Interview – ‘The Motivational Merc With The Mouth’ Hustle Malone

hustlemalone

Photo Credit : Brett Hadley Photography

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog, thank you for your time please introduce Hustle Malone to the readers??

Hustle Malone, in short, is a corrupt Charles Manson-esque Motivational Speaker. He’s dark, direct, brash and loves nothing more than getting your f***ing attention.

Hustle, Chase Williams and Danny Mayhem make up “Motivationed and Dangerous”, otherwise known as Team M.A.D and have been cutting promos, booting heads and making an impact since November last year.

2. Let’s talk quickly about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling as a child and if so which wrestlers really inspired you to go down the path of training to become a wrestler??

Been a Wrestling fan since I was a kid, of course, but the first person to really make an impact on me was Steve Austin. I remember vividly the story of him coming back and questioning who ran him over, and he immediately struck me as someone who wouldn’t back down and did whatever he wanted.

The Undertaker was probably the other. Someone who’s totally invested in his character, reinvents every few years and his attention to detail is incredible.

In terms of my character today, Bray Wyatt and CM Punk. Could be self explanatory, but again two guys who are very intentional in what they do.

3. Next up lets speak about Training, how did you get involved in wrestling training, who had a hand in this and would you say that you enjoyed the experience??

I used to be a Videographer, then got into shooting Wrestling, so eventually when the option of training came up, I already knew everyone at the Company.

I remember I’d been shooting Wrestling for a year or two already when I got a message from Harvey Dale – a friend I already knew from a bar in my hometown – and he asked me if I’d head up north to shoot one of his Wrestling Shows. I turned up, and Grado was in the first match and Jack Jester was in the second. That’ll blow your mind haha.

Since Summer 15 I’ve trained at The HOPE Wrestling Academy in Milton Keynes. I train predominantly under Gene Munny (who I know you mention later) and considering the talent that has come out of that school already (and are being booked up and down the country), it says something to the training and the great quality of it.

4. You are known most for your great motivational videos and promos both on your page and You Got This Bro, would you say it makes people sit up and listen and take note and you got a tweet back from the Rock about your promos, would you say this gets peoples attention on you even more now??

So for the people who don’t know, my day job is as a Motivational Speaker. I run a Youtube Channel called “You Got This, Bro!” and we do very up front, in your face style Motivation, check it out!

In terms of Wrestling, I shoot promos for a couple of reasons, the first is it means I can keep working on my craft. There are 168 hours in a week, and Wrestling Training (for my school anyway) is on 6 hours a week. That leaves 162 hours. I want to use as many of them as I can to be the best and build something great.

Another reason is that it’s somewhat of a lost art. Promos where Joe Trunks just says “This sunday, you and me in a leisure centre for the world title” blah blah – Wrestling promos are done. You have to step above and beyond, try something new and tell a real story to get people saying your name. Tonnes of people want to do great things, we all do, but you have to work to get the spotlight to do it, and work is the operative word!

The last reason is why I wrestle, and it’s to tell a story. Every feud, every match, for EVERY performer – it’s art. My character can tell some that other characters can’t, and they tell some I can’t too, that’s just the choices that we make. I love interacting with new characters, watching my own character evolve, it’s incredible, and I just love being a part of it.

5. You wrestle for HOPE where you have dispatched the talent one by one, what are your thoughts on beating some of the biggest names in the UK such as El Ligero, would you say a title match is in the offing for you in the future and if so do you have any words for Jack Jester??

My priority right now is to tell stories. I’m still undefeated in HOPE, so that’s a story. I’ve been feuding with Ryan Smile since effectively February, and we haven’t even had a match yet, that’s a story. Now that my character is a lot darker and (at least I’d like to think) I’m a little better in the ring, I’d love to tango with T-Bone again, you see what I mean?

Make no mistake about it. When I look at The HOPE Championship, my eyes don’t quiver, and I want it more than anything. I’m HUNGRY for that Title, like you don’t even know.

At the same time, there’s so much more for me to do, so much more for me to learn and so much I’m already grateful for.

I’m happy to wait my turn.

Because I know I’ll f***ing get one.

6. You debuted for GOOD Wrestling on Friday managing Gene Munny who faced Chris Brookes, are you going to wrestle at the next show potentially and what were your thoughts on the show and also the venue it was held in??

I enjoyed GOOD Wrestling, because they’re offering something different. It’s legitimately the country’s best Wrestlers but with such a personal feel, the Announcers talk to the fans like they know you, performers get to interact in a totally different way, which is cool.

I received a couple of really nice Tweets after the last GOOD Show, which was awesome, so whether it be Me and Gene still stealing the show or whether myself and MAD go back to our path of breaking necks, either way, I’d be down to be involved.

7. What are your thoughts on the current state of British Wrestling and would you say that you are proud to be part of it at the moment??

The scene is phenomenal right now. It feels like if I were to name a Top Ten in this country right now, I could name another 20-30 guys who all deserve a place in there too, which says something about the supreme quality.

I’m glad the visibility is spreading – On Demand Services and Companies wising up to the idea of posting full matches online. It only does good things.

But yeah, incredibly strong. And only getting stronger.

8. What would you say are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

Just as Cody Rhodes did, I have my own list of people I want to wrestle. I’ve made no secret that Title aside, Jack Jester would be a big deal to me.

Martin Kirby, Paul Malen, Joe Conners, LJ Heron, Jimmy Havoc, Joe Coffey, Marty Scurll, Will Ospreay, Jake McCluskey, Pete Dunne, William Eaver, Jigsaw. Do you have all day? I could go all day haha.

I want to tell unique stories. I don’t want just “I’ll jump you and then next week I’ll explain it for some bullshit reason”, I want legit, I want meaningful, I want things to happen along the way that hasn’t happened in everybody elses feuds. I look forward to that.

Remember when Steve Austin attacked Booker T in a Supermarket? Now how crap would it have been if two segments later, Super Crazy is doing the same thing to Tajiri, then the next week Trish is doing it to Lita, and so on? It was unique because following a guy to beat him to death is a Steve Austin thing to do, and that made it special.

I’ve learned great things already from some truly phenomenal people, so I definitely look forward to more of that.

9. As the interview draws to a close, where can the readers find Hustle Malone on social media and how can promoters get in contact with you about potential bookings??

For Bookings, Info, newest promo releases and everything else, my Facebook page is “Hustle Malone – Professional Wrestler” and my Twitter/Instagram is @MaloneHustle. Get in touch, I’ll be a dick to you online.

10. Have you got any future projects/dates you wish to plug, if so the floor is yours to do so??

August 28th in Milton Keynes and August 29th in Leighton Buzzard are the first two that come to my head. I’ll be debuting some new tools in my arsenal, some new gear, and a new world view. Always evolving.

Youtube.com/YouGotThisBro for me to shout at you till you sort your life out.

And again just the Hustle Malone page on Facebook. I can’t right now, but in about six months time I’m releasing a video I’ve had in my head for months, that’ll change the way people promote shows forever. Like the page. You’ll wanna’ be there when it happens.

 I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Hustle Malone for completing the questions so fast, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Hustle Malone go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

