Interview – Iestyn Rees

2015/01/img_2762-3.jpg

1. First of all, please describe yourself to the readers of TheBritishWrestlingRevival??

My name is Iestyn Rees, I stand 6 foot 4 and weigh in at 247lbs. I am an athletically gifted heavyweight who takes no prisoners in the ring using my height and strength to my advantage. Often referred to as “Irresistible”, I have been wrestling for over 9 years across the UK and now Europe for various promotions.

2. How did you get involved in Wrestling training growing up and did this stem from a love of Wrestling growing up??

Like most wrestlers I grew up loving wrestling, my favourite wrestlers as a kid were The Ultimate Warrior, Legion of Doom and the Rockers. I then got back into wrestling as a teenager when the Royal Rumble was on channel 4 in 2000. I continued to follow the WWF until I finished university, I had become aware of the wrestling channel whilst at uni and saw adverts on there for wrestling schools. When I finished university I googled wrestling schools near my home in Gloucester and the most professional looking school I found was 4FW based in Swindon. So one Sunday I drove to Swindon and took part in my first training session.

3. Could you describe your training experience (who you were trained by and your thoughts on this etc.)

I was trained by David Sharp at 4FW, initially I was taught the fundamentals of pro wrestling, once I had grasped an understanding of these, training stepped up a gear and I was taught a lot of in ring drills and was put in match situations. This continued until David felt I was ready to progress to 4FW shows. My learning didn’t stop there, I was lucky enough to be booked against at the time some of the best up and coming talents Dave Mastiff, Martin Stone and The Kartel. Wrestling against guys who were much better than myself was a steep learning curve but I feel that those early matches really helped me progress quickly as a wrestler.

4. You are part of The Alpha Males with Charlie Garrett, how did you form and do you think you could make it over in America as a team??

Myself and Charlie first teamed together in Gloucester in a 6 man tag approx. 2 years ago, following the match multiple people commented that we had a similar look although our skills/styles were different they complimented each other well and we could possibly make a good team. After a few sessions training together we decided to take the team forward and we’ve been lucky enough to start working as a team across the country as well as maintaining our singles careers. With regards to making it in America as a team I definitely believe we have the necessary talent and the all-important look to make it in America or anywhere else in the world.

5. You are one of the first entrants in the PWE Elite Rumble, what are your thoughts on being part of this and have you got a message for the other entrants??

Pro Wrestling Elite is one of the top companies in the UK and being in with a chance of earning a shot at the Heavyweight Title is a big deal. I made a statement on my first night in the company pinning the previous heavyweight champion Dave Mastiff. Therefore I feel I am big favourite to win the rumble and then challenge for the title. So for anyone else in the rumble you are only going to come second at best, because I’m winning the whole thing.

6. You went over to Austria for the first time this year, how did this come about and do you think this shows a turning point in your career where you will start to appear more abroad??

I met Michael Kovac an Austrian wrestler at a Wrestleforce show earlier in the year. He watched my match that night and said he was impressed with my abilities and my look, he said he pass on my details to a promoter in Austria. The promoter contacted me and booked me for the show in Vienna. At the show in Vienna there were a few promoters of other companies across Europe at the show, so hopefully the show has opened some doors for me to work more across Europe this year.

7. As part of the Alpha Males you took part in Revolution Red Wrestling’s first show taking on Martin Kirby and Panda Cub, is it good for you to debut in a new promotion like this which of course gives you the chance to broadcast yourself to new fans in new areas and do you want to return to RRW next year if given the chance ??

Getting to work against Martin Kirby who is regarded as 1 of the top pro’s in the country is always a great experience. He was initially due to team with Jack Gallagher who unfortunately had to pull out of the show on the day, this led to him being replaced by the Panda Cub. It’s always exciting to work for a new promotion in front of new fans as I feel that as a team we are an excellent example of how good British tag team wrestling can be. Of course we would love to go back and work for RRW again as well as any other promotion that we have or haven’t yet worked for.

8. What are your future ambitions/goals and where do you see yourself in 5 years time in Wrestling??

I would hope that in the next 5 years, wrestling will have allowed me to travel across Europe and hopefully the World performing in as many countries in front of as many fans as possible. I would like to complete against some of the top professional wrestlers from around the world.

9. Where can the readers/promoters find on social media/book Iestyn Rees??

Twitter: @iestyn_rees or the_alpha_males
Facebook: The Alpha Males

If promoters are interesting in booking me please email me iestyn.rees@sky.com
If promoters are interested in booking The Alpha Males please email us alpha_males@hotmail.com

10. Have you got any future dates or other projects you wish to plug??

I am wrestling in my home town Gloucester on 2 shows in the near future, firstly on April 3rd at Churchdown Community Centre which is right around the corner from my house, more details of this event will be available soon, but it will be the first time wrestling has been back to this venue in nearly 2 years.

I will also be wrestling on Superstars of Wrestling Superclash 3 in Gloucester.

Look out for me on upcoming shows for CSF, Future Pro Wrestling, IPWUK, Pro Wrestling Elite and various other promotions.

Also please check out my official sponsors Attack Fight Wear http://www.attackfightwear.com who produce top quality T-shirts, hoodies and training wear. My personal page is http://www.attackfightwear.com/iestyn-rees/

Thanks to Iestyn for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk
And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

