Interview – Ryan Hendricks

12665605_510974085743855_1294399435_n

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Ryan, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers and give them a quick summary of yourself as a wrestler???

Aloha Readers, and also thanks to BWR for the invite. I am The Vegan Prince, Ryan Hendricks, and since I love the eccentric, wonderful world of pro wrestling, I thought I’d wake that dream into reality and become a warrior of the ring myself. It’s been super fun so far, but the Ryan Hendricks Experience is only just beginning so the best is yet to come! Also, a fun little fact: I’m undefeated in Ultimate-X matches.

2. Lets talk about your growing up, did you enjoy watching wrestling growing up or did it start much later and if so, who inspired you to think I am going to become a Wrestler??

I never really watched Wrestling whilst growing up, but I did see glimpses now and then that I fondly remember, such as Ultimate Warrior screaming at Hogan, and Meng getting pepper-sprayed by countless security because he refused to release the Tongan death grip! I But it wasn’t until I played Smackdown 2 at my pal’s house, where Rikishi got thrown into a moving car and then Scotty 2 Hotty hit the worm which fully caught my fascination. So then I watched WWF around the road to the 2001 Rumble, and I saw Godfather defeat Funaki, before dancing about with his Hoes, and that’s when I knew what my calling in life was.

Plus Y2J, the Hardy Boyz and Edge inspired me during the proceeding years to come.

3. How did you get involved with Wrestling training, who trained you, how was this experience and if you could have been trained by any one else or even do a seminar with dead or alive when you started off wrestling who would it be and why would it have helped you as a wrestler??

Well Once upon a time inside an FSM magazine I noticed that StarPower Training was running a Wrestling seminar in Manchester, hosted by none other than the Notorious K.I.D – Kid Kash himself!! So I jumped at the chance to learn from the Cruiserweight wrestling legend, but I wouldn’t be jumping afterwards… infact I could barely walk after surviving such an intense and gruelling two-week bootcamp! But my burning passion and desire to succeed, combined with a magic apple, would pull me through and when all the dust settled, I had gained the best foundation to start off my Pro Wrestling Journey – And then I would continue to train under the guidance of Futureshock, (and later RevPro, with a hint of PBW), until my very debut. And I give thanks to all those who guided me towards that point. And if I could do a training Seminar with any wrestler of all time, It’d either be Raven or New Jack.

4. Your brother is also a wrestler on the UK scene known as Josh Bodom, you and Josh entered the 2nd Team Single Open Challenge which teams entered via YouTube videos and you ended up winning the competition and went to face them albeit in a losing effort, what are your thoughts on this experience and if given the chance would you want another shot/extended run in PCW with Josh ??

Well, I don’t know if it was really a loosing effort anymore than Bret Hart tapping out to Shawn Michaels at 1997 Survivor Series was a legit loss. But the Preston City Screwjob was a life lesson that will strengthen our character, respect, and quest to better ourselves, and besides, I see the positives in every scenario, so it’s all cool with me.

And yeah, I’d love to return to PCW, it’s a really fun place with such a unique roster when you really look at it, and personally I’m a big fan of the Stallion & Lambert announcing combo (especially when they’re calling my matches).

5. You wrestle for one of my affiliates SouthCoast Wrestling who are a relatively new promotion, how is it wrestling in front of a home crowd and do you think that there should be more promotions popping up in this area as there is certain areas that are overpopulated especially up North??

SouthCoast is certainly one of my favourite places to wrestle for! Always a cool atmosphere and I’d say it’s like the UK’s equivalent of NXT, putting out great quality wrestling action, whilst also highlighting the best and fresh rising talent on the scene today! Hence why on 20th February, in New Milton, it’s going to be one of the best shows to date, no doubt.

And I think the Southcoast scene is pretty perfect as it is just now for your wrestling fix. You don’t want an area to be too heavily saturated with loads of competing promotions or it’ll burn out the novelty factor and dry up the fans bank accounts. Just like a Vegan diet, it’s all about having a healthy and considerate balance.

