Interview – Tony Deppen

deppen

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Tony, thank you for your time, please first of all introduce yourself to the readers??

Hey guys, first of all, I want to thank you the interview. My name is Tony Deppen. I have been wrestling since 2009, hailing from Pennsylvania! I am currently the On Point Wrestling and True Wrestling Champion.

2. Let’s speak about growing up for yourself, did you watch wrestling growing up and if so who would you say inspired you to become a wrestler at the time??

I was a huge fan of wrestling growing up. My earliest memory of wrestling was probably around the age of 4. My dad took my brother and I to the local high school to see the WWF house show. I remember after the show we were trying to get out of the parking lot, and my brother honked the horn at Jim Duggan to get out of the way. He just gave us the death stare. Everyone has the story of Hulk Hogan, Warrior, Nash, Hall, ETC, of being their inspirations for wrestling. However, I cant say the same thing. I was a huge fan of Diesel/Kevin Nash, and the Ultimate Warrior, but if I were to pick one that inspired me to be a wrestler it would be Dean Malenko. Dean was a smaller wrestler, but also intimidating. Being a small guy myself, I immediately looked up to him. He was showing me that a small guy could make it in the big mans sport. Also, I really liked his style. Slow and methodical. Growing up, I was always into the lucha wrestlers, or technical wrestlers. So, of course I gravitated towards all of those guys quicker than I did than a Sting or Hogan.

3. How did you get involved in Wrestling training, how was the experience and finally if you could be trained by anyone dead or alive who would it be and why??

I got involved in wrestling training after I did some backyard wrestling. During the time of me back yarding, I found myself disliking wrestling. It just became stale. I wasn’t a fan. However, after I did a few, “matches” in the backyard, I found myself really interested in wrestling again – also through the help of independent wrestling. After yarding for a few years, I found myself wanting that thrill of competing as a trained independent wrestler. So, I sought out a local school and decided to shoot for my dream. The initial training wasn’t too bad. Our backyard company had a legit wrestling ring to compete in, so I was already adjusted to bumping in a ring, so the pain wasn’t too bad. I feel it was an enjoyable experience. I love physical activities, and I love competition. I always wanted to be the first one to pick up the drill quicker than the others, I always wanted to be the one that ran harder, jumped higher, etc. So, it was a thrill for me. If I could get trained by anyone dead or alive? God, that one is tough. If I could pick the top 3 guys to be trained by, I would say the following: Johnny Saint Skayde And Curt Henning.

4. You wrestle quite a bit for Combat Zone Wrestling including over Mania Weekend, what are your thoughts firstly on the rise of CZW and would you say the atmosphere went up a notch with it being Mania Weekend??

I’ve been a CZW fan since 2003. A friend of mine popped in a Tournament of Death DVD, and I was instantly hooked. The blood, the wrestling, and the craziness of ever show was just great. IT was something different. Over the years they’ve been able to mold everything into a diverse wrestling company. You can catch a glimpse of everything attending one of their shows. I was pumped to work a show mania weekend; let alone work on CZW’s BOTB. Our motivation as a company was surging. We all wanted to put on the best possible show of the weekend to really put CZW on the map for more than just blood. CZW drew the horrible luck of getting the time slot that ran up against NXT and ROH. So, the odds were stacked against them. Two of the biggest shows all weekend, ran up against them. CZW was able to draw roughly 600 people to the show. Which when you compare them to what they were running up against, I would say that was a success. Some people will say otherwise, but lets see how they would fare up against two of the biggest companies running at the same time.

5. You wrestle for On Point Wrestling and are the current heavyweight champion I believe, how did it feel to defeat Joey Janela for it and you are facing Sean Carr next month at Survival of the Sickest 2, do you have any words for your opponent ahead of the match??

Yes. I am currently the champion. It felt great to defeat Joey. I have wrestled him 4 times now. We have wrestled at CZW 2 times and On Point 2 times. All 4 times have been some of the toughest matches I have ever been apart of. But the last time was a tad bit more tough that usual. It was an all out war. But some how I managed to defeat him. He’s a great guy though.. Just a little psychotic. The title win was a great thing. A little over 2 years ago, I was contemplating giving up wrestling. Nothing was working, I couldn’t get stable bookings, and no one would give me an opportunity. It didn’t matter how hard I tried, how crazy I went – nothing. So, for me to be wrestling like twice a month to wrestling every weekend and winning the On Point title was pretty amazing. I am working Carr in a month. I’ve known Carr since I broke into wrestling. We were on a lot of shows together, we have wrestled each other a handful of times, and he was in my first ladder match in wrestling. So, to say we have some history is an understatement. Sean is great though. I am happy we both have been catching some steam at the right time, and I don’t think I have been this excited for a title match. We both know each other like the back of our hands, and we are both trying to push ourselves to that next level. However, just because I like Carr, doesn’t mean I will be taking him lightly. On Point is my house, so he may want to bring his A game.

6. Also you are the True Wrestling Champion, how did it feel to win that title and do you think you can keep hold of both titles for a long time??

That title win was a little different than the On Point win. I have been friends with the guys that run True for a long time. About a month prior to the show, one of the owners, and someone who I held dear to my heart passed away due to health problems. I was going into that match with one goal – to put on an amazing match for Dave. I worked Andy Harner, who I’ve worked way too many times now, and we put on a great match in front of 700 people. I loved it. It was all for Dave.

7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival, as a result do you have ambitions to come over to the UK to wrestle and if so who would you want to face and why??

I would LOVE to work in the UK. I am a huge fan/mark or whatever the hell you want to call it of World of Sports wrestling. I have so many of the shows on DVD, and watch them constantly. The matches I would want are hard because most of them are older/retired, or signed to WWE’s UK shows. But I would say – Saint, Kidd, Pete Dunne, Mark Andrews, and Trent Seven. I would love to work with Saint and Kidd because they are absolutely amazing. I had the honor of watching those two compete live one-on-one and it was amazing. I cant get enough of their matches. As far as the other three go – well, Pete and Seven would be due to their strong style. I love the style, and I don’t mind getting hit. Mark Andrews would just be fun to fly all over the place with. You can never go wrong with some fast paced high-flying.

8. What would you say are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in around 5 years time??

I definitely would like to work overseas – whether it be Europe or Japan. Either or would be amazing. Those are two main goals of mine, but other goals would be Evolve and ROH. If I could, it would be amazing to do some work with TNA. But time will tell. I am older than most people think. In 5 years, I will be almost 35. Haha. So, I am hoping my body still holds up, and allows me to wrestle. I hope to be having a lot of fun, and still busting my ass in 5 years.

9. Where can the readers find Tony Deppen on social media and where can promoters book you who are reading this??

I have a Facebook page – it is under Tony Deppen. However, a lot of people seem to disregard that and add me on my personal page – Anthony Deppen. So, whatever you prefer to add me on. I also have a twitter page – Tony_deppen. If anyone is ever interested in contacting me, they can shoot me a DM on either of those pages or email me at tony_deppen@Hotmail.com.

10. Have you got any future dates/projects you wish to plug finally??

Yes. Next weekend I will be working CZW’s Decisions against Rickey Shane Page. I am looking forward to that. I have known Ricky for years, and it is great to finally step into the ring with him. After that, I wil be working a smaller company called SWO on April 15. Then the 22nd I will be back up in Canada for C-4. The 29th for True Wrestling, then May 6 for On Point. I could go on and on with dates, haha. But those are the main ones that I am looking forward to. But I want to thank you for the interview! I greatly appreciate it!

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Tony for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Tony go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

