Interview – Ash Draven

ashdraven

Photo Credit : ChaosTheory Photography

  1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Ash, thank you for doing this interview, first of all please could you introduce yourself to the readers of TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog??

My name is Ash Draven and I am professional wrestler who has truly found his Happy Place away from the torment of society, living in true peace of mind.

2. Let’s first talk about growing up for you, who would you say inspired you to become a wrestler and did you always want to be one or did this come later on??

I grew up in a happy family, my childhood was not fraught with mistreatment or abuse. My parents are very loving people, some might say too loving. My fathers pursuit of the better life saw him working away a lot, so he wasn’t around for some of my childhood. I saw first had what the culture of society could do to the working man and ultimately how it could break them. I needed an escape and I found it in professional wrestling. What appealed to me as a fan were the characters and the ability the wrestlers had to change who they were. They were seemingly able to do and say things that were not acceptable in everyday life, whether it be being able to beat someone up and get away with it or say things you “shouldn’t”. You asked about specific individuals that inspired me, I would say it were those who excelled at living outside or above conventional rules – people like HHH (cruelly ironic that he now makes the rules), Mankind, Brian Pillman, Raven, Jake Roberts and Shane Douglas. They could seemingly do what they wanted and very few people would oppose them.

3. How did you get involved in Wrestling training, who had a hand in this and how would you rate your experience??

My wrestling journey began with the emergence of RCWA in 2007 , where I tried to make friends with a young Will Ospreay and a Sean Wilson, amongst others. As hard as I tried to fit in, I knew I was different and when I turned my hand at professional training, again I found acceptance difficult. I tried several schools to varying degrees of success, but as irony would have it, it was only when I embraced my antisocial disposition that wanted to know me. Much like you guys and this interview. Funny isn’t it?
4. You recently defeated Kidd Krazy to defend your Adrenaline Division title then went on to beat Doug Williams for the DOA title using your Go 4 Glory briefcase, would you say that you have an even bigger target on your back now you hold both titles and how was it to win it at their anniversary show??

I think if you achieve any degree of success in any field, people will target you because you have something they don’t. In DOA I am the champion of two divisions, therefore I have two sets of challengers wanting to take my possessions from the Happy Place. I am under no false illusion and I know how badly people will want to beat me.
5.  You first opponent is Brad Slayer in a 2 out of 3 falls, what are your thoughts on your opponent and are you confident of coming out of this match with your title??

I respect Bradley, he has been a top wrestler in the UK for many years but that respect is only exceeded by the confidence I have in my ability and the strength of the Happy Place. I will walk into Felixstowe with the intention of winning the match 2-0
6. You faced Ashley Dunn and defended your title in a show stealing match a few weeks ago, would you give him a shot at your new title once your finished with Brad Slayer after this match a few weeks back ??

If Ashley Dunn wants to enter the Happy Place one more time and try to take either of my treasures, I am more than happy to accept. Last time he left me battered and bruised, so you could say I owe him one. That being said do not expect the outcome to be any different, no matter how much of a superstar he believes himself to be, he will fall to the Switchblade once again.
7. You are facing Sean Wilson at God vs Assassin on December the 10th for RCWA and you have said you cannot forgive his empathy, what went on between you and do you have any words for him ahead of your match??

For two years Wilson was the only person I would be inclined to call an ally (friend is pushing it) and for the past 12 months we sought to rid RCWA of Lauren Sanders once and for all. On September 18th we had a chance to do just that but his jaded moral compass rendered him unable to do what was necessary and it was at that moment I realised that I could no longer tolerate him and he was ejected from the Happy Place. On December 10th I am offering him a chance to prove himself and chance to get a small dose of revenge. Little does he know that it is a battle he cannot win. No matter how much he hates me, history has proven that when it matters he doesn’t have what it takes to be cruel enough, vicious enough or evil enough to get the job done
8. What are your ambitions and goals in Wrestling and what do you want to achieve within 5 years would you say??

In the next 5 years I want everyone to know who I am and what I stand for, I want to be the most illusive and sort after wrestling talent not only in the UK but all over the world. I want to make the world a happier place.
9. Where can the readers find Ash Draven on Social Media and where can promoters book you if they wish to do so??

You can find me on Antisocial media at: www.facebook.com/DravensHappyPlace
@RCWA_AshDraven
and the booker man can request me at ashleyd86@hotmail.com
10. Have you got any future dates you wish to plug or a message to the readers??

I will be leaving the Happy Place on October 29th for DOA Spookplex City (Felixstowe), Pro Wrestling Pride on October 30th, World War Wrestling will be made a Happy Place on November 19th and of course RCWA God vs Assassin on December 10th in Rainham. If any promoters/bookers need their promotion to be made a happier place, maybe you should consider someone a little more antisocial.

 

 

Leave a Reply

