Interview – Brittany Blake

brittanyblake

  1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Brittany, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers and give them a quick summary of yourself as a wrestler???

I started training at the CZW Academy in May 2013. I know a lot of people didn’t think I would make it just based off my size alone. I broke my leg a few months into training and proved everyone wrong when I came back just a few months later. I kept working hard until I was ready to start wrestling and never really looked back. Since then I just keep continuing to train during the week, wrestle at Dojo Wars every Wednesday (where I currently am defending the Medal of Valor), and travel/wrestle on the weekends. I’ve only been wrestling for about a year and a half now, but I’m extremely proud of what I’ve accomplished in that time. I can’t wait to see where the future takes me.

  1. Lets talk about your growing up, did you enjoy watching wrestling growing up or did it start much later and if so, who inspired you to think I am going to become a Wrestler??

Yes, I started watching wrestling when I was younger, probably around the time the Monday Night Wars started, maybe a few years into it. At the time, my parents had just split and my dad had my brother and me on Sunday and Monday nights. We used to watch wrestling all together. As my brother and I got older, we started watching it on our own, and then usually would use the bunk bed to jump off the ladder and recreate moves we shouldn’t have even though they always said “don’t try this at home” lol. My favorites were always the Hardy Boyz and Lita. I was always a fan of Eddie Guerrero, Stone Cold, and Edge and Christian too.

  1. You were trained at the CZW Dojo, who had a hand in training you there, how was the experience and would you recommend it to potential wrestlers wanting to find a training school??

One thing I love about CZW is the diversity. We constantly have international talent coming in for seminars, or they’ll train at the dojo while they’re in the area. The head trainers are DJ Hyde and Drew Gulak, who have probably helped me out the most. In the three years I’ve been there, guys like Masada, Sozio, Joe Gacy, and Christina Von Eerie have also helped out with training.

The experience definitely wasn’t, and still isn’t easy, but I love it. There’s such diversity in the training styles that there’s no way to not be well rounded as a trainee. I’m now three years in and still go and learn as much as possible. I would absolutely recommend the CZW Dojo to potential wrestlers. It’s not easy, and sometimes the trainers can be really hard on you, but I wouldn’t trade a second of it. The try out to become a CZW trainee is free, which is another major plus for anyone that is thinking of training at CZW.

  1. Last year you reached the semi-final of the Super 8 Chickfight tournament losing to Deonna Purrazzo the eventual winner in your first year in the tournament I believe, are you eager as a result to return this year and win the tournament after getting to the semi’s last year and what was the experience like for yourself to wrestle in a one night tournament??

That was the third tournament I’ve ever been in, but it’s the first that was all in one night. It was a new challenge that I took head on. I would love the opportunity to do it again. Deonna always challenges me in the ring, so I really can’t be that bummed about losing to her in the semi-finals. I can only get better from here. Who knows, maybe I’ll make it to the finals and win next year if I’m there.

  1. You are the current CZW Medal of Valor title as of time of writing beating Conor Claxton to win this, how did it feel to win this title and do you think this sends out a message to the rest of the CZW roster and other wrestlers on the Independent scene that you are a force to be reckoned with this year??

I’m not sure I can fully explain in words what it felt like to win that title. As confident as I am in my abilities, I think it’s safe to say I was beyond shocked when I made Conor tap out for final fall. Not only is he a guy that is easily twice my size, but he’s known as a “deathmatch guy” in CZW. He didn’t take it easy on me either. From getting dropped on my head on a chair to the outside, to getting kicked so hard in the face that I was busted open, he treated me no differently than he would anyone else in that ring. I couldn’t ask for anything more than that. I don’t care that I’m a 5 foot nothing girl. I’m a wrestler, so to be treated with the same respect as any other guy that he would wrestle, meant a lot to me.

I think that match ultimately was what earned my spot in the Best of the Best qualifier scramble later that night during Cage of Death. Granted, I didn’t win the scramble, but I proved that I can hold my own in that ring with six talented guys. If that night didn’t wake up the indy scene that I’m a force to be reckoned with in 2016, they’re in for a rude awakening.

  1. Women’s Wrestling seems to be getting better and better at the minute with it being seen in a better light than it has been previously as a toilet break match, what are your thoughts on the current state of women’s wrestling and do you think that it will consider to get better and better in 2016 and beyond ??

I think women’s wrestling has been kicking ass for years. There are plenty of talented and well deserving women that have been killing it for years. I’m not sure exactly what put it under more of a spotlight, but I’m glad that that it is. It’s a shame that circumstances put women’s matches in that “bathroom break” stereotype, but I think the past year has been really eye opening and is motivating the women to step their game up. I definitely think it’ll be better this year and going forward. How can it not?

  1. Of course the name of this blog is TheBritishWrestlingRevival, would you consider coming over to the UK if given the chance in the future and if so have you got anyone in mind that you would want to face??

Well I do have a passport now *hint hint* lol…but in all seriousness, I would love to come to the UK. I want to travel and learn and improve as much as possible. There are a few people I would love to face, but I think it’s safe to say that Saraya Knight is at the top of that list. When I first started training, I broke my leg and she was helping out with training at the CZW Academy for a few days. Even though my leg was broken, I still went, just so I could learn as much as possible. She was extremely encouraging. I already looked up to her, but I never had the opportunity to get in the ring with her. I know I would be asking for an ass beating, but I would love to face her.

  1. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time?? 

I always set such high expectations for myself, and of course there are places I’d love to end up working, but within the next 5 years, I plan on traveling more and as much as possible. Japan, the UK, Mexico, and anywhere else I can go. Even within the US, I have my sights set on Shine and Shimmer. Who knows…I’m open to whatever the future holds for me.

  1. Where can the readers find Brittany Blake and where can promoters book you??

The best way to get a hold of me is probably email me at brittanyblakebookings@gmail.com

Finding me on Facebook at Brittany Blake also works.

And when all else fails I can be found on Twitter @brittanyblake_ and Instagram @thebrittanyblake

  1. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

I know we’re only a few weeks into 2016, but I already have big things planned. I’m usually really good about posting what I have coming up on Facebook and Twitter, so just make sure to follow me there for constant updates. I have quite a few shows between now and February, but the next big show to pay attention to will be the WSU/CZW double header on February 13. For the WSU half of the show, I’ll be taking on Penelope Ford, who graduated from the CZW Academy the class after mine. As far as the CZW portion, it’s the anniversary show, so you never know what could happen! 

Thanks to Brittany for taking part in this interview and taking time out of her schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support her on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

