Interview – Rachael Ellering

ellering

Photo Credit : Pamella Lee Photography

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Rachael, cheers for agreeing to do the interview, first of all could you please introduce yourself to the readers??

Hello and thanks for stopping by to read this! I’m Rachael Ellering. I’m a second generation wrestler who is originally from Minnesota but now I’m taking over Orlando, Florida! (No winter is lovely) I’m 23 for another 2 weeks and am gearing up for an incredible 2017! 

2. Of course your father is Paul Ellering who currently manages the Authors of Pain in NXT and previously wrestled and managed The Road Warriors, did you spend time on the road growing up and if so is this where you caught the wrestling bug or was it later on??

My dad didn’t surround us with wrestling as I was growing up; He kept that portion of his life private. It wasn’t until his WWE Hall of Fame induction that I really grasped the impact he had while he was actively in the business.  I discovered and fell in love with wrestling when I was 16 via YouTube and Trish vs. Lita. It was their main event match from RAW and I was hooked. I quickly realised that this crazy, amazing world was everything I was good at, loved and wanted to be a part of. From that point on, it’s all I watched and dreamed of! 

3. You were trained by Lance Storm and graduated last year I believe from the Storm Wrestling Academy, how was this experience, would you recommend it to those wanting to get into wrestling and does he still give you advice now??

Yes I am proudly a product of the Storm Wrestling Academy! Moving to Calgary…Alberta, Canada was the best decision I could have made to start my career off on the right foot. I took my first bump there and three months later, had my first matches there. Lance is the greatest man that’s ever lived. (Sorry Austin Aries) He understood how to push me and he doesn’t just teach you moves and send you off. He teaches you when to use them and the psychology portion of wrestling which is deceivingly complex for those who aren’t aware. Lance is the one person I can trust to always be honest with me and that’s helped me improve to where I am now. He is like family to me and I’m forever grateful for my time up there. SWA is the greatest school in the world. 

4. You made your debut in NXT in April of this year against Alexa Bliss and also faced Liv Morgan in August and Ember Moon in October, what was this experience like and do you think we will be seeing more of you in NXT in the future?

My experience with NXT has been nothing short of a dream. Whenever I get the chance to be in that environment I feel so fortunate. I learn so much each and every time they have me back and am surrounded by some incredible talent-What’s not to love?! 

5. You are the new Resistance Pro Women’s Champion after beating Amazing Maria in the tournament final, how did it feel to win this and do you have any words for any of the other female wrestlers in R-Pro who may want a shot in the future??

I am proudly the Resistance Pro Women’s Champion. The night I won it, first title of my career actually, was my Chicago debut. Chicago is a very special city to me so to win it there made it even more memorable. Post match, one of the coolest moments of my life occurred: about 15 little girls joined me in the ring and shared that moment with me. They gave me hugs and wanted to touch the belt and it made that moment that much more special. My mom and stepdad were in attendance and to embrace with them and have them see this come to fruition meant everything to me. They’ve supported me since I was 16 and said I was going to be a wrestler so for them to see me win my first belt, it made for a perfect moment. I can’t wait to return to Chicago at the end of January and not only defend the title but see all of the fans again! 

6. You have also wrestled for the likes of Queens of Combat and Shine Wrestling, what are your thoughts on all women promotions and the current state of Women’s Wrestling??

I always feel so empowered at all women’s shows. It’s a true blessing to be a part of those companies. Everyone always brings their best and that makes the shows that much more incredible for the fans. I always tell Josie who runs Queens of Combat that that is the best locker room I’ve ever been a part of; just so special to see all the girls helping each other out and having so much fun! There’s only one thing I can say about the future of women’s wrestling: it’s in good hands. Trust me. 

7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, do you want to come over to the UK in 2017 if given the chance and if so who would you want to face and why??

I am DYING to get over to the UK and work with as many different companies and girls as possible. That’s on the top of my to do list for 2017! 

8. What are your ambitions and goals in Wrestling and what do you want to achieve within 5 years would you say??

At the end of the day, the most important thing to me is that I leave wrestling better than when I came into it. I want a little girl somewhere to say she chased her unconventional dream because she saw me chasing mine and living it out. I want to work as many different people in as many different places as possible. I’d like to wrestle in MSG, Target Center and Korakuen Hall. The list could go on forever but I as long as I can wrestle, I’ll be the happiest girl alive! 

9. Where can the readers find Rachael Ellering on Social Media and where can promoters book you if they wish to do so??

The best place to find me is on Twitter! @rachaelellering. Also check out my Instagram @therachaelellering and my pro wrestling tees store! I appreciate all the support and cannot wait to share 2017 with you all! 

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Rachael for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support her on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Rachael go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

