Interview – Slyck Wagner Brown

swbswb2

  1. Welcome to The British Wrestling Revival thank you for your time, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers and give them a quick summary of yourself as a wrestler???

My name is Slyck Wagner Brown (SWB). I was trained by the late World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) legend Killer Kowalski and had the opportunity to travel globally and work for top Independent companies such as NJPW, ROH, 2CW including major organizations such as TNA and WWE.

  1. Lets talk about your growing up, did you enjoy watching wrestling growing up or did it start much later and if so, who inspired you to think I am going to become a Wrestler??

I was born in Kingston Jamaica and there was no pro wrestling on TV there so I never saw pro wrestling until I came to America at age ten. My late uncle George (RIP) and aunt Kay were fanatics and watched pro wrestling on TV every time it was on so one day I overheard them laughing and cheering in the living room so I walked in to see what they were so entertained by and I saw Hulk Hogan and the Ultimate Warrior on the TV; they were building their Wrestle Mania main event program and I was hooked. I never thought about becoming a pro wrestler until I saw pros such as Shawn Michaels, Bret Hart, and Mr. Perfect; they were smaller pro wrestlers that mastered the art of pro wrestling.

  1. You were trained by legend in the business Killer Kowalski who is unfortunately no longer with us, how did you training with him come about, how was the experience and you were appointed head trainer at Kowalski’s school in Boston by the late Kowalski himself where you taught the likes of Eddie Edwards, Roxxi and Sumie Sakai to name but a few, was getting this opportunity a major honor to you and are you glad to be training others and bringing both your in ring talent and Kowalski’s legacy as a trainer??

That’s a loaded question ha-ha, one of my longtime friends named Beau found out about Kowalski’s training school and suggested that we check it out. After watching one class, we knew this was what we wanted to do; but Kowalski (RIP) said we couldn’t train until we were 18 years old. However, we didn’t allow that to discourage us and asked if we could continue watching classes and we did so for the next two years; Kowalski recognized how serious we were and allowed us to start training at age 17 after graduating high school.

Training at Kowalski’s was the best experience anyone could ask for especially a young man such as myself because I was constantly getting into trouble in school and never really focused on anything other than sports and entertainment; I’m talking about amateur wrestling, football, track and field; especially pro wrestling. Kowalski taught us how to be men, respect ourselves and what we do in between those ropes, and taught reality wrestling long before it was cool.

Having the opportunity to train with Kowalski was amazing and being asked to be his head trainer by the man himself was incredible because it confirmed that I had earned his respect. I was glad to be in a position where I could help talented and good people build a solid foundation which they could build upon and achieve success in a tough business. Eddie, Nikki, and Sumie were able to do that and I am so proud and happy for their accomplishments. I am happy to have the opportunity to start my own school and continue the teachings of Kowalski and other important information that I have learned over the past ten plus years as a pro wrestler.

  1. Some of the main promotions you have worked for in your career include WWE, TNA, NJPW and Ring of Honor, how were each one of these experiences to you, was there any point in your career that you were going to join any of these on a permanent basis and do you think experiences like these should be taken to develop someone’s in ring ability in front of a larger crowd??

They were all unbelievable opportunities because I learned multiple things from them; for instance, the WWE experience taught me how to work TV matches in front of 15 thousand plus fans; the TNA experience taught me how to work the TV cameras; the NJPW experience taught me how to work a different style in front of a unique audience which was so much fun; and the ROH experience taught me how to be patient while working in front of a passionate audience. I believe so, but at that point in my career I didn’t have a good understanding of how the business worked outside of the ring so I made a lot of rookie mistakes; for instance, NJPW brought me to Japan after a tryout at their dojo in California. Therefore, I had some days off between training and shows so I decided that it was a good idea to stay busy while I was there by working for Zero One Max not knowing that was career suicide because NJPW may view that as a sign of disrespect.

Having the opportunity to work for all of the companies mentioned above as well as many other quality Independent companies such as 2CW, BTW, and NECW is helpful because if you can connect with a small audience then you will have no problem doing the same in front of a large audience; and there are many examples of this in WWE right now. For instance, Kevin Owens, Daniel Bryan, Seth Rollins, and Sasha Banks are all considered Independent talents that have had no problems connecting with the WWE Universe and I believe that is a credit to their time spent mastering the art of pro wrestling on the Indies.

