Interview – ‘Double V’ Vaughn Vertigo

vertigo

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Vaughn, cheers for agreeing to do the interview, first of all could you please introduce yourself to the readers if they don’t know you already??

Absolutely! It’s a pleasure to be a part of this. I wrestle as “Double V” Vaughn Vertigo from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I’ve been doing shows now for about 3 and a half years in the Ontario and Upper New York area.

2. Let’s start by speaking about growing up, were you into wrestling from a young age and if so who would you inspired you to follow the route of becoming a wrestler??

I was a bit of a late bloomer when it comes to wrestling. Growing up I had friends who would always play the Smackdown vs Raw games as well as a friend who’s relative was Trish Stratus, so wrestling was always there, I just never sunk my teeth into it until about 2006 at the age of 10. The first guys who caught my eye were the Hardy’s. There was just some sort of undeniable talent that they possessed that just attracted me at a young age. Shawn Michaels was another guy who I fell in love with during the Royal Rumble in 2007. Everything he did just looks so precise and clean.

3. Next how did you get involved in Wrestling training, who trained you and how would you rate the experience??

Right after my 14th birthday I had a mutual friend of mine approach me about attending wrestling training as he knew I was a huge fan. I obliged and began to attend the now defunct Squared Circle Training in Toronto run by Rob Fuego. Rob was trained by Ron Hutchinson who is known for training Edge and Christian so I knew it had the credibility. However, what I did not know, was Fuego’s lucha libre influence that he instilled into all of us. Being a kid I didn’t receive any special treatment, I did the same thing as anyone else and that made me feel like I belonged. Squared Circle was a great experience that I believe taught me many different styles and helped me become a more adaptable wrestler.

4. You are ½ of the UPW Tag Team Champions with Ryan Cassidy, how did you teaming come about and how did it feel to win those tag team championships??

UPW was the first American promotion I had the chance to work with. My first match was a scramble match with a bunch of the trainees from the Rochester area. In that match I met Ryan Cassidy (also the man who pinned me) who was a Canadian who had moved to America. Canadians apparently have a quirky sense of humor so we bonded together and when the Tag Team Division was lacking we decided to create The “Eh” Team. Winning the tag team titles on our first night as a team was special. To be able to win my first foreign title so early in my career was a treat (still hold those titles fyi).

(Video of Vaughn’s 2016 Highlights)

5. You wrestle for Lucha Toronto and mostly with the main tag team your part of Fight or Flight as well as also having a shot at the Premier title, are you hoping to gain a title in LTO this year and what do you make of the current rise of Lucha Libre wrestling through the likes of Lucha Underground and AAA??

Think of Lucha T.O. as a spin off of Squared Circle Training. Lucha T.O. is very special to me as the locker room is a mainly made up of Fuego graduates. To be able to hold a championship for a promotion that took me in at such a young age would be fantastic. Definitely on my bucket list by the end of 2017. It’s fantastic, lucha libre is so much more than just wrestling and that’s what Lucha Toronto is trying to showcase for a market that was lacking this style of wrestling.

6. You have wrestled a couple of times previously for SMASH Wrestling, are you hoping to wrestle for them more in future and also what are your current thoughts on the wrestling scene in Canada at the moment??

Securing a more permanent position on the Smash Wrestling roster is a goal of mine, Gabriel Fuerza and Myself as Fight or Flight are hoping to make it into their Tag Team Tournament that is being held this Spring. The amount of talent that has come through Smash is tremendous and I hope to add to that list one day. Wrestling in Canada, Ontario specifically is white hot. There is a great talent bed here with dedicated fans and plenty of promotions. When I first started getting involved in indy wrestling in 2010 the crowds were subpar, but sometime around 2013 it seemed as if there was a boom in the scene across Ontario. Now many promotions are selling out their venues, which I believe in part has been due to the rise in social media and awareness of indy wrestling.

vertigo2

Photo Credit : Bryan Weiss

7. You are coming over to the UK in April for the first time, how did this all come about, what dates have you got planned and are you looking forward to it??

Late last year I started looking around and thinking where could I feasibly go to wrestle and make happen. I considered a few places and a time frame and contacted a friend of mine at Wrestleforce in the UK. Next thing I know I have a couple dates set up over 2 weeks and I couldn’t be more happy about it. My schedule for those 2 weeks is below and I hope to add to that as we move forward. I was expecting maybe 2 dates so this is a treat! 04/01 – DOA Wrestling 04/02 – Dropkixx Wrestling 04/07 – Wrestleforce UK 04/08 – Wrestleforce UK 04/09 – Wrestleforce UK

8. What are your ambitions and goals in Wrestling and what do you want to achieve within 5 years would you say??

To be able to wrestle for a few months abroad, then back home for a few months and repeat would be ideal. I’d love to earn a better spot on cards and help develop myself more in the coming years. Everything that has happened is far more than I could have ever envisioned when I was just a kid wrestling on my trampoline so I’m just going to keep moving forward and see where I’m taken.

vertigoblue.jpg

(Vaughn with Gabriel Fuerza and the legendary Blue Demon Jr at Lucha Toronto)

9. Where can the readers find ‘Double V’ Vaughn Vertigo on Social Media and where can promoters book you if they wish to do so??

You can find me on social media at these fine handles: @NotEnoughVaughn (Twitter) Vaughn Vertigo (Facebook) For bookings you can contact me at VertigoFOF@outlook.com

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug??

Of course! This is my upcoming schedule through April!

01/28 – Barrie Wrestling

01/29 – Lucha Toronto

02/11 – Barrie Wrestling

02/26 – Greektown Wrestling

03/04 – Barrie Wrestling

03/05 – Lucha Toronto

03/11 – UPW Rochester

03/18 – MCW Brantford

03/19 – CWO Wrestling

04/01 – DOA Wrestling

04/02 – Dropkixx Wrestling

04/07 – Wrestleforce UK

04/08 – Wrestleforce UK

04/09 – Wrestleforce UK

Thanks!

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Vaughn for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Vaughn go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

