Interview – ‘The Prince of Mumbai’ Rishi Ghosh

rishighosh

  1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Rishi, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers and give them a quick summary of yourself as a wrestler???

Thank you Sam.  My name is Prince of Mumbai Rishi Ghosh.  I have been wrestling for over 13 years and have had the privilege to wrestle for most of the main wrestling promotions in the UK as well as wrestle abroad.  Over the years I have become well known for some of my villainous antics in the ring and also my comedic and energetic in ring persona.

  1. Lets talk about your growing up, did you enjoy watching wrestling growing up or did it start much later and if so, who inspired you to think I am going to become a Wrestler??

Like most wrestlers, I loved watching wrestling growing up.  As a child my favourite wrestler was Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart and I still like to watch old matches of his to this day.  He really was a fantastic wrestler and undoubtedly one of the best of all time!  As a child and young man I thought I’d love to be a wrestler- but didn’t really think it would actually be a possibility!

  1. You were trained by Mark Sloan, how did you get involved in training and what are your thoughts looking back on your training??

The ‘FWA Academy’ opened up in Portsmouth (South of England) when I was about 14.  The wrestling school was initially opened to students 16+ but slightly later on a Junior session opened up which was great as it meant that I could begin wrestling.  I soon got invited to the senior sessions by Mark Sloan which was a great honour and became part of series 3 of the FWA Academy which also included Dan Head, Eamon O’Neil and Mark Underwood.  Training under Mark Sloan was an incredible experience as he not only focussed on the wrestling itself but also conditioning, etiquette, promo skills, psychology and many more aspects that are so important in becoming a professional wrestler.  The FWA Academy was a very exciting place to be at, and it’s one of those things I look back on and realise how much I learnt, how much fun I had and how much talent was around when I was there.  When you look at some of the guys it produced like Justin Gabriel (PJ Black), Paul Burchill, James Tighe, Rajah Ghosh (my brother), Andy Simmonz, Mark Haskins, The Lion Kid, Jake Mckluskey, Joel Redman, Dan Head, Max Voltage, Aviv Mayaan- and the list can go on and on!!! So yeah Mark is a guy who knows his wrestling inside out and a guy I have a whole lot of respect for who still helps me out to this day.  Other people I should mention in influence to my training are Justin Richards, my brother Rajah Ghosh and more recently Andy Simmonz and Andy Quildan too.  Also a special shout out to Dan Head, Max Voltage and Graham Hughes who I remember training a huge amount with at the centre back in the day.  Again so many people who have influenced my training it’s very hard to name them all but they know who they are!

  1. You and Lord Gideon Grey were beaten by Colt Cabana and Grado at Rev Pro at the weekend, will you and Gideon be going after Irn Jew even more now Grado has been added to the fold and if so do you have any words for the two men??

Well I have been informed by my best friend Lord Gideon Grey that Matt Classic on the night was actually Grado in disguise and many people have told me this since.  Come to think of it Matt Classic did look like he had lost a bit of muscle and a bit of height that night at the York Hall!  So if this is true then Gideon and I were victims of DAMN SHENANIGANS!!! Just thinking about it makes my quite angry- as the fans know Gideon and I believe whole heartedly in fair play and decency and clearly these two scoundrels do not.  So yes they have not heard the last of us and revenge will be sought on Colt Cabana, Grado and hell if we get the chance even that CM Punk character will have us to answer to as well!

  1. You are part of the 3Kings stable in 4FW with Tiger Ali and RJ Singh, how did the idea for the team come around and what is your agenda as a team in 4FW??

The Three Kings came about when my two brothers in arms and I decided that all three of us are phenomenal singles competitors but together we would be able to take over 4FW, followed by the takeover of the rest of the UK Wrestling Circuit and then eventually 3 KINGS WORLD WIDE DOMINATION!!!  I’m a man of great senses and I can sense that the prestigious 4FW Heavyweight Championship will very soon be in the hands of the Three Kings!

  1. You have worked a lot for Premier down in the Brighton area ran by John Freemantle who has ran it since 1987, how important do you think touring promotions like Premier and All Star are to the British Wrestling scene and do you think Brighton/Worthing is a good area to run for a promotion like Premier??

Yes I have worked for Premier Promotions for many years now and it is a huge pleasure to work for such a great traditional British Wrestling Promotion.  John Freemantle is a very intelligent and experienced wrestling promoter and fans will tell you that it is a promotion unlike any other in the UK and quite frankly probably the World.  For those of you reading who are not familiar with Premier Promotions bouts are still contested in traditional rounds.  My next show there is Thursday 27th August at the Worthing Assembly Hall if anyone fancied checking it out.  The Brighton/ Worthing area is a great area for this kind of wrestling with very passionate fans, although I really do think Premier Promotions would do well in most areas of the country so perhaps this is something Mr Freemantle may consider in the future.

I have also worked for All Star wrestling on multiple occasions and the shows are always have a high calibre of talent and are very entertaining.  You can always tell when a wrestling product is good by the atmosphere created by the fans!

I think for young wrestlers in particular touring these promotions are hugely important and doing shows for these experienced promoters is a huge learning curve.

  1. Do you want to go abroad soon and if so, which countries and wrestlers would you want to face??

Yes it would be brilliant to wrestle in more countries but the country I would especially like to wrestle in one day is America.  American wrestling is the wrestling that I have been watching most of my life and as everyone knows has had some amazing performers compete there.  There are many wrestlers I would like to wrestle over there but the one who sticks out who is still wrestling at the moment is Kurt Angle.  I really think he is one of the all time greats.

  1. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

I have no idea where I will be with my wrestling in another 5 years.  I love professional wrestling, it is one of my huge passions in life and although I have wrestled nearly 14 years now I am hoping to wrestle for another 10 years at least.  As I mentioned I would like to wrestle in America one day but the British wrestling scene is so exciting at the moment and there are many exciting prospects for the future in the UK!

  1. Where can the readers find ‘Prince of Mumbai’ Rishi Ghosh and where can promoters book you??

The best place to find the most up to date information and shows is my Prince of Mumbai Rishi Ghosh Facebook Page (link below).

https://www.facebook.com/princeofmumbairishighosh

You can message me via my Facebook Page for bookings or you can email me at the email address below.

rishighosh73@hotmail.com

  1. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

As you know the summer period is very busy for British wrestlers and I already have 10 shows booked in for next month!  So rather than plug all my upcoming shows I will plug 2 shows that are happening in the next couple of months that I think wrestling fans would really not want to miss!

On Sunday 19th July The Three Kings will be appearing at the Swindon MECA for 4FW.  Should be a great event with Rey Mysterio taking on Alberto Del Rio (El Patron) in the main event.  Tickets still available at http://www.4fw-online.com/

On Tuesday 18th August ‘The Wrestling’ returns to the The Pleasance Grand, Edinburgh.  This show will feature a HUGE Battle Royale featuring top wrestlers from around the world and also top comedians from around the world who have been training hard for this moment!  I warn you tickets have sold out at the last two shows so book early as this one will sell out!  Tickets currently still available from http://the-wrestling.co.uk/

Many thanks for inviting me to do this interview Sam and thank you to everyone who has read this and have continued to support the Prince of Mumbai all these years!

Thanks to Rishi for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

