Interview – Louis Napoleon

641AE264-69DD-4E3F-929F-81C57BEE5AFE

Credit : @mistico_tiger

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival, thanks for agreeing to do this interview, could you firstly introduce yourself to the readers??

The pleasure is all mine! My name is Florian Klonig  and I was born in Paris, France.  I currently wrestle under the gimmick “Louis Napoleon” altho i have had several previous gimmicks, masked and unmasked ever since i’ve set foot in a wrestling ring

2. Did you watch wrestling growing up or was it later on and who would you say inspired you as a result to become a wrestler??

When i was a kid, i used to watch with my dad alot of hero action movies starring legends like JCVD, Jacky Chan, Bruce Lee, etc. I became inspired to become myself an actor/stuntman just like them and dreamt of starring in a movie aswell. One day i stumbled upon this strange yet incredibly fascinating Sports Entertaining show on tv, it was like nothing I’ve ever seen before and i couldn’t take my eyes off the screen. The match was Rey Mysterio vs Psichosis, two phenomenal athletes, a hero and a villain fighting! That was the day i found out i wanted to become a pro wrestler.

3. How did you then get involved in wrestling training, who trained you and have you got any tips for any up and coming wrestlers??

I’ve started my training with Wrestling Stars training facility in France under the head trainer and promoter Flesh Gordon. Mainly all my training came from there plus wrestling really good athletes and watching alot of wrestling.
I kept working hard and that’s how i got noticed and offered a spot with Michinoku Pro Wrestling, under Dick Togos wing who saw in me a great potential and to be honest, Japan has always been my absolute dream, so to me, it was like winning the lottery. I took nothing for granted, and kept doing my best giving it my all, honouring Togo san and the teachings of Great Sasuke and of all those who helped me out.
If i have a piece of advice for young and coming wrestlers is to always be humble, always be the first to get there, last to leave, first one to pick up a piece of the ring and always shake everyone’s hands from staff to coworkers. We are all a part of the show.

4. Your of course known as Louis Napoleon, how did this name/gimmick come about and would you agree it makes you stand out compared to other wrestlers currently on the scene??

I wanted to have a gimmick more inspired of the French Stereotype without it falling into ridicule or too funny (baguette + beret + onions), that was not at all what i had in mind. I’ve watched what other french co-workers were doing to try and find my own uniqueness and distance myself from any of their ideas.
My passion for japan, goes beyond wrestling, i love the culture aswell, and am a massive fan of video games, manga and anime. While watching a few anime, i noticed a few characters were named Napoleon and how the Japanese see Frenchman, often blond, blue eyes, with an elegant appearance almost royal prince like.  That’s how Louis Napoleon, the Emperor was born.
When i took the gimmick to Japan it was an instant hit, earning myself alot of commendations from my peers and a great reaction from the Japanese fans.

5. Your from France, what are your thoughts on the wrestling scene over there and are you proud to represent the country in places such as Japan??

Unfortunately the wrestling scene in France has suffered alot in the past few years, there’s some talent but very few places to actually work. I remember years ago when France was “hot”, i used to wrestle 4 times a week, every single week, was a very prosperous time. Wrestling Stars was the main company, they made money, i made money, it was great. At some point, small structures started appearing and undercutting, with that the business came downhill and right now, it’s impossible to wrestle as much as i did, back then. A true shame, all i can hope is that things get better, and business picks up once more.
What i can say for sure is that i am immensely proud to be the only French Professional Wrestler to export to Japan and be a constant representative ever since Andre the Giant.

6. Speaking of Japan, you wrestle quite a bit for Michinoku Pro, how has this been for you and are you heading back out there at some point in 2018??

Working with Michinoku Pro has been an amazing experience! I mean, whenever i tour with them, i work loads of shows, i have fun, my passion for wrestling burns ever so much brighter, i am and feel truly happy. Hard work does pay off, and i managed to go up the ranks and become a regular there, a member of the roster, not just a visitor and that makes me immensely proud of myself and motivates me to keep grinding and putting in the work ever so much more.
I most definitely will be going back to japan this year again!

7. Of course the blog is called TheBritishWrestlingRevival blog, do you want to come over here to wrestle at some point and if so who do you want to face??

Most definitely! There are so so so many incredible workers in England, i want to wrestle them all!!! Learn from them, gain more experience, get even better!
If i have to mention names, i’d say Travis Banks, i’ve been watching his matches, studying them, to me he’s one of the top stars in the UK today. Also Joseph Conners, he’s like a total package, he’s funny, looks great and is a great worker; others also truly amazing include Mark Haskins, Will Ospreay, Pete Dunne, Tyler Bate, Zack Sabre, Grado, Marty Scurll, there are so many!!!! #bookit

8. What are your future ambitions in Wrestling and where do you see yourself in 5 years time??

We can’t say for sure what tomorrow will bring us, all i can say is that i’ll keep working hard and go as far as i can in this business. My ultimate dream would be to make it into NJPW, that’s the one place i’ve always ever dreamt of being a part of and i know it will be hard, i may or may not make it, but i’m sure the journey will be worthwhile.
Japan is definitely in my plans for the years to come and also debut in the US in the near future aswell as a comeback to the UK. Really looking forward to the next chapters in my book.
9. Where can the readers find Louis Napoleon and where can promoters contact you regarding future bookings??

You can find me on social media under @Napolegion on Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and Facebook. For any interested promoters please drop me an email under fklonig@gmail.com. I’m looking forward to and grateful for any opportunities one may want to give me.

10. Have you got any future dates or projects you wish to plug?

I’ll be doing some training with UK schools in February. If you want to see more of my work, catch me feb 23rd for Varsity Pro Wrestling!  Or in France March 17th at Ouest Catch where i’ll defend my Delta title against two other athletes.
For more dates please check my social media for announcements!

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Louis for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible!

If you want to support BWR as well as Louis go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a comment