Interview – Terry Isit

BWR INTERVIEWS (1)

1. First of all, please describe yourself to the readers of TheBritishWrestlingRevival??

I like to think I’m untapped potential. I like to do my own thing and not follow the crowd. I often get described as a high flyer just because of my size and it really winds me up because if those people actually watched me in the ring properly they’d realise I’m not. I like to be aggressive in the ring as it’s not something I can really do outside of. I wrestle a pretty decent schedule but because I’m not down with the internet fans people just often assume I’m either new to this or inexperienced. People often as well think I’m a one trick pony in wrestling but I’m really versatile and can cater to all crowds and styles of wrestling. I probably sound like an a**hole after reading that haha.

2. How did you get involved in Wrestling training growing up and did this stem from a love of Wrestling growing up??

The first time I seen wrestling was when I was about 5 as my brother was a massive fan of wrestling during the attitude era in the late 90’s, he stopped watching wrestling as he grew older and I pretty much forgot it existed when he stopped watching it haha. When I was about 10 I randomly bought Smackdown Shut Your Mouth for the PlayStation 2 just because I needed to choose another game from the 2 for £20 in Gamestation. I played it and got hooked on the game and then started watching it on TV ( around 2004) and I’ve been hooked ever since. From around that time I knew i wanted to be a professional wrestler. Slam Wrestling were running shows in my hometown of Corby which I always went to, then one time they left flyers on the seats which had a load of different schools on across the country as part of the British Wrestling Council and low and behold Slam were running a school just a few minutes drive from my house. So that’s where my journey started.

3. Could you describe your training experience (who you were trained by and your thoughts on this etc.)??

I originally started training at a place in Northamptonshire called Slam which put on good shows to the public, but the training school was terrible. (Me being unaware of this to begin with and just being in awe that I was at a wrestling training school.) Paul Malen and Joseph Conners did a seminar for them one time, and after the seminar I was speaking to Malen and he mentioned he could do some training with some of us from the Slam school down in Nottingham every week. We took him up on it and I’ve been training with Paul for around 3/4 years and performing on shows for just over 3 years.

4. You are part of Megaslam Wrestling and have been for a while now, what are your thoughts on Megaslam as a promotion as a whole and also on touring promotions in general such as Megaslam is it good for you as you get to travel up and down the country meeting new fans every single night??

I love working for Megaslam! To say I get to wrestle all over country is amazing. I love the fact that we aren’t in just one place all the time, and wrestling in front of the same faces. I get to meet new people and see new places on a daily basis. Megaslam have been great to me and have invested in me as one of their faces of the promotion and i like to think that with every opportunity they give me, I do not let them down. For someone so young and relatively new to the business I’ve been able wrestle more matches than a lot of guys who have been in the business more than double than I have. Megaslam gave me the opportunity to learn how to wrestle the old school way, through the holiday camp circuit where guys like William Regal, Fit Finlay and Drew McDonald say its the best way to learn. Not many people will get that opportunity so I’m forever grateful.

5. You are part of the Megaslam 6th Year Anniversary at the Doncaster Dome in February, are you looking forward to the event and do you know who you are facing??

I’m really looking forward to the 6th Year anniversary show, it’s their biggest show to date and they have some amazing talent on the show too. I’m defending my Megaslam Wrestling Championship against Bully Boy Carter, who I’m no stranger to as we have battled each other numerous times up and down the country in the past. This time though, Paul Malen will be the Special Guest Referee for our match as he comes back to Megaslam for one night only after being fired from Megaslam back in the summer of last year.

6. You are part of the EAW roster, is it good working with Nick and do you hope to wrestle more for them this year than last year??

I love performing on the EAW shows, the crowds are always vocal and the production is great. I wrestled on a good few of their shows last year, so hopefully I’m on just as much if not more this year.

7. Which promotions would you like to work for in the future and who in particular would you like to wrestle that you haven’t already??

All Star Wrestling is where I want to wrestle next but not just on one show I’d love work with them on a regular basis. Wrestling for Megaslam is similar to All Star from what I’ve heard from guys who currently wrestle for All Star. They have the history, the schedule and the people working there who can only make me a better wrestler. As far people I’d love to get in the ring with, Nathan Cruz, Marty Scurll, Kris Travis & Martin Kirby. Those are the first few guys that come to mind. All of which I spent time watching their work and learning from them.

8. What are your future ambitions/goals and where do you see yourself in 5 years time in Wrestling??

In 5 years time I hope to be making a lot more money from wrestling (hahaha), wrestling in other countries as well as the UK, and maybe even grabbing the attention of people in companies that can offer me being able to wrestle full time on a much bigger platform.

9. Where can the readers/promoters find on social media/book Terry Isit??

I’m on most Social Networking Sites find me on: Facebook: www.facebook.com/terryisit Follow me on Twitter @terryisit Follow me on Instagram @terryisit Youtube: www.youtube.com/terryisit1

10. Have you got any future dates or other projects you wish to plug??

Yeah I’ve got two dates that I’d like to plug but for all my other dates head over to my facebook page where they’ll be listed on there facebook.com/terryisit First of all Megaslam Wrestlings 6 year anniversary show at the Doncaster Dome, Friday February 6th. Visit https://www.facebook.com/uwemegaslamwrestling for more information. & secondly Saturday 28th February I make my debut for TNT Extreme Wrestling in Liverpool. headover to https://www.facebook.com/tntwrestling for more information.

Thanks to Terry for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk
And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!!

Leave a Reply

