Interview – Luke Menzies

menzies

Photo Credit : Tony Knox Photography

1. Welcome to TheBritishWrestlingRevival Luke, thanks for your time, first of all could you introduce yourself to the readers??

Hi Thank you for having me. My names Luke Menzies, from liversedge in Wakefield West Yorkshire. Former professional rugby league player turned professional wrestler. 6ft 1, 260 lbs/118kg.

2. You are known as transitioning from rugby league to wrestling, have you always been into wrestling or is it more of a recent thing??
I’ve been into wrestling from around age 8 when I used to watch re runs of world of sport with my nan on the old Sky Channel bravo…….I think it was bravo anyway.
Then I progressed to WWE and found myself mesmerised by the likes of undertaker, triple h, the rock and especially Stone cold Steve Austin. I knew deep down that I wanted to do this. 
3. Speaking of the transition, why did you make the decision to transition and how did you go about getting into wrestling training as a result??
To be honest I was burnt out of rugby and had been for a few years. I tore my quad playing for Salford and as a result they decided to terminate the deal whilst I was on honeymoon in Mexico. That was the straw that broke the camels back.
I’d searched for schools years before but put off the idea(too bothered about the opinions of other people). I came across a tweet from William Regal recommending the training of Marty Jones. I got in touch, flew home the next day and the following day attended my first wrestling session.
4. You are known as well for gaining a successful WWE tryout, when are you reporting to the PC and how did it feel to be successful in that tryout and gain a contract??
Yeah the try out went better than I could’ve ever imagined. After the second day I was told that they were interested in hiring me. Shook hands with triple h and the scene was set. I trained at the PC for 4 days at the same time as getting my health assessment and blood work done. That was last February. I was due to report to the PC last may but my visa got rejected due to my lack of wrestling experience.
So fast forward to August of last year I set out on the British and European circuit to establish a name for myself. 
The visa process will start again any time now. That takes 6 weeks all in all. We’re looking at mid March but it maybe after mania as it’s manic over there at this time.
5. You have been wrestling on the British Wrestling scene making a name for yourself, what are your thoughts on the current state of it at the moment and are you proud to be a part of it??
Yeah the British scene is booming at the minute. I’m proud to be a British wrestler and a Yorkshire wrestler. With the training of Marty I’m looking forward to plying my craft in as many countries as possible. Bringing something physical and slightly different than what fans have been used to seeing up and down the country.  I’m still a novice only having 22 bouts to my name so I’m lucky to have been able to learn from guys such as Johnny Moss and Rampage Brown along the way.
6. Do you think that due to your success in terms of becoming a wrestler from being in a different sport that it will potentially inspire other sportsmen to give it a go in the future??
If I can cause a positive career change in anyone’s  life, not just a Rugby League Player or any other athlete it would be fantastic.
You only get one life and it’s too short to sit on your hands and wonder what if or what people might think. Everyone will have an opinion but you can’t pay your bills with other people’s opinions or doubts. Get out there take a risk and do it, if that’s what you want to do. For me it’s about not just floating through life but doing what I want to do and creating a life and legacy that I can hang my hat on and my family can be proud of. You just have to jump in with two feet and go for it.
7. You had the chance recently to wrestle for DEFIANT against Jurn Simmons, what are your thoughts on that and also the fans at the WCPW/Defiant shows??
With Defiant I was grateful for the opportunity and hoped I could give a good account of myself. There’s things I need to work on and you learn with every bout and the match with Jurn at Defiant was no different. The fans were great I got a decent welcome due to being the local lad despite nobody knowing I was scheduled to wrestle.
8. What are your future ambitions in wrestling and who would you say is your dream opponent??
My future ambitions are obviously to make it to the top and be regarded as a good hand who can work with anyone. Main roster is a goal. Mania is a goal but there’s work to be done before I even truly set my sights on those goals. At the minute it’s taking each day, each training session and each bout as it comes and learning as much as possible.
As far as dream opponent there’s too many to choose from. Obviously stone cold, Bret Hart, I like Barry Windham and Dustin Rhodes. I’d love to be able to wrestle Marty, Terry Rudge, Dynamite Kid, William Regal. All these people that I could learn so much from.
They would all definitely tie me in knots but the learning curve would be phenomenal.
9. Where can the readers find Luke Menzies and where can promoters book you for future shows in 2018??
 I’m on Twitter @luke_menz88
 Instagram as Lukemenzies88
All my booking info is featured on both of those accounts.
10. Have you got any future dates where the readers can see you live to end off the interview??
I’m in Barcelona for RCW on the 3rd of feb, then Tidal Championship Wrestling in Leeds on the 4th.
Target wrestling 10th feb
3cw 24th feb/squared circle in Oldham.
Dates to be announced on social media accounts.

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I would like to thank Luke for answering the questions for you to read, please go and support him on social media if possible!

If you want to support BWR as well as Luke go and follow us on Twitter : @BritWresRevival

and also like us on Facebook :https://www.facebook.com/BritishWrestlingRevival/

Leave a comment