Interview – Soner Dursun

soner

1.  First of all, please introduce yourself to the readers of BWR??

Hi, my name is Soner Dursun and I am a Professional Wrestler from Manchester. I have been wrestling since 2010 and regularly train at the Futureshock training school.

2. Let’s talk about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling growing up if so did you start early or late and finally did anyone in particular inspire you to become a wrestler??
I have been a fan of wrestling literally since I could remember. Watching old family videos of me when I was 2 to 3 years old I’d be glued to the screen watching my brothers old wrestling tapes.

The first time I saw somebody that really influenced me in terms of wanting to pursue it as a profession was Aj Styles. I must’ve been 10 to 11 years of age and watched a match between him and Abyss for the first time. The agility he showed truly inspired me and still inspires me to this day.

3. How did you then get involved in Wrestling training and if there was anyone who you could of been trained by who would it be??

A friend of mine trained at the Futureshock Training school and knew I was a wrestling fan. Soon as he told me I went down to a Sunday session in which Sam Bailey was taking, it was a shock to how difficult and tiring it truly was but I loved it and was there regularly at least 2 times a week.

In terms of being trained by a certain? Aj Styles of course would be a great one just for the inner fan in me but Bubba Ray Dudley I think would be an eye opener just in terms of experience in tag team wrestling and the excellent heel work he did during his time with TNA.

4.  Davey Richards had a hand in your training was this just a seminar if so how was this experience for you??

I’ve trained with Davey Richards over the past couple of years and each time I learn something new. I have had many one off seminars with him but where I truly learnt from him was the 5 day Star Power Training course I embarked with him. After that seminar I realised I wasn’t as fit as I thought and that immediately got me wanting to improve my fitness and body dramatically.

5. You recently became Futureshock Adrenaline Champion, how did it feel to win this and is there anyone hot on your heels after the title??

It was a a massive honour winning the first Futureshock Championship. It’s an honour winning any kind of prestigious titles for any promotion but this being where I trained and made my name it had that extra effect for me. On the 8th of March I’ll be in Stockport facing James Drake for my title, I faced James in a triple threat for the belt and I’m sure it’s going to be explosive.

6. Speaking of FutureShock it is of course a promotion you predominately wrestle for, what are your thoughts of promotions such as FS and also the likes of Great Bear who ply their trade in a hotbed up north??

I have wrestled for many companies such as Ironfist, EDW, Full House and Great Bear. I respect every promotion in what they are to accomplish but I personally think there are many promotions that should not be around just due to the amount of Wrestling shows that are already struggling as it is.

7. What are your thoughts on the current state of British Wrestling??

I think British Wrestling is in a great place right now. With once hungry promotions now comfortably standing it shows great progression. Another thing is the amount of talent and hard work Brits show in and outside of the ring, the same effort that goes into sold out shows will go into a show with just a dozen people watching. The passion is strong with British wrestling and I personally wouldn’t dream of working with more genuine people.

8. What are your ambitions/goals for the future and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

My goal right now is to get my name more and more noticed around the British circuit and hopefully abroad. In terms of 5 years from now, I hope to be able to make a very comfortable living doing what I love. I’d like to go abroad to America or maybe even Japan but I think the main goal is to one day headline WrestleMania….. Got to aim high.

9. Where can the readers find Soner Dursun??

You can find me on Facebook under simply “Soner Dursun”. You won’t find many quirky statuses from me very often but I’ll be updating it with future shows that I will be attending.

10. Have you got any future dates/projects you wish to plug??

Currently I am a also a full qualified Personal Trainer in Manchester so if you are interested simply like my page “Soner Dursun – Fitness”. As mentioned before I will be in Stockport on the 8th of March Wrestling for Futureshock. Come down.

Thanks to Soner for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk
And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

