Interview – Ricky Starks

rickystarks.jpg

Photo Credit : Kelly Kylie Photography

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Ricky thank you very much for agreeing to take part in this interview, first of all could you please introduce yourself to the readers??

Well I am Absolute Ricky Starks, charismatic fire cracker who currently resides in Austin Texas. You may have seen me on WWE television, matches on NXT, Main Event.

2. Let’s first of all talk about growing up for you, did you watch wrestling growing up and if so who inspired you at the time to train to become a wrestler??

I’ve watched wrestling all my life, as far back as I can remember. I always told everyone I knew I’d become a pro wrestler and I did. I don’t think any one person inspired me but rather everyone, you know? My favorites are Mankind, Undertaker, The Rock. A odd list but those are who I was in awe of.

3. Next of all let’s speak about training for you, what are your thoughts on your training experience, who trained you and if you could train with anyone dead or alive who would it be and why??

I started training in Austin Texas with a guy named Mr. Mexico 2 who also wrestled in California and that general area. I like to think and I’ve been told that I picked up on it rather quickly for me. Then when I started to travel more I was able to get guidance from other wrestlers and seminars. I think if I could be trained by anyone it would definitely be The Undertaker.

4. You wrestle for WrestleCircus a new promotion that are gaining a lot of traction at the minute, how is it to be a part of it all and do you think that WC is on the road to success in the future??

I love wrestling for WrestleCircus. I think it is well on its way to achieving great things not only in Austin by the whole independent scene. It’s great to see a company openly take on unknown, new guys. That exposure does nothing but help everyone involved. It’s a great atmosphere with a great line up of girls and gals and I feel honoured to be there from the floor up.

5. You have previously wrestled on NXT and Main Event, how were these experiences and does this make you hungry to get there full time one day??

It was great working for both NXT and Main Event. It’s more of a comfortable feeling when you walk out there, for me at least. Having those matches and experiences validates me being a pro wrestler and makes me feel that I am good at something and also it does push me harder to get there permanently.

6. You are the new ACW Televised champion defeating Darin Childs last month, how did it feel to win the title and have you got a message to the ACW locker room who will be after it now??

Winning the ACW title was a cool moment because I defeated Darin Childs, who is the father of ACW. On top of that, I am basically saying no one can touch me now.

7. What are your future ambitions in wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time??

Five years from now I see myself signed and in NXT probably. If not I definitely see myself in Japan which is another goal of mind. Wrestling there full-time would be a great career goal to achieve.

8. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, would you ever come over to the UK if given the chance and if so who would you have your eye on facing??

I would love to come to the UK, in fact I am planning to do so in early June. It’s now a matter of lining up promotions to work for. I’d love to wrestle El Ligero or a buddy of mine Travis Banks.

9. Where can the readers follow the progress of Ricky Starks on social media and where can promoters book you for shows if they are reading this??

You can find me on twitter: starkmanjones or follow me on Instagram for cute pics of me at starkybaby. All booking inquiries can go to: starks.ricky@gmail.com

10. Do you have any future dates or projects that you want to plug to end the interview off??

March 17th will be WrestleCircus’ big South by Southwest event that I am stoked about!

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Ricky for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Ricky go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

 

Leave a Reply

