Interview – ‘Blackbelt’ Tom Dawkins

blackbelttd2

  1. First of all, please describe yourself to the readers of TheBritishWrestlingRevival??

Utilising over 20 years of marital arts training, striking is my most dangerous weapon. I have developed hybrid styles of British wrestling, Japanese stronger style and Lucha Libre. Being a heavyweight, I can hang with the best high flyers and fight a strong style with any heavyweight.

Depending on the character I call upon different elements to suit each one best.

  1. How did you get involved in Wrestling training growing up and did this stem from a love of Wrestling growing up??

The love of wrestling developed later than most others, it was something I was aware of but never had the opportunity to watch. I remember some people talking about it in school, and i could understand what they were talking about such as storyline etc. They leant me a VHS copy of royal rumble 2000, and that was it, I was hooked ever since.

  1. Could you describe your training experience (who you were trained by and your thoughts on this etc.)

I am a big believer in that learning never stops, so I feel this is a hard one – to pin point just one person. But I will take this opportunity to mention the people that have developed me as a performer and athlete.

My base came from John Richie, which was a very traditional British wrestling and shooter style. This gave me my fundamentals which I took to like a duck out of water. About 3 month in and i was deemed ready for my first show. There was one problem I had never trained in a ring before. The day of the show came and I remember spending a 30 mins trying to run the ropes and just could not get it! So we had to work out a match that overlooked me touching the ring at all!

It wasn’t until i got in the ring with Karl Krammer, that I realised how to start to tell a story and work a crowd. There was a great deal of knowledge that I took from karl whilst being on the road.Plus when I left the promotion I was working for at the time Karl took me under his wing and introduced me to the Knights, who I started training with.

When I went to the Knights in autumn 2013, I was very mentally burnt out and felt that every other promoter was the same as the previous – and not in a good way. The whole family welcomed me in with open arms, even with the heat I had. Training and working with them reinstalled my confidence in myself, they saw something in me that i never knew i had. Ricky Knight encouraged me to show my natural intensity and work more of a strong style, I felt my work rate in the ring improve. They gave me an amazing opportunity, such as wrestling against with Roy Knight at WAW Epic encounter 7, which was recently air on My Channel on sky 203.

Also in autumn 2013, I walked into the London School of Lucha Libre (Lucha Britannia training academy), which was a whole new world of possibility. London School of Lucha Libra run by two amazing mentors Greg Burridge and Garry Vanderhorne. As I was only ever shown a very British style, they both set my mind free and pushed me creatively and physically every time I stepped into the ring. Lucha Britannia helped me develop Pure Britannico, with his controlled chaos, is here to untie the Britannicos (Leon and Dark Britannico) and will fight for the greater good. But we are yet to understand why? I had three weeks, training with Cassandro El Exótico, which was a privilege to learn from such an iconic luchador. Fast forward a year, Cassandro requested to work with myself at LSLL show, wow.

  1. 4. You were defeated by Will Ospreay last night in RCWA in a Union-1 Championship match, will you be going back after the title at the next month??

 

Will Ospreay and I have an interesting relationship. it is rivalry built out of respect. Will Ospreay is one of the best high flyers in the country. I’ve never claimed to be a high flyer, but when we finally stood across the ring from each other i knew that this was going to be a fight. I pushed myself to my limits with moves i have never attempted before just to keep him down. In the end he won with the 620.

But every fighter, athlete, professional will lose at some point, it’s how you come back from the loss. I will go back to the drawing board and understand what went wrong. Next time we meet for RCWA Elite-1 Championship, I know what he has and doesn’t have.

 

  1. You are making your debut for DOA Wrestling taking on Ryan Smile, what are your thoughts on your opponent and making your debut for DOA??

 

I have never met Ryan Smile, but I have had the opportunity to check out his work online. He has a great mixed style, I warn the fans not to blink it will be fast and aggressive. I don’t like predicting what my opponent is going to pull out of his bag of tricks, I use my instincts and reach in the moment.

 

  1. The same for XWA you are facing Will Ospreay, Paul Robinson and Robbie X what are your thoughts on these opponents and what should fans expect who are seeing you for the first time??

 

A fast paced, highly explosive match. Knowing Ospreay’s style, I have been developing counters for his offence. However, every time I get the upper hand on one person, I had two others flying out of nowhere.

 

  1. What are your thoughts on the current state of British Wrestling??

 

To be honest, I believe British wrestling has been improving over the last couple of years. The calibre of wrestlers in Britain, is at such a high standard. The clever promoters are aware that every area of the uk have different types of appreciation for wrestling. I believe like any art there is no right way to do things, as long as it is not too complex of a story which is lost on a non TV crowd.

 

  1. What are your future ambitions/goals and where do you see yourself in 5 years time in Wrestling??

 

I am here for the ride that wrestling can offer me. This is my 3rd year in wrestling but this year has been an awaking to the opportunitiesavailable. In the last year i have been lucky to have the opportunity to prove myself against some great workers. This year I said i want to work for three companies, WAW, Lucha Britannia and IPW. Come Sunday i would have achieved all 3 and more. I can’t wait to see what 2015 will bring. I have never held a title, that is the next goal.

 

  1. Where can the readers/promoters find on social media/book Blackbelt TD??

 

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/dawkinste

Twitter – @Blackbelt_TD

Instagram –  Blackbelt_TD

 

  1. Have you got any future dates or other projects you wish to plug??

 

05 Dec 2014 – Lucha Britannia

06 Dec 2014 – Lucha Britannia

https://www.facebook.com/events/1510936782489645/

07 Dec 2014 – IPW

http://www.ipwuk.com/events/2014/12/07/christmas-cracker-supershow

13 Dec 2014 – DOA

https://www.facebook.com/events/447618928716030/

23 Jan 2015 – WrestleForce

https://www.facebook.com/events/750631695010017/

07 Feb 2015 – WrestleForce

http://www.wrestleforce.co.uk

21 Feb 2015 – RCWA

https://www.facebook.com/RCWAWrestling?fref=ts

Plus more to be announced…..

Thanks to Tom for taking part in this interview please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog
Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk
And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!!

Leave a Reply

