Interview – Chuck Mambo

mambo

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Blog Chuck, thanks for joining me for an interview, could you please introduce yourself to the readers to start it off??

Thanks for having me dudes ! Hey readers, I’m Chuck Mambo! Gnarliest Wrestler in the World!

2. Were you into wrestling from a young age and if so who did you grow up watching and did they inspire you to start wrestling training??

Yeah I was into wrestling for a long old time ! When I was about 5 m’man Dan Alexander came round with an Owen Hart and The Rock set of action figures and I was like ah cool! Then I got a Kane and Mankind set! Then all my big brothers friends were talking about wrestlemania and I hadn’t seen it but I was pretty sure The Rock was the best ! Then i got a wrestlemania 9 video and loved that! Then m’friend dan got SKY! So we could watch raw on friday nights then smackdown then whatever the 2 shows after smackdown were, like superstars and afterburn or something like that! It was all mad inspiring for making me want to be a wrestler there wasn’t one particular one i don’t think

3. Speaking of wrestling training, how did you get involved in it, how was the experience and do you have any tips for up and coming wrestlers??

Was mad lucky when i came to london for uni the Projo (Which is now Knucklelocks School of Wrestling and WAY WORTH GOING TO CHECK OUT!) was like half an hour away so I got to train like 5 days a week! Which was awesome! and with sweet coaches too! Like Jimmy Havoc, Darrell Allen, James Davis and Eddie Dennis and ah it was the best man! oh for tips for getting into wrestling just jump in with both feet ya know! be around wrestling as much as you can, go to as many shows as ya can, train as much as ya can! Get ya body into good shape for wrestling with! AND HAVE A BLAST!

4. You team quite a bit with Pastor William Eaver as Sweet Jesus, how did that come about and what are your thoughts on your chemistry as a team??

Haha the pasta is a total maniac ! The more i get to know him the more that proves true ! But in the absolute best kinda way! Originally we were training together at the Projo and when the SDS were coming into Progress Jon asked if we’d like to go up against them, we hadn’t tagged before, we were friends but we weren’t tagging or anything, but obviously if ya get a chance to tag with ya friend against the sds YA SAY YEAH MAN! so we did and i dunno, people seem to enjoy Sweet Jesus as a team! I think our mutual love or both the mega powers and shenanigans has made it more and more fun as time goes on!! I have heard that we’re not the best to be on a car ride with but, i’ve had a blast on all our car rides! i am thinking about getting us a tandem bicycle instead tho !

5. You made your debut a few months back for GOOD Wrestling, a promotion firmly on the rise, what were your thoughts on that and do you think you will be back in the future??

I’d LOVE to be back at GOOD some time soon! They are sweeeeeet shows and a really sweet atmosphere back stage and in the ring! Yeah super cool!

6. You wrestled for one of the most well known promotions in America Chikara as part of their Rey de Volodores tournament losing in the semi-final 4 way, how was it to wrestle for a promotion like Chikara and how was it wrestling Jody Fleisch a legend in British Wrestling??

Chikara was a blast ! OH MY DAYS IT WAS SUCH A BLAST ! To be honest for all the sweet wrestling that weekend it was super cool to hear one of Quack’s legendary pre-show speeches! What an inspiring dude! The whole weekend was a really creative and fun time ! it was mega! I’m actually headed out this week to Portugal to wrestle with Red Eagle who eliminated me from the tournament ! And well, what can ya say about wrestling against Jody! I only found out that afternoon! Not cool enough being on Chikara ya get to wrestle a dude who helped build the scene! SO CRAZY COOL ! and man he is such a gentleman! But my god he hurts to wrestle! That reverse rana!

7. You were part of Progress’ Chase the Sun show how was it to wrestle in a venue like the Ally Pally and what do you make of the rise of Progress over the years?? 

Ah yeah that was sweet! I was mind blown when I walked into Progress Chapter 9 and saw how wild of a wrestling show was being put on ! It was badass! and it’s wildly impressive how far they’ve come! I mean woah! and the rise of the whole wrestling scene is awesome! It’s killer that they’ve done it through supporting British Wrestling too!
I’m super thankful to all the dudes that have been grafting for years before it boomed, and kept on and on and made the boom happen! to build a scene where we now get to wrestle this often and in such wild venues!

9. Where can the readers find Chuck Mambo on social media and where can promoters book you for future shows??

YO ! follow me at instagram.com/ChuckMambo twitter.com/ChuckMambo facebook.com/ChuckMambo mambomerch.bigcartel.com and promoters, i’m always happy to wrestle! Shoot me a message at gnarlymambo@gmail.com !

10. Have you got any future shows and projects you wish to plug to end the interview off??

This Wednesday I am wrestling Eddie Dennis, he has been my favourite wrestler for years and he’s helped me heaps getting booked up n down the country these last few years so that’s gonna be a really special match at Progress Wrestling Live at the Dome this Wednesday! That’s sweet! If you can make it you should come along !

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Chuck for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible! 

If you want to support BWR as well as Chuck go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a comment