Interview – Dave Conrad

conrad conrad2

1. First of all, please introduce yourself to the readers of BWR and give them a quick summary of your career so far??

First off, thanks for having me. My name is Dave Conrad. A Scottish Professional Wrestler. I’ve only been wrestling for around 18 months, but in that time I have worked for some of the biggest companies in Scotland including SWA, Discovery Wrestling and ICW, as well debuted in England.

2. Let’s talk about growing up, did you watch wrestling growing up and if so who inspired you to become a wrestler overall??

Yes of course! It was pretty much all I would watch growing up. My favourite wrestler growing up was Steve Austin, so that’s probably who I’d say inspired me the most.

3. How did you get involved in Wrestling training, who were you trained by and do you have any training stories??

Well it was always what I wanted to do. I started researching wrestling schools around Scotland. From the moment I walked into the Source Wrestling School in Glasgow in October of 2012, I knew it was the where I needed to train. I was trained by Damian O’Connor and Mikey Whiplash. I still train with them to this day and they are my go to source for information, knowledge and advice. In terms of stories, it’s mainly just a lot of memories and recounting the work I’ve put in there. Whether it be doing drills with Robby Brookside, one of Mikey Whiplash’s intense card workouts or learning different wrestling techniques from Johnny Saint

4. Is there anyone you would like to have a seminar with in the future at the Source Wrestling School or elsewhere and do you have any words/recommendations for up and comers??

I’d love to have a seminar with William Regal. I’ve never had the opportunity to meet him, but I’ve been told that he’s a complete gentleman. The knowledge and advice he could pass on, I feel, would be extremely valuable. I’d also love a seminar with The Undertaker. He has always carried a presence with him and commanded respect from everyone around him and I’d love the opportunity to learn from him. As for advice for up and comers, I can’t really comment as I see myself as an up and comer. If I was to give a piece of advice to someone on their first day of wrestling school, I’d say; Become an absolute student. Immerse yourself fully into becoming the best you can. It’s the only reason I’ve progressed at a fairly ok rate.

5. You debuted in 2013, what have been your favourite moments/matches so far??

As you said, I only debuted at the end of 2013, so I’ve only been in the business a short time. However, in that time I have two highlights. The first was when I debuted in ICW as part if The Gatecrashers and the crowd actually responded to us and knew who we were. The second would have to be a match I had with DCT in the summer of last year. It wasn’t a 5 star classic, or in a large venue in front of a huge crowd, but we just had a good chemistry in that match and everything felt like it made sense and that we had told a good story and that to me is what’s most important.

6. You are wrestling for TIDAL on May 15th and also as a result making your English debut against previous guest AJ Anderson, what are your thoughts on your opponent and with you debuting is this a sign of things to come for Dave Conrad??

At the time of writing, I have already been down to TIDAL and faced AJ. I thought he was a great opponent. He’s been all around the world and so has a vast knowledge of different styles that he brings to the table. He pushed me in the ring and it made for a good match. He also gave me some good advice after which I’ve taken on board. Hopefully my debut at TIDAL is a sign of things to come. I’d absolutely love to work more in England and work with a lot of the great talent down there as well as learn from them.

7. You are part of The Gatecrashers with Christopher Saynt and previous guest Courtney, I know you have been teaming with Saynt for a while but how did Courtney get involved and what is your agenda as a team??

To be totally honest, Courtney was someone that I didn’t think had the opportunity to showcase her best self in ICW. So much like myself, she had a point to prove and was motivated to do so. At the moment as a team, in my eyes, our agenda is simple; Become the best team in Scotland!

8. What are your future goals/ambitions for 2015 and beyond??

Win some Tag Team Championship gold. As a team we are progressing fast so that’s of course in my list of goals. I’d also love to be wrestling regularly all over the country and not just Scotland. I think there are many great promotions and wrestlers outside of Scotland, as well as inside it, that I’d love the opportunity to work with.

9. Where can readers and promoters find you on Social Media??

You can find me on social media at:

FACEBOOK: facebook.com/DaveConradWrestler TWITTER: twitter.com/DaveConradJNT INSTAGRAM: instagram.com/dave__conrad

For any BOOKINGS/APPEARANCES, I can be contacted on any of the above sites, or through my email at:

d.conradbookings@gmail.com

10. Have you got any future dates you wish to plug??

My next shows are PRIDE Wrestling: We Aim to Misbehave in Bridgeton at the Bridgeton Community Centre on July 11th. Tickets are available at;

pridewrestling.co.uk/tickets

And Discovery Wrestling in my hometown of Edinburgh at the Portobello Town Hall on July 31st. Tickets are available at;

www.ticketwolf.co.uk

Thanks to Dave for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

