Blu-Ray Review – WWE Payback 2015

payback

Welcome to the latest WWE review on #BWR, this time it is the first time I am reviewing a BluRay as opposed to the DVD. There was no DVD copies left so WWE kindly sent me the BluRay copy. Last time I reviewed a WWE DVD it recieved a 5 and I wasn’t enamored with it by any stretch so the fact the next two WWE reviews are PPV’s in this and Elimination Chamber it gives them time to change my opinion.

rollins

ambroserollins

The main event showed why I shouldn’t always write off their PPV’s as the cover suggests it was a Fatal 4 Way between Randy Orton, Seth Rollins, Dean Ambrose and Roman Reigns for the WWE title held by Rollins. Kane would be fired if Rollins lost which of course would never happen as I don’t think WWE will relinquish his title reign for a while at least. The fact that the Shield were in this match gave me as a viewer some great moments and a reminder of the Shield as a team but fighting against each other as opposed to on the same page. This was a great main event which gave the card some life and even if the rest of the card was awful it would get at least a 5.

cena

The undercard had the 100th match in a row it felt like between John Cena and Rusev. It was an I Quit Match which added to the match but again it was just another match between Cena and Rusev that went on too long at around 30 minutes which unlike matches on NXT Specials that intrigue me this just didn’t and to say it was the highlight of the undercard is going a bit too far. Cena defeated Rusev which like Rollins winning was always going to happen but this gladly was the final match between them as the feud with Owens started by the next PPV and me being a big Owens fan makes me happy already going into the review.

cesaropayback

thenewday

Sheamus vs Dolph Ziggler on the other hand continued their feud in a normal singles match which was what I said on the last review that I wanted, it definitely improved on the previous match between the two in the Kiss Me Arse match. The sight of blood was good to see and really made the match better and improved the rating even though Ziggler selling his knee injury dropped it down as it wasn’t a normal match really as a result. The New Day vs Cesaro & Tyson Kidd was pretty good as well and being a huge fan of The New Day it was a good 2 out of 3 falls match even though for a 2 out of 3 falls it was really short and the fact that the New Day dropped the first fall did lose their credibility as tag team champions a tiny bit but overall a good match with my favorite tag team in WWE right now. Bray Wyatt vs Ryback was also good in a match that was simply on the card like the women’s match to fill up time and have a full card. Barrett vs Neville was good compared to the other two matches even though the countout victory isn’t justified as unlike if Owens vs Cena did a countout victory at Elimination Chamber as that would be as it is the first match in the feud while this wasn’t, The Bluray added some special features which are not normally included in the DVD I normally review, these included 3 matches from TV which are good to have to build up before watching the event, Ambrose vs Rollins and Cena vs Neville were good and the promos like alluded to are good build up!

Rating 7 – A good event which wasn’t a ten by any stretch of the imagination but better than Extreme Rules. I am now looking forward to Elimination Chamber to see if WWE can make me stretch to a ten once again after a while without one. The Bluray added to the rating as it added some context to the card as I don’t really watch WWE TV apart from NXT.

I am looking forward to my next WWE review and you can find out when the next one will be by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Finally I would like to thank WWE Home Video and Fetch Publicity for their continued support of myself and my reviews! So please go and Support WWE Home Video : https://www.facebook.com/WWEHomeVideoUK?fref=ts and @WWEHomeVideoUK

Leave a Reply