  1. In your opinion what are your thoughts on the current state of Independent wrestling and who do you reckon could take over your legacy once you have stopped being an active worker??

I love Independent wrestling because it is everything that is right about our business; for instance, you have autonomy, purpose, and mastery because you have the freedom as talent to work whenever and wherever you choose. Additionally, you have the opportunity to create and work on any idea you have without asking multiple individuals for approval. I believe the only thing missing from quality Independent companies are the proper finances to support yourself and a family, but that is changing just ask the Young Bucks. I honestly do not know, but I hope my students can someday take the knowledge I am sharing with them along with the lessons I have learned from the mistakes I have made along the way to achieve success in a major way. Additionally, I hope talented individuals such as Bobby Ocean will continue to stay focused and out of trouble long enough to take advantage of any and all opportunities that comes his way in the next three years to accomplish his dreams and continue to build his own legacy.

  1. You are a two time 2CW Heavyweight Champion, a promotion who shortly will be shutting its doors, what are your favourite matches/moments as part of the promotion and do you think that 2CW will be missed on the independent scene by yourself and other wrestlers and fans??

Some of my favorite matches or moments include a singles match with Samoa Joe in Binghamton, NY; winning the 2CW title for the first time in a four corners match versus John Walters, Antonio Thomas, and Dizzie in Syracuse, NY; and challenging Terry Funk to a match where I would put the 2CW title on the line in Syracuse, NY. I believe 2CW will definitely be missed because to a lot of us it was a place we called home where we were treated like pros and compensated as such. Additionally, it was a place where talents such as Jay Freddie and Sean Carr were able to grow as individuals and make a name for themselves. 2CW brought in the best talents not only so their locker room could get better, but to grow their fan base and show them that they appreciated their support and appreciated the efforts of those in the locker room that busted their asses each and every show. But more importantly, I believe 2CW will be missed because we are family.

  1. Of course the name of this blog is The British Wrestling Revival, you have been over here in the past for All Star as far as I’m aware, what are your thoughts on England as a country and the style of wrestling and do you wish to return to England in the future if given the chance if so who do you have your eye on facing who would really click with your style??

I loved my time in England and appreciate their wrestling style which is mat based. I was born in Jamaica and grew up in Boston so I have some appreciation for old school architecture from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Additionally, the people were friendly and the fans were respectful and supportive of our efforts in between the ropes. I loved working out at the gym there because they were raw so it allowed me to push myself that much more. I would love to return to England in 2016 and may have the opportunity to do so which is very exciting. I would like to test my skills versus UK talents such as Dave Mastiff, Will Ospreay, and Charlie Garrett.

  1. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

I am focused on building the Test of Strength Wrestling brand and delivering the best wrestling and entertainment to live audiences that choose to pay and watch me in person and online. I do not like thinking that far ahead instead I choose to focus on the now and live in the moment. I do not know what the future holds, but I do know that the decisions I make today will definitely have an impact on my future; that is the reason why I decided to create Test of Strength Wrestling and continue my education at Post University.

  1. Where can the readers find Slyck Wagner Brown and where can promoters book you??

Readers and promoters can find me at www.swb4real.com @thisisswb on twitter @swb4real on IG and link up with me on FB and other aforementioned social media sites through my website including email at swb4real@yahoo.com

  1. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

First, I have a new T-shirt coming out “Major Without a Deal” and it is currently available for preorder at http://www.swb4real.com/#!/page_Wrestling-Superstore Second, I will debut on March 19 for Xtreme Wrestling Alliance in West Warwick, RI. Third, I will be returning to Pioneer Valley Pro to fight Brad Hollister for the biggest prize in the company and Finally SWB returns to RPW on Feb 27 in Palmer MA.

Thank you for taking the time to come up with solid questions for this interview. I hope your fans have as much fun reading it as I did completing it. Thanks again.

Thanks to SWB for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

