Interview – ‘The Ugandan Warrior’ Nsereko

nsereko.jpg

Photo Credit : Darren Potts

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog, thank you for taking time out to answer these questions, first of all please give the readers a brief introduction to ‘The Ugandan Warrior’ Nsereko??

Eh, Asante, thank you very much for you contacting me for this. It’s in the Name eh Ugandan Warrior. I was born in Kampala Uganda, part of the Buganda Tribe my name in short Nsereko! Children in Uganda are given tribal names by the way. I lived in East Africa for most of my childhood learning many things that have developed me into the man you see today, I also have relatives living in Yorkshire England, I think this is the perfect mix, you agree? Currently living with my cousin Kenzo Agogo in Leeds UK, West Yorkshire as I learn Pro Wrestling.

2. Let’s talk quickly about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling as a child and if so which wrestlers really inspired you to go down the path of training to become a wrestler??

Traditional Wrestling in Buganda is called “Kigwo Kiganda” Kigwo means fall, this is very different from what I see in UK. My first ever memory of pro wrestling is taking some VHS tapes back to Nairobi Kenya, of a man called Kerry Von Erich I had to show my friends the Iron Claw! Also my brother who was older and studied in UK watched the WWF and had the action figures these were warriors, I later then went to Sheffield Town Hall to watch wrestling but was very young I remember struggling to see the wrestling in the ring as I was small but was stood ready to fight if they came near. Later in a house in UK I found this TV Cable, where I sat and watched for hours the names coming to mind that I pretended to be when visiting UK when young was D Lo Brown, The Rock & Triple H.

I have to mention seeing Kamala The Ugandan Giant on TV! I for a long time used to sit thinking how did Kamala get from Uganda to TV in UK, my elders told me they will look into this I was confused for many years.

3. Next up lets speak about Training, how did you get involved in wrestling training, who had a hand in this and would you say that you enjoyed the experience?

I enjoy training I enjoy the athleticism eh, I found out that they were trainers in UK that I feel are the best wrestlers in the world so would be great place for me to start as I have family in UK I moved here to get training, very lucky to have Marty Jones & El Ligero the main trainers at Grapple Wrestling who I train with at Fight Science in Leeds, I recommend this. I also train at as many seminars I can get to it cost many shillings but great experience for the Kampala Guy, always looking to improve.

4. You wrestle for Grapple Wrestling and you were recently part of the Marty Jones Invitational Tournament losing to RJ McKenzie a BWR alumni I believe in the 1st round, what are your thoughts on losing to RJ in the first round and Grapple as a promotion??

Leh, Grapple wrestling is my home in British Wrestling, I met Mr Paul in early days he picked me up from Leeds/Bradford Airport to train here, I will always be a part of Grapple Wrestling “The goat eats the grass where it is tied” Kenzo told me. After putting in the time and effort I became Grapple Wrestling Champion that is great honour for me. Along with this I received email that I have been chosen to be part of the Marty Jones Invitational Tournament this was also great honour for me, unfortunately knocked out in the first round, RJ McKenzie is great warrior but I hear he used unusual tactics but they say “Ashes fly back into the face of him who throws them” and the eventual winner Hot Blooded Dom Black eh good man, Marty Jones himself calling me out to make sure the final was a clean fight, this is good for Grapple.

5. You wrestle for one of my main affiliates in TIDAL Wrestling who I mainly know you from, what are your thoughts on the rise of TIDAL over the past 12 months or so and is one of your main goals for this year to challenge for the Open or Heavyweight title in TIDAL??

Woy TIDAL Wrestling have been good to me, they are good people treating me good. They see I was wrestling in local places so last minute fight with Jack Gallagher, oyoyo what a Warrior, great challenge to wrestle away from my home this is what is needed for me to improve here in UK, wrestlers I have seen on this show are some of the greatest all Local people should get out to support these local shows as I see how much they put on the line to perform. Main goal for me at TIDAL is to deliver when given opportunity here, if the elders and my success in the ring get to me a chance of a belt I will do my best to make Uganda Proud.

6. You wrestle for Megaslam I believe a touring promotion akin to All Star, what are your thoughts on the touring environment and do you think that wrestling in this different style of shows improves you as a wrestler considering you are wrestling most nights of the week??

Seen, yes I have worked for Megaslam wrestling now in UK they have helped me to see parts of the UK I thought I would never see!.. I have locked horns with one of my favourite opponents here Mr Pumpkin he is always shouting at UK Peoples but I think he will come around after a few more hits on his head, this has been great experience to tell my family back home. Wrestling every day is a dream for wrestlers and I have had small taste of this now being able to wrestle more regular with companies like Megaslam. They put on great shows around the country probably near you, you should go to this maybe see me flying head first eh!

7. Of course as your name suggests you are from Uganda, are you proud to represent Uganda over here in the UK and is it good for you to come over here and learn from the best??

I am very proud to have been born in Uganda. My Family in Uganda/UK went through a lot to ensure I had the education and opportunities needed to have a good go at it here! I have had the pleasure to train under British Legends Marty Jones, Johnny Saint, Danny Collins & Dave Taylor. Also Training with wrestlers in UK Rampage, T Bone, Bubblegum, El Ligero, Dave Mastiff to name a few there are many more that have inspired me along the way.

8. What would you say are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

5 Years is a long way away, You learn how to cut down trees by cutting them down. So I will continue to Wrestle Wrestle Wrestle and see where this road will take me. The aim is to one day yes be a known name in the UK Wrestling and see where this goes, I feel Uganda & Africa as a whole has unfinished business in professional wrestling.

9. As the interview draws to a close, where can the readers find ‘The Ugandan Warrior’ Nsereko on social media and how can promoters get in contact with you about potential bookings??

This guy, good question this I feel. I tweet @UgandanWarrior also complete FaceBook “Ugandan Warrior” I take pictures on Instagram “UGWarrior” and soon more videos now on YouTube as Ugandan Warrior.

10. Have you got any future projects/dates you wish to plug, if so the floor is yours to do so??

Grapple Wrestling www.wrestlinginleeds.co.uk tickets available by the way. 30 Apr 2016, Low Moor Club, Bradford, BD12 0TQ 7 May 2016, Leeds Live Arts Bistro, Regent Street, Leeds, LS2 7QA

I will be at HOPE Wrestling – Underwood Miners Welfare NG16 5GA, April 9th, keep your eyes out for Megaslam & TIDAL Wrestling posters/post I may be there you know.

Thanks to Nsereko for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media and there will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

