Interview – ‘Superbad’ Kip Sabian

kipsabian

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Kip, cheers for agreeing to do the interview, first of all could you please introduce yourself to the readers??

Hey I’m The Handsome Hustler, best hair in pro wrestling, “Superbad” Kip Sabian, I’m a UK Pro wrestler mainly known for my work at WAW and RCWA but have worked all over the country and abroad for the last 7-8 years.

2. Let’s start by speaking about growing up, were you into wrestling from a young age and if so who would you inspired you to follow the route of becoming a wrestler??

I was always a fan from a young age, I always remember not really knowing the difference between WWF and WCW I just assumed it was all the same thing.To which one day my dad took me to go see WCW in London for my first ever show and I was so confused why my favourites were not on the show. I didn’t even contemplate the possibility of becoming a pro wrestler, didn’t think it was possible.

3. Next how did you get involved in Wrestling training, who trained you and how would you rate the experience??

This is a long one so better get comfy. I’ve never tried to hide the fact I had no idea you could professionally train when I decided I wanted to do something in wrestling, having always been quite athletic. Because of this I was part of the “dreaded” backyard scene alongside other guys like Will Ospreay, Kelly Sixx, Ash Dunn, Ash Draven and many others not out of defiance but because there wasn’t the available option to us that we were aware of at the time, which eventually we all made the jump to pro wrestling. Which to any readers I would not suggest doing, find yourself a school and learn from the professionals, and pick your school wisely but I’ll get back to that. One day I got a message over Facebook saying there was a WAW show coming to my local town of Gorleston and they were running a seminar beforehand, so I turned up and had a brief introduction to actual wrestling training with Zak, Ricky and Saraya Knight and I was hooked. They then invited me to come along to their one of their summer camps so I did. Now this is one of my favourite story’s to tell, I had a terrible attitude and did not understand wrestling or etiquette or psychology at all, so I got in the ring and tried to show off with all these stupid bumps and fancy moves that I royally messed up which lead to a complete tearing apart by Saraya in front of the entire class, I then had a bit of a wake up call with one of the regular wrestlers and got my arse handed to me. I turned up the next day to a greeting from Saraya of respect because she thought I wasn’t going to come back and it’s a respect I still treasure to this day. From that moment I got my head out of my arse and worked my way up the WAW school through their grading system to which I am now a part time trainer there. Whenever anyone asks me how to get into wrestling I always swear by the WAW school as the best in Europe under the guidance and experience of all the Knights as well as Jimmy Ocean, Karl Kramer, Jason Cross, Frank “Chic” Cullen and so many more names that they bring in. It’s British wrestling training at its best.

4. You recently lost your RCWA Elite-1 Title to ‘The King of Performance’ Kelly Sixx, will you be getting your rematch at the next RCWA show and do you have any words for Kelly after the match at God vs Assassin??
So if anyone follows my social media you will know that I have a very strong rivalry, often referring to ourselves as similar to Gary and Ash if there are any Pokemon fans reading. He is my favourite opponent hands down, at RCWA we have spent the last year feuding over the Elite-1 title and I guess on the day of the God Vs Assassin show he came out the better man, but he won’t have it for long, I’ll make sure of that. Team Fit

5. You are known as well to the readers as being part of Special Edition with Brad Slayer for some time, how did you start teaming and do you prefer teaming with Brad or wrestling singles??

When I first started training Brad had already been there a little while and we became friends instantly, to this day he is my best friend not just in wrestling but out of it as well. But WAW quickly noticed the chemistry we had as friends and capitalised by putting us together, originally our first tag name was “The Indie Boys” to which we quickly changed over to Special Edition and have been teaming ever since. I can’t comment on which I prefer because I like both for different reasons, any tag team wrestler will know that to be a good tag team it’s a totally different ball game to singles competition.

6. You were WAW Open Light Heavyweight Champion until recently when you lost it to Jody Fleisch, how was it facing a man known as a British Wrestling legend and what are your thoughts on the big weekenders WAW have been doing at Epic Studios with the likes of Mr Anderson and Scott Hall as of late??

Are all of these questions to do with me losing? Haha no it was a big match for me going against one of the best cruiser weights the country has ever produced and helped shape the division I am currently competing in, it taught me a lot and Jody himself is such a great bloke both inside and outside of the ring, we tore the house down. It’s great to finally see Ricks dreams of WAW becoming bigger and better finally come into sight. There were many hard years especially during the time I first started where British wrestling was in a rut and houses weren’t drawing and we were wrestling to more chairs than people. But to finally see all the hard work Him and the rest of the family have put in paying off is amazing and it’s a privilege to be along for the ride!

7. Speaking of WAW, you faced Nick Aldis a.k.a Magnus recently, how was this experience and did he have some good advice for you after the match??

Yeah this was another great moment for me, Nick taught me a lot in such a short amount of time about things I had never really contemplated in wrestling, the man is one of the best for a reason. He was very complimentary of me after the match openly saying he wants the match to happen again and run a programme of matches with me so let hope that comes to pass in the future! But it was probably one of my biggest matches in my career and it was even better for Nick to go out of his way to post on social media “Kip Sabian, remember that name he’s going places”. I got some great feedback and praise from not only Nick but also Scott Hall and Mickie James afterwards that just topped it off. It was a real moment for me.

8. What are your ambitions and goals in Wrestling and what do you want to achieve within 5 years would you say??

Well I don’t think that anyone can be in this business and not want to make it to the big leagues but I just want to keep working to get my name out among the scene and especially over 2017 try and work for as many new promotions and in new countries as I can to spread my name, as well as keep pushing with WAW which is my home. In 5 years I would hope to have made the leap to a full time career out of wrestling, travel to Japan, America etc. However as long as I am having good matches with good opponents that’s the main thing right?

9. Where can the readers find Kip Sabian on Social Media and where can promoters book you if they wish to do so??

I’m on Facebook on www.facebook.com/TheKipSabian
Twitter under @TheKipSabian
For booking either contact over Twitter or inbox at the Facebook page, send a message 👍🏻

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

January wise so far, WAW are back at epic studios in Norwich for the Night of Champions and War Games shows on January 20th and 21st, also there will be a Bellatrix show so I will be there for that weekend!
I am also at SWA in Shropshire on the 27th and Lincoln Fight Factory on the 29th. But there will be many more dates coming up so get on my social media to keep up with what’s going down!

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Kip for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Kip go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

