Interview – ‘The Dapper Grappler’ Josh Alden

joshalden joshalden2

Photo Credit : Darren Potts

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Josh, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers and give them a quick summary of yourself as a wrestler?

Thank you for having me sir. My name is ‘The Dapper Grappler’ Josh Alden, the sartorial squire of the squared cirlce.

2. Lets talk about your growing up, did you enjoy watching wrestling growing up or did it start much later and if so, who inspired you to think I am going to become a Wrestler?

My cousin first introduced me to wrestling at a very young age, I was around 3 or 4 years old at the time. We used to sit and watch the WWF videos from the late 80’s and early 90’s. I would borrow them off him each time ai visited and would watch them religiously.
My two favourites growing were Shawn Michaels and Steve Austin (both still are to this day).

3. How did you get involved with Wrestling training, who were you trained by and what would you say that would sum up the experience training in a couple of words?

The summer of 2012 I came across the UKW training school in Wakefield, which was the closest school to me at the time. During that time MVK Valkabious and Danny Steel were the trainers. I took my first bumps and learnt the basics there. I was hooked straight away and it was a foot in the door for me. I later went on to train at Grapple Wrestling in Leeds before attending Danny Collins wrestling school throughout 2014. I have also trained at NGW under Rampage Brown, Johnny Moss’ School and attended seminars with top UK and international talent around the country.
I am currently training at the PCW Academy in Preston under the likes of T-Bone, Joey Hayes, Bubblegum, Dave Mastiff and many other guest trainers.

I would say that pro wrestling training is definitely not for everyone and I have seen a lot of trainees come and go. I think people don’t realise how much work you have to put in to it. Your cardio has to be on point, you need to work hard at the gym, eat right, invest in your ring gear and take this seriously. It’s not a game.

4. You are known as the Dapper Grappler and have a distinct moustache which I think is great and makes you stand out, did you come up with the nickname and do you think what I say about it making you stand out both nickname and facial hair is true?

I came up with the dapper grappler persona last year in an attempt to make mmyself stand out. For the first couple of years I was just a generic babyface. I like to think that the moustache and my attire help me to stand out from the norm. It’s quite difficult in this day and age to be original and come up with stuff that has not been done before.

5. You make your debut for our friends down at TIDAL Wrestling on September 27th against JD Boom, what are your thoughts on debuting for TIDAL, your opponent and do you have any words for him ahead of your match?

Tidal is a place where I have wanted to work for a while, I was delighted when I was contacted about making my debut at Against All Odds. I have seen some of the lads I have come up with (Liam Lazarus, Dan James, Sean Only) do great things at Tidal and now it’s my turn to step up to the plate and show everyone what I am capable of. As far as JD Boom is concerned he likes to play around and be the comedy act, well on September 27th we’ll see how funny he finds it when I rip that pathetic excuse of a moustache of his face.

6. As far as i’m aware you have been on the Megaslam Wrestling summer camps/shows at places like Pontins which are like All Star and Welsh Wrestling, what are your thoughts on meeting new sets of fans every night and being able to work something like this in the Summer has this been a good experience for yourself?

I have been working shows for Megaslam since earlier in the year and one of my goals for 2015 was to perform on the camp shows. I was given the opportunity to work the camps throughout the summer. I was able to travel round the country and perform in front of some big crowds. We had a great team and I got the chance to work with and learn from guys such as James Mason, CJ Banks and Paul Malen. Overall it was thoroughly enjoyable and a great experience.

7. You are part of an 8 man tournament on Testing Ground weekend for our friends down at UKWE, have you got any words for your opponents and how do you assess your chances based on your other opponents?

I would say I have a good chance of going all the way in the testing ground tournament. I am familiar with all of the other participants so I have a good idea of their strengths and weaknesses.

8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

My goals are to be a regular on the top British shows and to be wrestling full time. I want to be well known on the British circuit and internationally. The dream would be to work for WWE if that opportunity ever presented itself.

9. Where can the readers find the ‘Dapper Grappler’ Josh Alden and where can promoters book you?

The readers can follow me on:

Facebook – www.facebook.com/thedappergrappler

Twitter – @dapper_grappler

Instagram – @dappergrappler

Bookings – dappergrappler90@gmail.com

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug?

Upcoming events you can see ‘The Dapper Grappler’:

UKWE: Testing Ground – Denison Hall, Leeds (Sep 12th & 13th)

Megaslam Wrestling – The Dome, Doncaster (Sep 20th)

Tidal: Against All Odds – Leeds Uni Union (Sep 27th)

Monkey Madness Wrestling – Tang Hall WMC, York (Oct 3rd)

Thanks to Josh for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :


Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival


Twitter : @BritWresRevival


Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog


Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk



And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

