Interview – Alex Daniels

daniels

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Alex, cheers for taking time out to answer these questions, first of all please could you give a brief introduction to the readers about yourself and your wrestling career so far??

Thank you for having me! My name is Alex Daniels and I’m a professional wrestler from Cleveland, Ohio. I’ve graduated two wrestling schools but I’m mainly trained by Johnny Gargano. I’ve been wrestling for about 3 years and have worked with people such as Candice LeRae, Samoa Joe, Ethan Carter the Third, Raymond Rowe, DJ Z, Andrew Everett, Cedric Alexander, The Young Bucks and many others.
 
2. Let’s speak briefly about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling growing up or was it later on in life and who would you say inspired you both in wrestling and out of it to become one??
I did not grow up watching wrestling but I believe I was slightly aware of it as I believe my father was a closet wrestling fan. But my first memory of watching wrestling was when I was in 8th grade. I was home alone on a Friday night flipping through the channels and Friday Night Smackdown came on. The match was Jeff Hardy vs Edge I believe in a rematch for the WWE Championship. Matt Hardy came out with a chair and cost Jeff the match. Seeing all this happen made me instantly hooked. I soon found out my best friend, Joshua Singh, was also a huge fan and we soon decided that right after highschool we would start training together. In wrestling, Edge was the one who inspired me to be a wrestler. I enjoyed his matches and the story of him becoming a wrestler and it made me want to follow a similar path. Out of wrestling, I’d say my parents and also Josh.
3. Speaking of becoming a wrestler, how did you get involved in wrestling training, who had a hand in this and would you say that you enjoyed the experience??  
After highschool, Josh and I searched for a school in the Northern Ohio area. We were fans of AIW before we started training and we heard they were opening up a school. Unfortunately it fell through the first time and I’m not sure why. We then found Mega Championship Wrestling located in Elyria Ohio, we trained and graduated from there in about 9 months. After that we found out the AIW school was opening so we went there next. Both experiences were very fun and memorable, but also tough and stressful. Working a full time job, going to the gym 4-5 times a week, training twice a week, dieting, going to shows to help out and showing your face, etc. was all very overwhelming at first, but I believe if you truly love something, it’s all worth it in the long run.
4. You recently became AIW Intense Champion defeating Jerry, Britt Baker, BJ Whitmer, Frankie Flynn and Joshua Singh, how did it feel to win the title, when is your next defence and what are your thoughts on AIW as a promotion??
Knowing that people the likes of former WWE champion, Seth Rollins, and current NXT Star, Johhny Gargano, held this title, it made the win so much bigger and so much more meaningful. As for my next defense, I’m guessing it will take place at AIW’s event in June “What’s in the basement, Klopek?” taking place on the 17th. AIW has always been a second home to me. I still train there every week and help set up at every show. They have given me more opportunities to work with big name talent and a chance to truly show what I can do more than any other place. I can never repay them for that.  

6. You recently made your IWA : East Coast debut vs future BWR interviewee Facade, what were your thoughts on your debut and opponent and do you want to return if possible in the future??
Facade was a guy I used to watch live on Pro Wrestling Ohio before I started training, so finally getting a chance to wrestle him was great. I was very happy with my debut, the fans were great and very receptive to us. Yes I’d love to return.
7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, do you want to come over here in the future if given the chance and if so is there anyone you would have your eye on to face??
I would absolutely love to come over there. There’s a lot of guys I’ve seen take the main stage I’d love to wrestle. Guys like Zack Sabre Jr., Tommy End, Marty Scurll, and Will Ospreay.
8. What are your future ambitions and where do you see yourself in roughly 5 years time?? 
There is a lot of room for improvement and many doors to be opened. My plan is to truly find and become the best version of myself. I’d love to travel to more states and countries and create a bigger name for myself. There’s no exact way to tell where I’ll be in 5 years but I’m staying positive and I’m hoping the future is bright and vast.
9. Where can the readers find/follow Alex Daniels on social media and how can promoters get hold of you for potential bookings??
On Twitter and Instagram @AlexDanielsAGD , Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alex.daniels.9421?ref=bookmarks . My email is AGDwrestling@gmail.com
10. Finally have you got any future dates and/or projects you wish to plug to the readers and have you got a message for those people reading this who have either supported you up to now or have only just started??
For anyone who has supported me and/or taken the time the time to buy a ticket, buy a DVD, or simply just watch a match of mine, I thank you!! Thanks for having me on!

Thanks to Alex for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media! There will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

