Interview – ‘The Arabian Superstar’ Hakeem Waqur

13059380_1065512556864455_302138119_n

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival cheers for the opportunity to interview you, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers and give them a quick summary of yourself as a wrestler???

I am the Arab & Middle-Eastern Pro-Wrestler, The Arabian Superstar – Hakeem Waqur. Until now I have wrestled in The Holy Land in The Middle-East, Germany, Austria, Belgium & France, Switzerland and in The UK ( England, Wales and Scotland).

2. Lets talk about your growing up, did you enjoy watching wrestling growing up or did it start much later and if so, who inspired you to think I am going to become a Wrestler??

I grew up in the Palestinian city Taybeh ..a city which is located in the green line in Israel..so i am Palestinian & Arab-Israeli..and I live in Germany for 12 years now.. 

I started watching Wrestling on TV when i was a child..maybe with 5-6 years old..still remember the times and the begin of the 90’s when i was watching the WWF(WWE) on “The Middle-East Channel” on Saturdays.
 
Alot of superstars were an inspiration to me as a child specially..Ultimate Warrior,Shawn Michaels, Bret Hart, Undertaker ,Hulk Hogan, Razor Ramon , Kerry Von Erich and Big Boss Man..now the one who made me go to Wrestling School is Hulk Hogan!

3. How did you get involved with Wrestling training, who trained you, how was this experience and if you could have been trained by any one else or even do a seminar with dead or alive when you started off wrestling who would it be and why would it have helped you as a wrestler ??

I was trained by Steve Wright & Alex Wright, Murat Bosporus ,Gypsy The Legendary John Kenny and I had Pro Wrestling Training in The All Star Wrestling School in the UK during my tours there for All Star Wrestling. 

in 2004 i came to Germany to study and few years later i looked for Wrestling School because it lacks in Wrestling Schools in the region where i come from..thats how i got involved in wrestling and in 2012 i had my first match.
 
Of course iam blessed and its awesome&once a life experience no doubt about it and i would never change it for anything else in life despite of all the sacrifices that i still make since years..!
 
Its difficult to say how it would be if i where somewhere else or if somebody else trained me..but sure i would do the same specially in order to make a name for Arab-&Muslim world&The Middle-East in Sports.

4. Before you came over to the UK recently you lost in an GWF Berlin Title match in SWE against Chris Colen, when you return from the UK are you going to go after that title again and if so do you have any words for Chris??

Well it was in May 2015 and the summer 2015 in the UK for ASW too before the GWF title match in Dec. 2015 against Chris Colen in SWE in Switzerland..Yes sure! I would look forward to the Rematch, definitely!!

5. You wrestle for Power of Wrestling over in Germany and I believe you competed in a Halloween Costume four corners match late last year, was this a bizarre experience for you and what did you dress as in the match??

The Halloween Costume 4 corners match was last Oct. 2015 in the POW yes and it was an awesome experience!! Still can hear the crowd until this day how they went crazy when i came out with the traditional German&Bavarian Lederhose( leather breeches). The people loved it!! But again that was for one night only.

6. You are from Israel I believe, is there any sort of Wrestling scene over there and would you say you had to move to countries such as Germany/UK etc to get the training to become a proper wrestler??

Well unfortunately rarely in the middle-east! I moved to Germany when I was 20 in order to study and few years later I searched & found a Wrestling School then I decided to put my studies on hold and had to change my residence status(Visa) so I could be able to work and fund all of that… in 2012 i had my first match.

7. Of course the name of the blog is TheBritishWrestlingRevival, you have been wrestling for a touring promotion over here in All Star, how did it come about, how has your experience been so far and who would you say has been the best wrestler you have faced while over here??

Best Wrestler no doubt about it is James Mason..well i contacted All Star Wrestling last year and they invited me for tryout week..and since then I work for them often in the UK. England is the best place to be for Wrestling in Europe and to make&learn the best experience as Pro-Wrestler!

8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

Can’t say where I am going to be in few years lets see how thing are going to develop..ambitions? To make it for the arab-& muslim world & middle-east in Sports Entertainment!

9. Where can the readers find ‘The Arabian Superstar’ Hakeem Waqur and where can promoters book you??

Well its easy to find me on social media on Instagram, Twitter & Facebook under the name The Arabian Superstar – Hakeem Waqur and promoters from everywhere can book me for everywhere sure.

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

Well just follow me guys..a lot more to come and I’ll keep you updated..stay tuned!

Thanks to Hakeem for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media! There will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

