Interview – Dahlia Black

dahlia.jpg

1.Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Dahlia, cheers for taking the time out to answer some questions, first of all please give the readers a quick introduction??

Hey Thanks for having me, my name is Dahlia Black and I’m one half of the south pacific power couple, along side my Partner TK Cooper and we are an inter-gender tag team from New Zealand and we now live and wrestle in the UK.

2. Did you enjoy wrestling growing up or was it something you got into a little later and who would you say mainly inspired you both from watching wrestling and outside of it to become a wrestler??

My Big brother was very much into wrestling while we were growing up, and because he was older he had TV channel rights so I watched Raw and Smack Down whether I liked it or not.

3. How did you get involved in wrestling training as a result, who has had a hand in this and how would you rate the experience that you have had training to become a wrestler??

When my brother was older he started training with a NZ wrestling company and when I was 17 he invited me to come along to training and I new from day one it was something that I could be really good at so here I am living half way around the world trying to make it as far as I can go.

4. You are originally from New Zealand but live in the UK now, what are your thoughts on your time over here so far and who has been your favourite opponent and why??

Wrestling over here is more amazing than I could ever imagined. I had no idea what to expect when I first arrived and my first introduction of UK wrestling was not exactly the best and I almost quit, until Progress took an interest in TK and I and gave us the most incredible opportunities, and we were introduced to even more companies and have met the most amazing talent along the way. My favourite opponent has to be Pollyanna, hands down. Her and I are so evenly matched and we have a very similar feistiness and we have had quite a few matches but every one is different as we learn to read one another and outsmart each other.

5. You are 1/2 of the South Pacific Power Couple with BWR alumni TK Cooper and you mainly wrestle for Progress, what are your thoughts on intergender wrestling and will you and TK be going after the Progress tag shields this year??

Intergender wrestling is something I’m very passionate about and it really helped us stand out and make a name for ourselves because we were the only established wrestling couple on the scene as far as we knew. There are a lot of “wrestling couples” but we are an intergender tag team and we are by each others side for everything and our image is us as a pair. Intergender wrestling most definitely has a place on the wrestling circuit, a lot of people may disagree with me but when it’s done right, it’s incredibly entertaining. Obviously I’m not going to take on Rob Lynch from the Riots but I know my strengths and weaknesses and know when I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. The Tag shields were once a goal, but now that a Progress woman’s belt has been announced I have my sights set on that. As for TK, his aim is the Progress Heavy weight championship and our goal is to become United Kingdoms most influential wrestling power couple in history.

7. What are your thoughts on the current perception of Women’s Wrestling and would you say you are proud to be part of the revolution currently going on in Women’s Wrestling??

I was never a fan of the term “divas revolution” to be honest. Woman’s wrestling is most definitely on the rise but we still have a long way to go. A lot more credit has been given to proclaimed female wresters but there is still a lot of shade being thrown on the division. There is bad wrestling everywhere in the world, not all companies are going to draw 700+ and train their rookies properly, and I think there is a big spot light on just plain awful woman’s wrestling which effects this Woman’s wrestling movement a great deal. There are still a lot of girls who are booked simply for their looks because “It will draw” and that breaks my heart because we all lose when that happens. The best I can do for now is train hard, and prove that I’m not a great woman’s wrestler, but that I am a great WRESTLER and can hold my own along side the rest of the card.

8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in around 2-3 years time??

Unfortunately, TK and I can’t stay here due to our visas ending next year but we are looking in to having an extension or the possibility of getting a passport and a spouse’s visa. If we are unsuccessful we plan to move to another wrestling relevant country such as Australia or Japan. Our goals for now are to become as relevant as possible in the wrestling scene and see what is thrown our way in due course.

9. Where can the readers follow/support Dahlia Black and where can promoters book you for shows??

Find me on facebook on /blahliadack and twitter @blahliadack, THANKS!

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Dahlia for completing the questions for me, please go and support her on social media if possible!

If you want to support BWR :

Follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

