Interview – ‘One Man Riot’ Craig Kollins

kollinskollins2

  1. First of all, please introduce yourself to the BWR fans who may or may not know Craig Kollins??

I am ‘The One Man Riot’ or ‘The War Machine’ Craig Kollins. I’m 23 years old from Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria and I made my debut in February 2012.

  1. Did you watch Wrestling growing up and if so which era did you watch wrestling in and as a result who inspired you??

Well, the first time I watched wrestling was at my Nana’s house, she had a load of old WWF video tapes from the 80’s and I just watched them every time I visited her. I started watching it on TV, I grew up watching the attitude era and I’ve watched wrestling ever since. It don’t think it was anyone in particular who inspired me to become a professional wrestler but over the years I’ve been influenced as a performer by a lot of the more intense guys such as Kurt Angle, Eddie Guerrero, Triple H and Taz just to name a few. I’m also influenced by some of the World of Sport Legends such as Skull Murphy and Fit Finlay.

  1. How did you get involved with Wrestling training, where did you train and who would you say had the biggest role in making you the wrestler you are today??

I just finished sixth form college and I decided not to go to university. One day I just sat down and thought to myself that if I seriously wanted to become a professional wrestler, then I needed to be trained properly. So I looked online and found a school in Morecambe, the XWA Academy and I found out that the XWA was ran by Greg Lambert who I already knew from watching FWA on The Wrestling Channel, so I knew that I was going to be in great hands and that this was a reputable school. I remember the exact day of my first session, 7th November 2010, I walked through the door and was met by Dave Rayne, the head trainer at the time. I seemed to pick things up quite quickly and then I was introduced to the other trainer, Johnny Phere. His sessions were intense to say the least and he made you work. It was his intensity and discipline that set the building blocks for me to become the wrestler I am today along with knowledge of Dave Rayne and Greg Lambert himself. It took me 15 months to finally get on an XWA main show and it was a promo I delivered that aided Lamberts decision. It was the last training session before Christmas, I stepped into the ring, I was nervous as I knew this was my shot to prove myself to Greg. I locked my eyes on the camera, stared down the lens and began to speak. My breathing became heavier and I literary began frothing at the mouth as I ended with my catchphrase ‘ I’ll kick your ‘ed in! ‘. I turned to Greg and that’s when he let me know I was going to XWA Goldrush.

  1. On August 15th for PAID Promotions, you face off against Stixx and Joey Hayes in what promises to be a match with huge stakes, if you win Stixx loses his title and Alpha Omega disband, do you have any words for Stixx and Joey and also if you win will the title be going to you or Johnny Phere??

    I’ve faced both Stixx and Joey Hayes before, both in main event title matches so I know what it’s going to take to get the job done and most importantly they know what it’s like to step in the ring with me so I have no words for them…My words are for Johnny Phere. Whoever gets the pinfall or submission is the new Paid Promotions Heavyweight Champion as the title will be coming back to Paid Promotions. Now I respect Phere, I respect him a lot, he trained me after all, but I don’t like him. He’s continued to stick his nose in my business, costing me victories, costing me my title. Whether he did this just because he’s jealous of me taking his spot or if he is just trying to find a way to become relevant again, I don’t know and I don’t care. We do need to work as a team, I understand that, but if he gets in my way, if he gets in my face, if he tries to take the title, I won’t think twice about kicking his head in.

  2. You also work for Grand Pro Wrestling in Wigan and you have been in the title picture there, do you think that this year could be the year that Craig Kollins wins a title in GPW and there is a lot of promotions like GPW and PAID up north do you think this is good for a wrestler like yourself so you get to work for a wide range??

    Yes I faced Bubblegum at Cruel Summer on 24th July for the GPW Heavyweight title. Things didn’t go my way on that night but if get that chance again then I assure you that I won’t let the same thing happen and I’ll become another champion in the North West. Thereare a lot of promotions in the North West at the moment. It is good in a way for wrestlers as there is more chance for us to perform and develop our craft.
  3. Speaking of promotions up North, do you wish to go down south to wrestle more if given the chance and if so who would you want to face down here that you wouldn’t have the chance to up north??

I’d love to wrestle in the South if given the chance. My goal is to breakout and wrestle all over the UK. I’m a brawler and a like a good fight, so  a name from the South that springs to mind is Sha Samuels, we could have a hell of a fight. There is a lot of talent from the Midlands as well who I’d like to mix it up with. Young and hungry guys like myself such as Tyler Bate and ‘The Super Beast’ Dan Maloney. Have you ever wondered who would win out of a Super Beast and a War Machine?

  1. What would you say are your career highlights so far and also what are your thoughts on the current state of British Wrestling??

My career highlights so far include wining the Paid Promotions Title, getting the chance to step in the ring with Doug Williams and my war with Stixx at All or Nothing. I may have lost the title, but I gave everything in that match and I’m proud of what we both did that on that night. Also, a moment I will always remember is wining the Knockout Wrestling Championship in my home town of Barrow-in-Furness in front of my family and friends. I had wrestled a gruelling 30 Minute Iron Man match against the super talented Chris Ridgeway. The score was 2-2, and there was 1 minute left on the clock. I managed to lock on Section 18, my knee bar. The crowd were begging for him to tap out and with 2 seconds to go, I wrenched his knee and he tapped out. The emotion form the crowd was insane, I’d never heard anything like it before.

  1. What are your future ambitions and goals for 2015 and beyond??

    For the rest of 2015 and 2016 as I’ve said before I want to breakout and wrestle more around the UK. I want go as far as I can with wrestling, eventually, the goal for me is WWE.

  2. Where can the readers find Craig Kollins and where can promoters book you??

    Follow me on twitter @CraigKollins. For promoters, please Direct Message me on Twitter, find me on Facebook or contact me by email at craigrichardson@outlook.com

  3. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

    August 15th, Paid Promotions Vendetta. Alpha Omega represented by Stixx and Joey Hayes vs Paid Promotions represented by Johnny Phere and Myself. Winner takes all. Here is an event page.

https://www.facebook.com/events/477566252413260/

https://www.facebook.com/events/477566252413260/

Knockout Wrestling: Revival

Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria

I’ll be defending my Knockout Wrestling Title in my hometown.

https://www.facebook.com/events/814497712005059/

Thanks to The British Wrestling Revival for the interview and thank you to everyone who took the time to read this.

 

Thanks to Craig for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!


One thought on “Interview – ‘One Man Riot’ Craig Kollins

Leave a Reply

