Interview – Prince Mustafa Ali

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Mustafa, cheers for taking time out to answer these questions, first of all please could you give a brief introduction to the readers about yourself and your wrestling career so far??

Hello to all the British Wrestling Revival fans. Thanks for having me on here Sam. Well, my name is Prince Mustafa Ali. I am from Chicago, Illinois over in the states. I’ve been wrestling since I was about 16 years old so I have about 13 years in the industry. I’ve wrestled for pretty much every major organization in America.

2. Let’s speak briefly about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling growing up or was it later on in life and who would you say inspired you both in wrestling and out of it to become one??

I actually have vivid memories of my childhood and wrestling. I remember my father watching wrestling and me walking into the room. He would call me over and I would sit with him and was just in awe. I thought it was the coolest thing in the world. I remember wearing my Bret “Hitman” Hart shirt with the pink sunglasses watching wrestling. My father is the sole responsible party for my introduction to wrestling. As far as inspiration, I was a huge Bret Hart fan. As I grew older, I started becoming a fan of the cruiserweight style. Guys like Juvi, Jericho, Guerrero and the Hardy Boyz really caught my attention.

3. Speaking of becoming a wrestler, how did you get involved in wrestling training, who had a hand in this and would you say that you enjoyed the experience??

It’s kind of a weird story. We were doing presentations in class about what we will be when we grow up. I did a presentation on how I would be a professional wrestler. Well some kid in my class told his older brother that I wanted to be a wrestler. He approached me and invited me to their “training facility.” I gladly accepted the invite. When I got there, I was surprised to see a ring set up in barnyard. It was hot, it was smelly, but it was a ring so I gladly jumped in. There were a few guys training there that were wrestling on the independent scene. It was here I got my initial training under the guidance of Kenny Courageous. 

4. You are of course part of the WWE Cruiserweight Classic, how were you contacted about the tournament and were you proud to be part of a field with some of the best in the world??

I had a tryout with WWE back in 2013. I did well but was told they weren’t looking to add any more guys of my size at the moment. Fast forward to 2016 and I get an email asking if I would be interested in a potential project WWE is putting together. After getting so more information on it I was all in. Obviously it’s a huge compliment to be involved in something so ground breaking, with such amazing talent and with the biggest professional wrestling company in the world.

5. Do you think that as a result of the CWC it will get you more recognition and more bookings past your current ones??

I mean if wrestling for the WWE doesn’t get you noticed, what will? It’s already started to happen, actually. A lot of organizations I haven’t wrestled for have been dropping me some lines. We’ll see how it plays out.

6. You are the current Freelance Wrestling and Dreamwave champion which you won before CWC, how did it feel to win both titles and do you have any words for any challengers clipping at your heels after your main stream spotlight??

Freelance Wrestling and Dreamwave Wrestling are very dear to me. I’ve put myself through a lot to help make sure these organizations become a significant player in the Chicago independent scene. Representing both companies as their respective champion is the biggest compliment I could get. Dreamwave puts on some of the most amazing shows with a loaded lineup of stars from the independent scene and WWE/WCW. Freelance Wrestling has the most insane, loud and rowdy fans I’ve ever performed in front of…reminds me of ECW.

7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, do you want to come over here in the future if given the chance and if so is there anyone you would have your eye on to face??

You know I was just talking about this the other day with a friend, I’ve been fortunate enough to be trained in many styles. I’ve gotten trained in American wrestling, strong style, lucha libre…what I’m desperately looking to be trained in next is the British style of wrestling. I find the British style to be the most “intellectual” style of wrestling. I would absolutely love to come overseas and take on the best in British Wrestling. I got to recently watch guys like Noam Darr, Jack Gallagher and Zack Sabre Jr. compete. Would love to dance with any of those lads. I am actually wrestling Marty Scrull for Freelance Wrestling in July.

8. What are your future ambitions and where do you see yourself in roughly 5 years time??

As weird as it sounds, I try not to focus to much on planning my future. I’ve done that my whole life. I’m finally in a position where I’m comfortable, making good money and most importantly of all, happy. What the next five years holds, I don’t know. We’ll see how I do in the Cruiserweight Classic and what develops from it. I believe that will be the turning point.

9. Where can the readers find/follow Prince Mustafa Ali on social media and how can promoters get hold of you for potential bookings??

People should definitely give me a follow. I post all sorts of entertaining nonsense. Twitter is @PrinceAliTruth. Instagram is @PrinceAliTruth. Facebook is Prince Mustafa Ali.

10. Finally have you got any future dates and/or projects you wish to plug to the readers??

Just check out my social media feeds and you’ll see where I’m going to be at. Please, please continue to support me by picking up a t-shirt over at http://www.prowrestlingtees.com/wrestler-t-shirts/prince-mustafa-ali.html

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Mustafa for completing the questions so fast, please go and support him on social media if possible!


If you want to support BWR :

Follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival and also like us on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

