Interview – Melanie Gray

melaniegray.jpg

  1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Melanie thank you very much for agreeing to take part in this interview, first of all could you please introduce yourself to the readers??

Hello everybody! My name is Melanie Gray and I´m THE one and only DIVA of wXw.

Furthermore, I´m a huge Disnerd, baking queen, kitchen fairy, singer, actress and soccer fan which I´ve been playing for 8 years before I started wrestling.

2. Let’s first of all talk about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling growing up and if so who inspired you at the time to train to become a wrestler??

Of course, I did! It was a family gathering and I simply enjoyed cheering for the good guys and booing the bad guys together with my family. I´ve then watched the match between Bull Nakano and Alundra Blayze of SummerSlam 94 and that was the first time that I remember that women weren´t just valets accompanying the wrestlers to the ring and looking cute but were actually IN the ring fighting. I thought this was so cool and from that day on I always had in mind that I could do that, too. After being absent from watching wrestling for a while I then watched women like Trish and Lita and knew what I wanted to become for real.

3. Next of all let’s speak about training for you, what are your thoughts on your training experience, who trained you and what advice would you give the readers if they are just getting into wrestling training??

I´m training at the wXw Wrestling Academy, mostly with headcoach Walter but I also was lucky enough to have clinics with coaches like Chris Hero, Daisuke Sekimoto, Ricky Marvin, Bad Bones John Klinger, Zack Sabre Jr. and others. After my first training I wanted to die because everything hurt so bad! Unfortunately, I was living quite far away from the Academy in the beginning, so my progress was only slow. But then I decided to pack all of my stuff and move closer to the wXw training facility, so that I can now train on a regular basis. It was hard in the beginning but so worth it by now, so for everybody out there who is either just thinking about becoming a wrestler or just got started:

Just do it! Don´t get intimidated and don´t quit! Because although it might be painful in the beginning you might regret it if you´ve never tried (hard enough)!

4. You are of course well known for wrestling for WXW in Germany and have wrestled some of the best female talents in Europe such as Nikki Storm, Kay Lee Ray, Toni Storm and Nixon Newell, what are your thoughts on the rise of WXW through such tournaments as 16 Carat and their on demand service and would you say given yourself and the talents previously or currently wrestling for WXW that there should be a Women’s Title in WXW??

It´s amazing how wXw evolved in recent years and I´m so glad to be a part of it! As you said, I was lucky to share the ring with top female talent from Europe and even the United States (there´s a reason why some of them got signed by WWE just recently). Unfortunately, there are not as many female wrestlers in Germany as in for example the UK. At the moment I´m the only female of the wXw Wrestling Academy in the ring and although we do have some more aspiring female wrestlers there it will still take some more time for them to step into the ring in front of a live audience. Therefore, as much as I would love to have a Women´s Title in wXw it doesn´t really make sense at the moment. But I´m working hard, so that one day there will be one.

5. Speaking of WXW as part of their I Love Wrestling Tour you came over to the UK and wrestled at Tufnell Park, first of all was it your first time over here wrestling and if so what were your thoughts on the crowd and also the country itself??

It really was my very first time being in the UK, so it was also my very first time wrestling there. I didn´t see a lot of London but hopefully next time I get to do so. But I LOVED the crowd! They were so thankful and respectful and welcomed me with open arms. They cheered the whole show through which totally stunned me. I have to admit I was really nervous because I assumed nobody knew me, so I had to start from scratch. But what I experienced then simply blew my mind and I can´t wait to return.

6. Keeping on the theme you are returning to the UK to wrestle for British Empire Wrestling against Little Miss Roxxy on February 19th, are you looking forward to returning and do you have any other dates planned while your over here or is it just the one show??

It´s just the one show but as I already said I´m so looking forward to returning to England and I guess it won´t be the last time you see me there.

7. What would you say your thoughts are on the current state of Women’s Wrestling??

It´s amazing how the scene developed during the last couple of years because finally women in wrestling are where they belong which is equal to the guys´ spot in the scene. Ladies matches are no longer a break for people to get something to drink but they are actually waiting for the ladies match to come up and I´m glad to be able to be part of that scene right now.

8. What are your future ambitions in wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time??

One of my goals has always been to wrestle in the UK, so I´m quite content at the moment which doesn´t mean that I don´t have any further goals (especially because there are so many promotions left there I would love to work for). I would love to go to Japan and wrestle for Stardom and I would also love to wrestle in the USA (for example for Shimmer). Five years can be a long time and I don´t really have any specific plans concerning wrestling. I just want to be still wrestling then and maybe be a full-time coach at the Wrestling Academy.

9. Where can the readers follow the progress of Melanie Gray on social media and where can promoters book you for shows if they are reading this??

You can find me on Facebook (www.facebook.com/melaniegrayrwestler), Twitter (@Melzi87) and Instagram (melanie_gray_wrestler). If you want to watch some of my matches you can find some free ones on youtube or you can sign up for wXwNow which is our wrestling network.

10. Do you have any future dates or projects that you want to plug to end the interview off??

I am part of the ongoing wXw “We Love Wrestling” tour, so you might want to check the dates and, of course, I will be back in England on 19th February for BEW.

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Melanie for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support her on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Melanie go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

