Interview – Emil Sitoci

sitoci
1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Emil, thanks for taking time out to answer these, could you give the readers a quick introduction to yourself??
The name’s Emil Sitoci. I’ve been wrestling for over 15 years and I’m also working as a producer in television, casting people, writing scripts, creating new TV formats etc. In the past I’ve wrestled all around Europe, but also in the US and Japan. At this time I’m mostly active in wXw Germany. Back home in the Netherlands I’ve made a name as a pro wrestler in various TV shows.
2. Next up, did you watch wrestling growing up and if so did you start early on or later on in your childhood and finally who inspired you to become a wrestler??
 I’ve watched wrestling since I was only 3 years old, so Hulk Hogan was the man to me. There was something magical about wrestling. It was like my favorite superheroes had come to life. They took wrestling off Dutch TV for a long time, so I fell out of touch with it for a bit. When I was about 14 years old I found a store that sold WWF VHS tapes, and that’s when I got hooked on the attitude era.
3. Apparently you were trained by numerous wrestlers including Bas Von Kunder, Ian Rotten, Mike Quackenbush, Skayde and Chris Hero, how did you get involved in training with these wrestlers and how was the experience??
Every single one of these guys has treated me well, and I tip my hat to them. Bas was the only Dutchman with experience wrestling in the US at the time. He had trained with Afa the Wild Samoan, and had started his own wrestling school. Chris Hero taught me the most. After graduating high school back home I decided that I didn’t want to go to University yet. I just knew I wanted to wrestle, so I applied for a one year high school exchange student program in the US. I got a visa for one year, and told Hero (whom I’d met before in Europe) that I was coming over. He took me under his wing, and went out of his way to train me and get me booked at shows. I was only 18 at the time. It was a really fun experience, and I learned a whole lot.
4. With my blog being about British Wrestling lets continue on with that, you are returning to Ironfist Wrestling in Hereford on the 19th August taking on Mark Haskins, are you looking forward to returning to the UK and what are your thoughts on your opponent ahead of the match??
Iron Fist treated me well last time I was over. Everybody there seems to have their heart in the right place. Mark is a great guy and and a great talent. We’ve wrestled before, and we’ve beaten each other before. It should be an interesting encounter.
5. Speaking of Ironfist I believe you are as well doing another seminar for them while over here as well, with your vast experience is it good for you to teach the next generation and do you want to do more of this if given the opportunity in future??
Everybody who wants to learn: sign up already! I have a lot to offer, but my seminars are pretty rare. I’m a guy who like to help out wherever he can, but I don’t seem myself becoming a fulltime teacher anytime soon. I’m still to busy working on my own craft, both in- and outside of the ring. What to expect? I like fine tuning important details that tend to get overlooked. At the same time, wrestling should also be fun for the students coming in, so we’ll do some cool stuff too. 
6. You wrestle quite abit for WXW in Germany including on their tours around the country how is it wrestling in different venues up and down Germany and you were WXW Shotgun champion for two months a title you have had opportunities to regain, do you have any words for the new champion David Starr??
Words for Starr? Yeah: Don’t get too attached to that belt. I’m the most resilient wrestler wXw has ever known. If I want to dethrone somebody, it’s a matter of time.
7. You have wrestled for some of the best known promotions in the world from WWE to CZW to Dragon Gate to PWG, what has been your favourite match in your career so far would you say and have you ever come close to signing for a promotion like WWE??
I’ve wrestled a match against Jack Swagger for WWE. Clearly that was one of my favourite moments, as I felt like I belonged there. It was a dream come true, and it was a validation of my work. If I ever came close to signing with them? I like to think so, but I can’t say for sure. They were definitely interested in me for a while, and vice versa. Another match of mine that I loved was when I wrestled Akira Nogami for the WNC Championship in Tokyo, Japan. The man was approaching the age of 50, and he moved like he was still my age. I respect him a lot. I’ve also had very good in-ring experiences with Jushin Thunder Liger, John Morrisson, and many others. Another match that stands out was when I wrestled on the Dutch reality show Utopia. I was a character on the show for 6 months straight, and I used the show’s format to promote a one-off wrestling event. We got a TV audience of a million people to watch me defend the Dutch Championship against countryman Kenzo Richards. I was very proud of that.
8. What would you say are your future ambitions in wrestling and what do you want to achieve that you haven’t done so yet??
I’d like to go back to Japan, and I would like to work for WWE. Like I said, I was never signed and that was the main focus from day one. The only problem is that I’m also working a fulltime job as a TV producer, which is an amazing career and something I need to take good care of. So far I’ve been able to combine the two, but it’s definitely tough.
9. Where can the readers find Emil Sitoci and where can promoters book you for future shows??
You can find me on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sitoci/ , Twitter @emilsitoci, and I’ve started Instagram @emil_sitoci (some smartass made a fake profile of me. I had him blocked but he still has the @emilsitoci name). To book me, try any of these channels. It all comes back to me in the end 😉
10. Have you got any future dates you wish to plug to end off the interview??
Watch out for the wXw Fight Forever Tour coming to London on october 28th !! For more info, check https://www.facebook.com/events/295968364199252/ 

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Emil for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Emil go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a Reply

