.JPG

IMG_2509.JPG

1. First of all, please introduce and describe yourself to the readers??

My name is the Golden Boy Dylan Drake and I have been wrestling professionally since 2005. I have a more old school approach to wrestling paying homage to the likes of Ric Flair and Buddy Rodgers but I also like to mix it up with some strong style and submission wrestling. I love back breakers!!

2. How did you get involved in Wrestling Training??

I used to live in Florida years ago and when I was 17 I started my training. Unfortunately my school was bought out buy a former WWF star, that I will leave unnamed, that wanted more money than a teenager could afford. Then I moved to California. Working in restaurants, I worked under a chef that was a major a$$hole, he loved to yell at his employees. One day he asked me “what do you want to do with your life because waiting tables clearly couldn’t be the answer.” I said “I want to be a professional wrestler” and he said “why don’t you go and F’N do it!” So that night I went online and found out that All Pro Wrestling was 30 minutes away and the next day I signed up.

3. Could you sum up your training experience??

My training experience was pretty intense, as it should be. Roland Alexander was always very serious and very adamant that if you wanted to be a professional wrestler that you needed to eat, sleep and breath it. You were married to it. The fundamentals where so important and that everything spawned from there. I had to wait 2 years before I could have my first match, not because I couldn’t, but because Roland wanted to make sure that when you did debut you didn’t embarrass yourself or APW. It was important to know your craft, not only to insure the safety of yourself and your opponents but also so you wouldn’t shit the bed.

4. You work in the California Bay Area mostly from promotions such as All Pro Wrestling and Vendetta, is it good to wrestle in California as most of the big names just out of WWE come and wrestle there??

It is and isn’t. Northern California, after the Roy Shire and Ray Stevens days, became known as an island to independent professional wrestling. Even with all of the talent that Nor Cal has produced, unfortunately not many eyes ever looked up our way. It’s only in the last few years that a decent amount of attention has been coming our way. It’s because of a handful of promoters like Markus Mac, Bobby Hart and Billy Blade that all of the big names coming out of the WWE are now showing face in our neck of the woods.

5. At Friday The 13th for All Pro Wrestling you faced Matt Hardy, how was this experience for you and do you think this shows faith on APW’s part for booking you against talent such as Matt??

Any time you get to work with a talent such as Matt Hardy it’s going to be a great experience. Matt and I worked once before at the APW Garage but it was a short match in a long tournament, so it wasn’t the full experience I was hoping for. At Friday the 13th, Matt and I got to main event and had a really great match. I’ve been lucky to be a headliner for APW since my second year in, through multiple bookers and many years they have all had faith in me to carry the ball and perform to the level that was necessary to be in the ring with talent like Hardy and Masters and Kendrick. It’s humbling and flattering.

6. I heard that you have continued to train Wrestlers after Roland Alexander’s death, is it good for you to train the next generation now that Roland has passe and continue in his footsteps??

It was really important to so many of us that we carry on and honor Roland’s legacy and not let APW die with him. Markus Mac made sure that the name of APW didn’t fall into the wrong hands and scooped it up right away. He always admired Roland and didn’t want to see his legacy tarnished and we all owe him for that. Sparkey Ballard, owner and operator of Gold Rush Pro and a APW Boot Camp graduate, really picked up the ball and opened the Gold Mine in Pacifica Ca. where the APW Boot Camp now lives on. We are all so lucky that his love and dedication to both APW and professional wrestling was true otherwise who knows what would have happened. Training the new students has become a great passion of mine, I love it! We have a great group of students and it’s beneficial to me because as Roland taught us, “you never stop learning” and teaching has taught me a new way to look at what I do in the ring and my approach to my wrestling life. It’s important to practice what you preach and not be a hypocrite.

7. What do you think of the current state of Wrestling in general and the product both the independents and WWE is producing at the moment??

I feel like now is a great time for independent wrestlers. With the WWE putting so much into their performance center, there is a great opportunity for so many of us to get looked at. For the last few years I’ve felt wrestling on tv has gotten a bit stale but now with some of the best independent wrestlers in the world starting to get the center stage, I’m very excited to see and hopefully be a part of the new face of wrestling.

8. What are your future ambitions and where do you see yourself in 5 years time in Wrestling??

My future ambitions are like any other trying to make their dream of becoming a wrestling star a reality, I want to work for the WWE. I want to be a household name. I want wrestling to take me around the world. I want wrestling to pay my bills and support my family. Do I see myself there in 5 years time? You bet your ass I do!

9. Where can the readers find Dylan Drake and where can promoters book you??

As for now you can find me on Facebook under Dylan Drake, for booking please contact me at dylandrake247@yahoo.com and you can catch my matches and promos at http://www.youtube.com/users/dylandrake247 the Dylan Drake website will be coming in 2015 so keep your eyes peeled!

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

Go to AllProWrestling.com and get your tix for Kristmas Kaos on Friday December the 19 and on Sunday the 14 the Nor Cal hall of fame will take place from the Gold Mine in Pacifica Ca! It’s our debut show at the school so I’m very excited for that. Check out Gold Rush Pro on Facebook for more details on upcoming events. Keep your eyes on the Bay Area as well as WrestleMania 31 is coming and we will be showing up in full force to show the wrestling world all that Nor Cal has to offer!

Thanks to Dylan for taking part in this interview please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog
Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk
And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!!

Leave a Reply

