DVD Review – WWE 30 Years of Survivor Series

30years

Welcome back readers to another WWE DVD review. It’s been about two weeks since the last one which was the 1997 – Dawn of the Attitude release and now we have the return of the sets I love the most (sarcastically), match compilations sets and this time it is the form of the Survivor Series and it celebrating the 30 year anniversary of the yearly PPV.

Right off the bat I don’t know if it’s just me but I have never been a big fan of the Survivor Series PPV and is one that I will only sit down and watch if I am sent it to review which I usually am so I don’t tend to put it on my live watch list wrestling wise so that might reflect in the rating.

The first disc is a countdown of the top 30 moments, quite a flimsy put together first part of the DVD which lasted little over an hour and didn’t really captivate my attention. I won’t share all 30 moments as otherwise there will be no point buying a copy but here are some of the main moments involved.

Number 30 was Survivor Series 1987 which of course was the first ever Survivor Series so it wasn’t not going to be on the list.

Kurt Angle’s debut was number 28 which of course like the debut of the event had to be included especially now he is back with the company as general manager of RAW. It’s True It’s Damn True.

Number 25 is one of my favourite traditional Survivor Series elimination matches between Team Kingston and Team Orton with two of my favourite wrestlers battling it out in two different teams and was solid throughout.

Number 20 is CM Punk being announced by the legend that is Howard Finkel before he goes on to defeat Alberto Del Rio for the WWE Championship and despite me not being the biggest fan of Del Rio, Punk is always someone especially in that era who was a real favourite.

Number 19 was a moment I had not seen before due to my age more than anything and that was from Survivor Series 2002 when Brock Lesnar was turned on by his manager Paul Heyman which makes people think that it could happen again one day in the future.

Number 17 is one of my favourite moments on the set and that is the Hardys vs the Dudleys in a cagematch to unify the WWE and WCW tag team titles during the invasion and with both teams being personal favourites of mine especially their matches around that time it had to appear on my best of the moments list.

The top 10 starts with a bang with the debut of the Elimination Chamber which of course has had it’s own PPV since close to when this match was done back in 2002, not my favourite match type ever and a PPV I always used to skip when I was younger but just for it being one of the major moments which has shaped WWE it is important.

Number 9 was the debut of the Shield which I still remember with fondness now. I used to love the Shield especially considering one of my favourite angles of the past 10 years is the Nexus and this was similar but even more devastating.

Another moment I love is number 6 when Sting debuted as part of team Cena vs team Authority which for someone who has grown up being a huge fan of Sting even his stuff with the other company this gave me goosebumps/chills and it still does now.

Number 5 is one that most people will know and that is Goldberg vs Lesnar from last year when Goldberg shocked the wrestling world in smashing Lesnar so fast akin to when Santino was eliminated in the Rumble a few years back in the record for fastest elimination.

Number 1 was Montreal and it couldn’t be anything else and if you haven’t seen it or know about it, first of all are you even a wrestling fan and two get it watched. One of the most shocking moments in Wrestling history that is still massively debated to this day.

Now onto the matches and considering we got almost a clip show for an hour for their to only be 17 matches is a crime in itself. Some of the matches are great some are god awful. They don’t include the Montreal Screwjob match first of all or the Elimination Chamber debut which is stupid considering both were heavily featured moments. Also there is nothing from the Ruthless Aggression era par say or even the Team Cena vs Team Authority match but lets have a look at what they do include.

The 5 on 5 elimination match including some of the worst and best of all time in the WWE from Hulk Hogan to Koko B Ware from 1988 is a good match and one that I really enjoyed to start the next part of the set off.

Some other good points included the Bad Guys vs the Teamsters from 1994 which I never saw originally but is a brilliant match and not as good as some Survivor Series matches but still up there.

The Rock vs Mankind from 1998 was brilliant and is still one of my favourites from the Survivor Series events, well worth a watch.

The cage match to unify the tag belts that I mentioned earlier is on here in all it’s glory and it is excellent with some great moves including a brilliant swanton from Jeff Hardy but would you expect anything less 😉

Team Orton vs Team Kingston was included which is excellent and includes alongside the likes of Randy Orton and CM Punk, some seriously underrated talents like R-Truth, Mark Henry, MVP and Kofi Kingston that I grew up with and loved especially MVP who I saw live last year and it gave me some great nostalgia.

We then get two god awful women’s matches from 2010 and 2011 between Lay-Cool and Natalya and Beth Phoenix vs Eve Torres which was back in the era when womens’ wrestling in WWE despite having the talent was almost in the dark ages with most matches lasting about 4 minutes and as a result I didn’t like them then and don’t like them now. Skip on through.

Following that The Rock and John Cena teaming together after their Mania match earlier in the year was special and something like a lot of other moments around that time I will always remember.

Two brilliant matches involving both the Shield together and one-on-one followed before the quick main event between Goldberg and Brock Lesnar which despite being so short really proves a point and is brilliant.

Rating – 6/10 – An average set that I would buy but only if you love the PPV, me not being a big fan of Survivor Series contributes to this rating and also it doesn’t help when they miss out key matches on the set and give us rubbish ones to fill years or space. Some great and some poor so gets a 6/10.

I am looking forward to my next WWE review and you can find out when the next one will be by going to :

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival
Twitter : @BritWresRevival
Instagram : @BritWresRevivalBlog

Finally I would like to thank WWE Home Video and Fetch Publicity for their continued support of myself and my reviews! So please go and Support WWE Home Video : https://www.facebook.com/WWEHomeVideoUK?fref=ts and @WWEHomeVideoUK

Leave a comment