Interview – ‘The Superstar’ Ashley Dunn

ashleydunn

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Ashley, thank you for taking time out to answer these questions, first of all please introduce yourself to the readers??

Hey there. I am “The Superstar” Ashley Dunn and I come from Bedford in Bedfordshire. I like to do lots of flips and kick. I’ve been wrestling since January of 2016, but there’s more to it, but i’ll explain on that later hopefully.

2. Let’s talk quickly about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling as a child and if so which wrestlers really inspired you to go down the path of training to become a wrestler??

I got into Wrestling in the late 90’s but actually watched WCW on Channel 5 rather than Raw as I didn’t have Sky at the time, so growing up I was big time into Kevin Nash and Jeff Jarrett (for some strange reason)
When it comes to Wrestlers that made me want to train to become a wrestler, I would have to say people like Hayabusa, Jushin Liger and Keiji Mutoh/Great Muta made me want to become a professional wrestler. I absolutely loved their high flying stuff, but still has they strong style element to them.

3. Next up lets speak about Training, how did you get involved in wrestling training, who had a hand in this and would you say that you enjoyed the experience??

Right, I better get something off of my chest before I go any further. I actually started wrestling when I was 13, but not professionally. Basically what I’m saying is that I was a Backyarder. My best mate at the time use to Backyard and he showed me videos and it looked pretty cool, so I got into that.
One of the guys I yarded with went pro training (at a local school that shall not be named) and he took me along to a training session. I will be brutally honest, I hated it. Everyone there was rude as hell and one guy even turned around and said to me “I bet if I clotheslined you hard enough, I could make you backflip without you even trying.” So that was alarm bells. Later on in the session we did a little match and the same guy called for a powerbomb….but to only sit out and drop me on my head, so after that experience I told myself never again.
Many years passed and I eventually stopped yarding and ended up seeing Ospreay at a Southside show, who then convinced me that I should find a training school and get back on wrestling. I was able to find the HOPE school in MK and everything has gone from there.

4. You wrestle for HOPE Wrestling and recently had a great match with NJPW star Will Ospreay at MK, first of all what are your thoughts on the match and also Ospreay had some nice words about you and how you are the future now he is here less and less, would you say this makes you even more motivated to make it happen??

This would have been the second time that myself and Ospreay have wrestled one on one, but this time it was completely different. Last time was for his sub fed RCWA:UG. This time round it was the main event for our local promotion that I had only been training at for 4/5 months.
I absolutely loved the match. Ospreay kicked me to high hell but I honestly wouldn’t have it any other way. The kind words at the end of the match was out of this world. He didn’t have to say nay of them but he did and I really appreciate it.
The bit that really got me was all the feedback I have had since the match. I’ve had a lot of positive feedback from the match and even some tips from some other wrestlers, which I shall be taking on board.
In regards to Ospreay not being here as much, I wish I could fill those shoes but man, those shoes are the biggest shoes I’ve ever seen, but I can only try my hardest and push myself to get to his level.

5. Also you have wrestled the likes of Chris Tyler, Joseph Conners and Ryan Smile for HOPE, is it great for you to get this experience against the best in the UK so early on in your career and is there anybody on the current HOPE roster that you want to face next and why??

As much as I love to face the trainees, I personally feel like I can learn a lot more from the experienced guys. I feel that by facing them I have been able to learn a lot more, that I can then take forward into my next match.
There are so many crazy good guys in HOPE Wrestling that I would love to face, but if I were to pick out one, it would have to be either Pete Dunne or Mark Andrews (he was in KOF, so that counts right?)

6. You are debuting for our friends down at Lincoln Fight Factory Wrestling soon with your opponent not yet named, are you looking forward to debuting for a new promotion and do you have any words for whoever is put in front of you on your debut??

I always love working somewhere new. At first I was incredibly nervous about being somewhere new, but not only that, but with people I’ve never met before. So far my experiences meet new people has been nothing but good. The toughest part I find is trying to get an audience who have never seen you before go get behind you, but I always love a challenge.
For anyone who I’ve never faced before, expect to take a few knees to the face and get dropped On your head a few times 😉

7. What are your thoughts on the current state of British Wrestling and would you say that you are proud to be part of it at the moment??

It’s on fire. I would honestly say that the last time the UK was this hot was back in the FWA days. All you need to do is look at promotions like PWG/CHIKARA/WXW and see all the British talent on it. The fact that I am part of the British scene at the moment is incredible but hopefully I can play a large part in it moving forward.

8. What would you say are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

I would love to wrestle in Japan. That is my ultimate goal in my wrestling career. I know a lot of people want to go to the WWE, I’ve never really been fussed on that (though if I got a call from HHH tomorrow, I would take it) but if I could do at least one tour of Japan, I would be a very happy man.
I would like to hope that in 5 years time I would be travelling around the world wrestling. I would also like to have shifted a fair amount of merchandise, not because of the money, but because I like the fact people are buying something with me on.

9. As the interview draws to a close, where can the readers find ‘The Superstar’ Ashley Dunn on social media and how can promoters get in contact with you about potential bookings??

I have a Facebook page that is facebook/TSAshleyDunn
Instagram – Thesuperstarashleydunn
Twitter – TSAshleyDunn
If you would like to get hold of me for bookings then please email tsashleydunn@hotmail.com

10. Have you got any future projects/dates you wish to plug, if so the floor is yours to do so??

Come and check me out at the next GOOD Wrestling show at Craufurd arms on the 29th July in MK and every HOPE Wrestling south show.
If you would like to see me at your local promotion then go and hassle your promoter to book me.

Thanks to Ashley for taking part in this interview and taking time out of his schedule to complete these, as a thank you please go and support him on social media! There will be more like this coming up only way to find out when they are out is by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival

Twitter : @BritWresRevival

And as always go and support our affiliates by using the dropdown!

Leave a Reply