6. You have wrestled a lot since 2013 for Revolution Pro based up in the London area who are known as one of the best promotions in the UK today, how is it working for them and you have not wrestled in York Hall their marquee venue yet, is wrestling there one of your main goals for 2016??

Now, you say they’re one of the best promotions in the UK today, but personally I’d say RevPro is The Best promotion in Europe. But that’s just my humble, honest and 100% correct opinion. And I do enjoy wrestling there, they’ve given me the opportunity to wrestle some of the best talents in the UK today! I’m talking great opponents like Jimmy Havoc, Marty Scurll, Josh Bodom and Kenneth Halfpenny, just to name a few!

But about the York Hall shows, well, that’s like the Europe equivalent of WrestleMania right there, and only the finest get to compete on that level. In my minds eye, I can totally envision myself there one glorious day, but until then I’ve got to step up my game big time, and keep rocking the Ryan Hendricks Experience until the time is right.

7. You wrestle up and down the country looking at your match record, is it good to be able to get up and down the country to wrestle different people instead of just sticking in one area and wrestling the same wrestlers each show and is there anyone you still want to wrestle that you haven’t stepped in the ring with yet??

I feel at one with the nomadic lifestyle, so it’s always a thrill blazing trails to new territories and encountering new characters as it adds a totally unique experience to game. So there’s still alot more places to explore and the particular people I’d love to wrestle would be:- Noam Dar, Grado, Lou King Sharp (notice a pattern there?), Soner Durson, Zack Sabre Jr, Zack Sabre Senior, Ryan Smile, Will Ospreay, Jack Gallagher & Evan Sarven. There’s loads more, but that’s the first ten that sprung to mind.

8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

I’ll list five future ambitions I’d like to accomplish during the course of the next five years, so that the journey itself is the destination…

-First of all, I’d like to regain the Futureshock Tag Team Championships, which is my main goal and focus at the present moment. Just like the latest episode of Futureshock Access on Youtube claims, there’s gonna be an Uprising for TassleMania, let me tell you!

– Secondly, I’d love to become the One-to-Watch Champion for SouthCoast Wrestling! That’s when you know you’ve really made it.

– Thirdly, to become the undisputed British Cruiserweight Champion! The legacy and prestige of this title is the stuff dreams are made of.

– Fourthly, to Fake my retirement as to generate loads of money on tickets and merch sales, then only to return to plug an inspirational second run to make more money, and when that novelty grows old I’ll fake my own death to make even more money, and when people start to forget about that I’ll return as Zombie Hendricks on a Halloween Special show and then I’ll be king of the Indies! (Plus ALL the money would go towards making the planet a better and more sustainable place, to aid the people/animals/causes who truly need it. Chris Kanyon once said it best: Be the change you want to see in this world. And Who’s better than Kanyon?)

– And finally, and most importantly, to reach the pinnacle of BritWres success – To Wrestle on the grandest stage of them all – York Hall, Bethnal Green, of course!

So those are my Wrestling goals, in no particular order.

9. Where can the readers find Ryan Hendricks and where can promoters book you??

Nobody can really find me, because I’m always on the move, and Promoters can book me in whichever venue they see fit to hire. And if they should so desire, I can be found on facebook as – Ryan Hendricks Bobcat. (yes, that’s my spirit animal, by the way.)

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

Yup, I’m wrestling on the 20th February for SouthCoast Wrestling, in a Triple Threat Encounter that will certainly highlight me at my very best:- Against Kelly Sixx and the Moonsault King, Jake McCluskey (whose easily ranks in my top 5 favourite opponents list).

This’ll be pretty epic, think along the lines of Samoa Joe .vs. AJ Styles .vs. Chris Daniels from 2005.

Plus Futureshock, PBW and RevPro are near and dear to my heart, so go give them a gander. Thanks again for letting me ramble, BWR. Peace & love be with you all. ☯

Thanks to Ryan for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Shop : http://www.thebritishwrestlingrevival.spreadshirt.co.uk

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

 

Leave a Reply

