Interview – Kai Katana

katana katana2 katana3

1. First of all, please give the readers a quick introduction to yourself for those who may not know who you are??

Hey BWR fans, my name is Kai Katana, I am a Filipino-American Professional Wrestler from New York. I will be backpacking and wrestling in Europe this coming August/September.

2. Did you watch wrestling growing up at all and if so when did you get into Wrestling was it early or late and who would you say inspired you to become a professional Wrestler??

Yes, I watched pro wrestling since I was a child. My older cousin was a big fan and he would always have wrestling on when I was over. I got into amateur wrestling at age 8 thinking it was the same stuff I saw on TV! I was totally wrong but I fell in love with the sport and it have been wrestling ever since.

I don’t have a particular person who “inspired” me to be a wrestler, but it is mostly collective moments of people I have met and experiences I have had, is what inspired me to pursue wrestling, professionally.

3. How did you then get involved in Wrestling and who were you trained by??

One of my friends from my old college wrestling team had a best friend back home that was a Professional Wrestler. I met him while he was visiting and told him I wanted to start training after I graduated. So I did, and now here we are.

I was trained by “The Cuban Crippler” Ricky Reyes. The man is a wrestling guru. He is currently a part of Lucha Underground as Cortez Castro

4. You have been the VPW champion since March of this year defeating Jay Delta and Ricky Reyes in your title defences so far, how did you feel when you won the title and have you got any words for anyone wishing to challenge you in future??

It honestly felt great and rewarding. My family and friends were in attendance to watch me win my first heavyweight championship, so it was a real special night.

For anyone who wants a challenge me, please contact the Victory Pro Wrestling office and let them know you want to put on a show!!

5. You competed for Family Wrestling Entertainment at XIX : Hennigan vs Styles, they cancelled their following events mainly due to piracy of their shows online I believe, what are your thoughts on piracy in Wrestling and promotions like FWE having to cancel events as a result??

Piracy hurts all businesses that rely on media as a main source of income. Media is a huge aspect of wrestling that needs funding. By pirating online wrestling shows, you are preventing that company to grow. This in turn forces promotions shutdown and leaves no entertainment for anyone.

6. On July 18th you are part of the Shane Shamrock Cup Qualifying facing L.I Green, do you have any words for him and what are your thoughts on potentially being part of a tournament in honor of Shane??

Nothing but great things to say about L.I. Green however once the bell rings, we will be at war with each other.

It is a real honor to be a part of and showcased at Maryland Championship Wrestling’s biggest show of the year, the XIV Annual Shane Shamrock Cup!

7. You are coming to the UK in August, who are you working for so far while your over and is there anyone from the UK that you want to wrestle while your over here in the UK??

Currently I have been in contact with PBW, LDN, SWE and PWL in the UK. I would like to wrestle anyone who wants to have a great match.

8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

I want to travel the world and back, doing what I love to do.

In 5 years time, I see myself establishing a long term career in the wrestling industry.

9. Where can readers and promoters find Kai Katana on Social Media and to book you??

Readers can connect with me at www.facebook.com/AAKaiKatana
Twitter: @_KaiKatana
Instagram: Kai Katana
SnapChat: H4MT

10. Any future dates or projects you are currently involved in that you want to plug??

I will be in Europe starting August 18th, please be sure to connect with me on my social media as I will be very active on it during my travels. Hope to see you at a show! Cheers!

Thanks to Kai for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

