Interview – Jurn Simmons

simmons

Photo Credit – Sidekick Photography

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Jurn, cheers for agreeing to do the interview, first of all could you please introduce yourself to the readers??

Sure. I am the Iron Bull, the Golden Lion, the Man They Call Massive, the Man They Call Symmetric, but you can call me Massively Symmetric. Besides that I am also Der König der Catcher(King of Catch As Catch Can for the non-Germans) and the Marquee Player, Jurn Simmons.

2. Let’s start by speaking about growing up, were you into wrestling from a young age and if so who would you inspired you to follow the route of becoming a wrestler??

No, I was not into wrestling at a young age so therefore nobody in particular inspired me to become a professional wrestler.

3. Next how did you get involved in Wrestling training, who trained you and how would you rate the experience??

I got involved in wrestling through a Dutch TV show that was covering it, I knew that it existed but had never followed it. I saw the show in question and decided that it might be something fun to try out, so I contacted Pro Wrestling Holland(PWH) and started training there under the tutelage of Tengkwa. It all turned out quite well for me so far, so I enjoyed it a lot. When I was there they offered a lot of opportunities to have seminars with different people, which led to me training for three weeks with Brian Kendrick in California. I don’t think I would be as well off if it hadn’t been for that experience.

4. You were the WXW Unified World Wrestling Champion from March up to very recently before losing it to Marty Scurll in a 3 way, how was it to hold this title for so long and is one of your main ambitions to regain this title in 2017??

It was the biggest chance to prove myself that I’ve had so far and as far as I’m concerned I knocked it out of the park. Getting it back is not one of the main ambitions in 2017, it is *the* main ambition.

5. You are from the Netherlands originally I believe, what are your thoughts on the Dutch Wrestling scene compared to German where you mainly wrestle??

The Dutch scene has plenty of talent, but as opposed to wXw it doesn’t have the demand from the audience nor the ambition from most of the performers. Therefore there aren’t shows as frequently and they aren’t as big either, which is a shame. I suppose the silver lining is that the people that do really want it can go outside of the country and make a name for themselves, which could make the outside world view most of us as top quality performers.

6. Speaking of the Netherlands, you are a former PWS Heavyweight Champion, how was it to win a title in your home country and is this another title you want to regain in the future??

I had won the Pro Wrestling Holland(PWH) Championship before the PWS one, so winning a title in my home country wasn’t anything new for me. I currently have no true interest in regaining or just winning any titles in the Netherlands in 2017, because I feel there’s more for me to gain in other countries.

7. You were recently over in the UK as part of the the Wrestling World Championships representing WXW and you ended up winning the Openweight tournament, what were your thoughts on your time over here, how was it to win the tournament and do you want to return next year if possible??

In general England and PCW was plenty of fun and winning the tournament was a cool, expected bonus. I’d have no problems returning next year if the circumstances are right.

8. What are your ambitions and goals in Wrestling and who would you say is the one wrestler you want to face by the end of your career and why??

I have no real ambitions and goals in wrestling that are set in stone, mainly because the climate and environment of professional wrestling are constantly changing. So I don’t have a singular person that I would like to face when I’m done, because everything would have to line up perfectly and that’s not something you can count on. So I suppose in broad, generalising terms I would just say that I aim to make myself the hottest commodity I can be, so I can make the most possible money. As far as opponents, I would like to face whoever would be the biggest draw wherever I would go.

9. Where can the readers find Jurn Simmons on Social Media and where can promoters book you if they wish to do so??

Twitter: @JurnSimmons Instagram: @JurnSimmons Facebook: Jurn Simmons And promoters can mainly get in contact with me through Facebook.

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

The wXw We Love Wrestling Tour starts the 14 th of January with its first Marquee Event of the year In Oberhausen, Back to the Roots XVI.

Other Marquee Events of the tour include: –

wXw Dead End XVI in Hamburg on the 24 th of February –

wXw 16 Carat Gold 2017 from the 10 th until the 12 th of March in Oberhausen. –

wXw True Colors 2017 in Dresden on the 8 th of April. –

wXw Superstars of Wrestling 2017 on the 13 th of May in Oberhausen. –

wXw Shortcut to the Top 2017 on the 1 st of July in Oberhausen.

Also, for all of the British fans, wXw will be coming to London on the 28 th of January.

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Jurn for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Jurn go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

