Interview – ‘Powerbomb Proof’ Fred Yehi

yehi

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Fred, cheers for taking time out to answer these questions, first of all please could you give a brief introduction to the readers about yourself and your wrestling career so far??

I’m Fred Yehi. My career is still a young one lol. 4 years 5 months in the business and loving it. From Waterloo Iowa by way of Daytona Beach FL, currently in Atlanta Georgia.

2. Let’s speak briefly about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling growing up or was it later on in life and who would you say inspired you both in wrestling and out of it to become one??

I always watched wrestling since I could remember. It was almost religion for a long time lol. There wasn’t a wrestler who necessarily inspired me to wrestle but positive influences from a nurturing Mother among other relatives and small yet awesome support cast of friends was more than enough to steer me into chasing my dream.

3. Speaking of becoming a wrestler, how did you get involved in wrestling training, who had a hand in this and would you say that you enjoyed the experience??

I was trained in Atlanta GA at a promotion called PCW. I trained under Jay Fury and Steve Scarborough in mid-late 2011, debuted in PCW early 2012. Training was fun. I honestly had to make it fun since I felt at the time wrestling was all I had going for me. I had just honourably discharged from the Air Force, was looking for work, trying to live on my own, and life was kinda crappy. I had good trainers however and made some cool friendships during that time.

4. You wrestle for EVOLVE which has got you the opportunity to face T.J Perkins a BWR alumni for a spot in the WWE Global Cruiserweight Series, are you looking forward to maybe getting your chance on the big stage and what are your thoughts on your opponent, TJ??

I feel honoured to face T.J.P along with the high stakes that comes with it. T.J is a 15 year vet and I look forward to gracing the ring with him.

5. Another part of the WWN is FIP, your are now the Number 1 contender I believe for the FIP World Heavyweight title held by Caleb Konley, how would it feel to win the title and do you have any words for Caleb ahead of a match in the future??

Winning the FIP title would be a major feather in the cap. Guys like Roderick Strong among others have held that very title so the lineage is very strong. Caleb Konley just signed with TNA and is deserving of all the success coming to him. The fact that he has held the FIP title for nearly a year is one example of why he’s great. However, I’m on the rise looking to make a name and take claim. May 27th, I’m claiming the FIP title and I’m prepped for the war that’s pending to ensue.

6. You made your Tier-1 Wrestling debut last month in a losing effort to Darius Carter, what are your thoughts on your first time working with the promotion and your opponent and would you say that you would like to return in future if given the chance to??

Tier 1 is great work environment with an awesome fan base and has a hardworking locker room. I have no regrets or hard feelings in my losing effort against Darius Carter. He was a step ahead in the end and unfortunately I paid for it. Is what it is. I will be returning to Tier 1 in July hopefully with the FIP title in my gear bag.

7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, do you want to come over here in the future if given the chance and if so is there anyone you would have your eye on to face??

I would love to wrestle in the UK. I respect the British style of Catch. It’s like watching art in motion. Guys like Sabre Jr, Marty Scurll, Flash Morgan, and Doug Williams would be on my hit list if I could pick and choose an opponent on British soil.

8. What are your future ambitions and where do you see yourself in roughly 5 years time??

World travel whether it be wrestling related or not is an ambition of mine. If I’m blessed to still be a part of this wonderful business 5 years from now, I’d like to be a world traveled grappler. I want to hit all the major wrestling powerhouses in the world. Of course make a lot of money too lol. Yeah 5x!!!!!

9-10. Where can the readers find/follow Fred Yehi on social media and how can promoters get hold of you for potential bookings and Finally have you got any future dates and/or projects you wish to plug to the readers and have you got a message for those people reading this who have either supported you up to now or have only just started??

Check me out on my YouTube BACW Wrestling, Indie Wrestling Channel (also on Roku ). Facebook ( Fred Yehi ). Evolve Wrestling, FIP, WWA4, WWN network, Thank you all for your support!!!!! Yeah 5x!!!!!

Thanks to Fred for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media! There will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

