Interview – Curt ‘The Lone Star’ Stallion

  • curtstallion

    1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Curt, thank you very much for your time, please introduce yourself to the readers who may or may not know Curt ‘The Lone Star’ Stallion??

    Hello, British Wrestling Revival and potential readers! Thanks for having me and with that said, let’s begin. For those of you that may not have heard of myself yet, you will. I’m Curt “The Lone Star” Stallion from Crane, Texas, USA. I’ve been wrestling for a couple weeks over 3 years and have had 200+ matches in such places as ROH, ACW, FIP, AAW, Tier1, Marvelous Puroresu USA, IWA:MS, PWX, ECWA, AWE, OSW, VIP, etc. I’ve trained with the current IWGP Intercontinental Champion, “Unbreakable/Big Mike” Michael Elgin, for the past year and 8 months. I dropped everything and moved from Texas to St Louis in January 2015 to further my career through his training after doing a five day camp with him back in July of 2014 while he was ROH world champ. Best decision I’ve ever made.

    2. Let’s talk about growing up, did you get into it later on in your life or earlier and who inspired you would you say to become a wrestler??

    I give all the credit to my life-long friend, Silverback Salcedo (who I also broke into the business with) for getting me hooked on professional wrestling around 2002, I’d say. I was eleven/twelve years old and didn’t necessarily care for it beforehand as my mother wouldn’t allow me to watch it, but once I started, I was hooked. My favorite guy to watch in the ring was Chris Benoit. He made me truly believe. Randy Orton came along and changed my life. I’ve damn near idolized that dude from the time I was thirteen years old. When those two wrestled in the main event at SummerSlam 2004, I was fourteen and it solidified everything. My childish dreams of one day performing at the same level and stage as my two heroes became solidified goals and the rest is history.

    3. You were trained by ROH/NJPW star Michael Elgin, how did you get involved in training with Elgin, what was your training experience like and finally would you recommend his training to prospective new wrestlers??

    I would, without a doubt, recommend Elgin to beginners and well-trained guys, alike. He is a mad scientist when it comes to professional wrestling and can help anybody willing to listen to him. I signed up for a week long camp, as I stated earlier, in July of 2014 and drove 1600 kilometers from Texas to St Louis, Missouri, by myself the night after a show to make it for the first day of the camp. Five days later, fifty hours of in ring training (Monday-Friday, 8AM to 5-6PM), and a spot on the ROH show in San Antonio, Texas, the following November made me decide to drop everything (Seven year relationship, excellent job, etc) and move to St Louis to continue to learn from Elgin. Was it worth it? Absolutely. I wouldn’t have done anything that I have if it weren’t for Michael Elgin’s training. He’s given me the tools necessary to go out and work for excellent promotions all the while popping crowds all over North America. Moving to St Louis also had me living with ACH for a year and training a few times with Kyle O’Reilly as well. Both excellent minds for the business and helped me progress in their own ways.

    4. Speaking of ROH you have wrestled various matches for them over the past year or so, how did this come about and would you say Ring of Honor is where you want to be in the future if the opportunity popped up??

    If you’re a guy at my level and you don’t want to be apart of a promotion as accredited as Ring of Honor, I don’t have anything nice to say to you. I’ve wrestled multiple dark matches for ROH and been apart of the main show three times with such names as Ray Rowe, Hanson, Michael Bennett, Matt Taven, and ACH (who I worked with outside of ROH). One of my current main goals is to be apart of the Top Prospect Tournament as I do believe I have what it takes to compete at that level and beyond. I’ve done two separate ROH camps and I believe those camps are the first initial step in having anything to do with working for ROH, for guys that may be interested in trying to potentially work for them.

    5. You wrestle for Tier 1 Wrestling and when I announced you they had some nice words to say, are you potentially going after Rude Boy Riley’s title if possible in future and if so do you have any words for him??

    Haha Riley is awesome. I actually had pizza with the dude and a few others (like my boys, Team IOU. Hi, fellas) after the last show. Of course, Riley having the Tier1 strap makes him a target, but my sights aren’t necessarily set on him as of this message. I know my place and understand what climbing the proverbial ladder means. I’ll strive to be the best I can be in any promotion and if such an opportunity arises, of course I’m going to take it and dedicate myself towards making another dream a reality.

    6. You are making your debut for Pro Wrestling Freedom on Friday August 12th, are you looking forward to debuting for another promotion and what are your thoughts on your opponent Adrian Armour??

    I always look forward to debuting for a new promotion with a different fan-base than what I’m used to. PWF is no different. I’ve met Adrian Armour a couple times before and have seen him work, as well. He has a lot of heart and loves to punch people in the face. I like to think we’re the same in that aspect. We both look forward to the opportunity to face one another and apparently the boys in the back are just as excited. This one looks to be a match that’s going to be fun for everyone.

    7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, do you want to come over here in the future and if so who would you want to face potentially and why??

    British pro wrestling is on fire right now. There are tons of names coming out of the U.K., in general, whom I would love to share a ring with. If I were fortunate enough to be able to wrestle anywhere overseas, Id only want the best of the best to help test my abilities and push myself to new levels. Guys like Zack Sabre, Jr., Jimmy Havoc, Dave Mastiff, Will Ospreay, El Ligero, Marty Scurll, etc. All these men have reached a level of fame through their abilities I have yet to reach. Though, if given the opportunity, Id love to showcase my ability against any of them while giving the fans something to go absolutely bonkers over.

    8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in around 5 years time??

    My major goals as of now are to compete in the ROH Top Prospect Tournament, wrestle a match in Korakuen Hall in Japan, work in the United Kingdom for at least a month, wrestle Katsuyori Shibata, and if WWE decides to come knocking within that time frame, then of course, go there. I’d personally like to travel and achieve prior goals before shooting directly for the stars, but Id take any offer they gave at this point. Who knows what could be said in five years though? Maybe I’ll already be main eventing WrestleMania by then… haha

    9. Where can the readers find Curt ‘The Lone Star’ Stallion on social media and where can promoters book you??

    Bookings: CurtStallion@gmail.com Twitter: @CurtStallion Facebook: “Curt ‘The Lone Star’ Stallion” Instagram: Curt_Stallion I’m available for direct messages on any of my social media accounts as well, I believe.

    10. Have you got any future dates in the calendar where readers can see you live and have you got any merchandise that the readers can buy??

    As of right now, in terms of merchandise, I sell personalised 8×10’s for $5 (or will trade one for a beer/shot). I have multiple t-shirts are currently available on my friend Kyle Parson’s online store located at https://nerdlyninja.threadless.com/ as well as a few of his own custom designs. Any funds from the purchase of one of my shirts goes directly to me and helps put gas in my car to continue travelling up and down these roads for shows. As for future dates, you can catch me at any of the following: OSW (Texas), PWF (Indiana), Resurgence (Illinois), St Louis Anarchy (Illinois), ACW (Texas), VIP (Texas, PHX (Arizona), PGP (Illinois), Alpha-1 (Canada), SCP (Texas), and PWRevolver (Iowa). Keep an eye out for flyers from any of these promotions to get the who/what/when/where.

    As I wrap this up, Id like to thank BWR for having me and hope to potentially make new contacts in the United Kingdom. I’m ready to take on the world. I just need the opportunity to do so.

     
     I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Curt for completing the questions so fast, please go and support him on social media if possible!If you want to support BWR :

    Follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

 
Leave a Reply

