DVD Review – WWE Royal Rumble 2015

royalrumble2015

Welcome to the latest WWE DVD Review after a bit of a hiatus. I will be hitting you with 3 WWE DVD reviews over the next few weeks with Ultimate Warrior : Always Believe out this weekend and ECW Unreleased Volume 3 out the weekend of the 18th and 19th! Also on the release schedule is Pro Wrestling Chaos as well as World War Wrestling and hopefully TIDAL as well.

This is the yearly PPV to start the year off and normally delivers a lot of surprises in the 30 man Royal Rumble match. It is one of the only PPV’s I watch live a year as I always have done even when I wasn’t into Wrestling as like WrestleMania even the casual fans watch the big ones. The main shining light though was the WWE Title Match with Brock Lesnar facing off against Seth Rollins and John Cena. Rollins was never going to win it due to the fact he had the Money In The Bank which he recently cashed in at WrestleMania 31. It was a great showing from Rollins who was using this to build into WrestleMania. This was a great World Title match which was better than some of the other title matches we have seen over the past year or so from WWE, even though Lesnar does work a reduced schedule which does annoy a lot of people as why make him the champion if he is doesn’t work every RAW or PPV but he is in my opinion the best in WWE and is a massive threat to any opponent he steps in the ring with which did make him a really legitimate champion at that time. I would say this was the best title match I have seen in a long while and really delivered where previously it did not on other PPVs I have watched recently.

The other matches weren’t as good and even though it is good to see the New Age Outlaws on the card they did not need to be on the card facing The Ascension and it is getting stale seeing them come back now especially on big PPV’s such as the Royal Rumble. The Uso’s vs Miz and Mizdow was ok but to be honest it is getting really stale seeing this match either with The Miz and Mizdow or Adam Rose and The Bunny. This would of been perfect on TV but not on a PPV such as Royal Rumble which is meant to be the 2nd biggest Pay Per View of the year behind WrestleMania. It may have been used as a filler like the next match The Bellas and Paige and Natalya which wasn’t very good and wasn’t up to scratch compared to some of the good matches I have seen with Divas over the past few reviews but I enjoyed AJ and Paige vs The Bellas from WrestleMania so in my opinion this was a one off for sure. All 4 Divas are great but I won’t remember this one at all when I look back at the pay per view.

The Rumble itself got a lot of bad press due to Roman Reigns winning which a lot of fans didn’t like but this was made by seeing Bubba Ray Dudley and DDP once again which saved it from being an absolute write off and the first time I would of said that in ages due to always being a massive fan of the Rumble overall. Daniel Bryan’s in and out appearance disheartened this even more to be honest as I thought he would of had a major chance to win it and I think due to disappointment the match at Fast Lane vs Reigns was made and is now on the Bryan DVD. I haven’t seen that match yet and I will watch it when I review the DVD but with those two wrestlers in the ring together it should be good. Big Show and Kane were part of the final four which showed how bad it was compared to other Rumbles as both are not very good anymore and even though they will be definitely Hall of Famers in future they didn’t need to be part of the final four and the spot could have been taken up elsewhere.

In the end even though it was criticized that Reigns won it was for the best as it produced a good match at WrestleMania which resulted in a cash in from Rollins. This made it get a better rating as It was meant to happen overall. There was only 2 note worthy matches as you always have to watch the Rumble even though it wasn’t as good as normal. It gets a 5/10 from me overall as the title match gets it a better rating, it is a sense of must try harder and hopefully the Ultimate Warrior and ECW DVD’s can get better ratings which I’m sure they will!

I am looking forward to my next WWE review and you can find out when the next one will be by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Finally I would like to thank WWE Home Video and Fetch Publicity for their continued support of myself and my reviews! So please go and Support WWE Home Video : https://www.facebook.com/WWEHomeVideoUK?fref=ts and @WWEHomeVideoUK

Leave a Reply

